Kindle Daily Deal: 125 books for “kids of all ages” for $1.99 each

Kindle Daily Deal: 125 books for “kids of all ages” for $1.99 each

Today’s

Kindle Daily Deals (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

are a great introduction to those daily bargains for those who might just be starting their Kindle journey (or perhaps I should say “Voyage”)😉, and present veteran Kindleers with some cool options.

As one of my regular readers and commenters, Lady Galaxy, put it:

“…Lots of great selections to start out a library for kids who got Kindles for Christmas.”

That’s true…but I have to say, that lots of adults read the books that are classified as “children’s books” as well. My tendency is to think of children’s books as ones which include that younger group, but don’t exclude the older one.

You should never be ashamed of what you read…assuming it’s legal and such.🙂

Please check the price before you click or tap that “Buy” button. These prices may not apply in your country (I have readers all over the world), and they are only good today. Books can also go in and out of deals like this, although with the KDD (Kindle Daily Deal), that’s unlikely, from what I’ve seen.

Before I get to the ones they have listed as for “children of all ages”, let me point out a few others:

  • The original Ian Fleming James Bond books (now published as e-books by Amazon) are $1.99 each…not for children😉
  • They have 43 (at time of writing) “top-rated romances” on sale. Top-rated doesn’t necessarily mean “best known”, but they can be a good opportunity to expand your horizons and discover new authors

I think it’s also worth noting that all of the above are part of

Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

meaning that members (and you may have just started a free month) can read them at no additional cost.

Now, on to those 125 “children’s books”! These are some of the stand-outs to me:

  • A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin: a fantasy classic, 4.1 stars out of 5, 624 customer reviews…first in a series. Also in Kindle Unlimited (KU)
  • Lois Lowry books: Number the Stars (KU), Gossamer (KU)
  • The Sign of the Beaver by Elizabeth George Speare (Newberry winner)
  • Farewell to Manzanar (KU) by James D. Houston and Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston: a non-fiction treasure which has been widely lauded about the Japanese internment camps in the USA…or rather, one person’s experience in one
  • Sleep Like a Tiger (KU) by Mary Logue, illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski: Caldecott Medal picture book (note: text-to-speech is not enabled on this title, but I assume that it is due to the text being part of the image and therefore inaccessible to the software, not because the access was blocked by the publisher)
  • Catherine, Called Birdy (KU) by Karen Cushman
  • An American Plague: The True and Terrifying Story of the Yellow Fever Epidemic of 1793 (KU) by Jim Murphy (Newbery honoree)
  • Sing Down the Moon (KU) by Scott O’Dell
  • Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel by Virgina Lee Burton (some of us may remember being read this by Captain Kangaroo)
  • Miracles on Maple Hill by Virginia Sorensen
  • Curious George by H.A. Rey and Margaret Rey: a part of childhood
  • The Astonishing Adventures of Fanboy and Goth Girl (KU) by Barry Lyga
  • Yes, She Can! Women’s Sports Pioneers by Glenn Stout
  • Mary Poppins in the Park (KU) by P.L. Travers and Mary Shepard…not the first of the series about the magical nanny, but part of it

Enjoy!

Join over a thousand readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

4 Responses to “Kindle Daily Deal: 125 books for “kids of all ages” for $1.99 each”

  1. Lady Galaxy Says:

    I think I’ve mentioned more than once that I think that literature for children and young adults is a treasure trove waiting for adult discovery. I purchased “A Farewell to Manzanar” and “Number the Stars.” When I was teaching high school, Manzanar was one of the books I used in a “Lit of Today” class. I was reviewing “Number the Stars” to be included in that class when I got the opportunity to move to elementary school. I borrowed “Life as We Knew It” because it sounded interesting, but I wasn’t sure it was one I’d want to own. If I like it, I’ll keep on with the series. I’d love to have purchased “Tops and Bottoms,” but apparently it’s not available for any of the Kindles I own. I don’t normally mention books that don’t have text to speech because I know of your preferences not top promote books without it, but since this is a picture book, I am assuming that the text is part of the illustration and can’t be read by the Kindle.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      Yes, you’ve championed “children’s books” for adults before, and I agree. I see the designation of “children’s book” as expanding the audience from adults to include children, rather than as excluding adults.

      I do want to be careful to say, though, that I also think many times people are overly restrictive with which books they let their children read. For example, I would guess that there are a lot of children who at, say, age eight can read more sophisticated science books than some folks suppose. If it’s their choice, it’s okay if some of it is beyond them at that point…that can be exciting and encourage people to learn more in the future.

      • Lady Galaxy Says:

        I was lucky to have parents who never restricted what I could read. I had a library card before I ever started school, but I also had a large library of my own books. The local library had age restrictions but I don’t remember what they were. I know one graduated from picture books to chapter books to juvenile books. I can remember being happy when I could finally start checking out chapter books instead of picture books. I think I was in third grade then. I also remember being so proud of myself when my fifth grade teacher took us on a field trip to the local library and my best friend and I were the only ones in the class who already had a library card. Of course, my mother also had a library card, so any time there was a book I wanted to read and couldn’t check out on my own, she would check it out for me on her card. I’m not sure when I was allowed to check out adult books myself, but I know I was able to check them out once I was in high school.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Lady!

        What wonderful parents! I’m sure that’s contributed in a positive way to you being the person you are.

        I don’t remember for sure if there were actual age restrictions…although I recall being in libraries where “grown ups” weren’t allowed in the children’s (picturebook) section without a child.

        I would have been proud with that library card situation as well…and you and your best friend both being readers says something as well.🙂

Leave a Reply

