Monthly Kindle Deals for $3.99 for less each: January 2015

Monthly Kindle Deals for $3.99 for less each: January 2015

Amazon does the Kindle Daily Deal (at AmazonSmile…benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*), which discounts (usually) four books a day (often general fiction, a romance, a science fiction/fantasy book, and a kids’ book).

They’ve also been doing Monthly Kindle Book Deals for $3.99 or less each) (at AmazonSmile). That’s a rebranding: they used to say it was “100 Books”, but that’s also gotten to be more…there are 110 for this month at the time of writing (two more than last month).

Those prices only apply to the USA, and one weird thing is that some of the books seem to sell out at that price sometimes (or become unavailable for some other reason).

It’s also interesting…about 50% of the books in the USA Kindle store are $3.99 or less (1,557,196 of 3,105,968). Still, these are on sale, and that’s worth something. :)

Another thing is that many of these books may be part of

Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

Amazon lists that information prominently. If they are, then you need to consider whether it is worth buying them…even at these low prices. While they are in KU, you can, if you are a subscriber (and there’s a free month available right now), read them at no additional cost. There are, of course, advantages to owning books, especially if you want to re-read them. A book could move out of KU at any time. Even if you think you want to own it, if you are a KU member, you could always read it first to make sure.😉 I will mark them with KU.

I’m going to list some of the $3.99 or lower ones that caught my eye…I’m not necessarily recommending them, but I do think they are interesting.

The ones I list also don’t block text-to-speech access**…but I think blocking it is becoming rarer.

When I Found You by Catherine Ryan Hyde
4.4 stars out of 5, 5398 customer reviews
Literature & Fiction – Genre Fiction – Family Life
KU

Timebound (The Chronos Files Book 1) by Rysa Walker
4.3 stars, 3322 reviews
Teen & Young Adult – Time Travel
KU

Finding Me: A Decade of Darkness, a Life Reclaimed: A Memoir of the Cleveland Kidnappings by Michelle Knight, Michelle Burford
4.8 stars, 2669 reviews
Biographies & Memoirs

Unwind (Unwind Dystology Book 1) by Neal Shusterman
4.5 stars, 778 reviews
Teen & Young Adult – Horror

Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff and It’s All Small Stuff: Simple Ways To Keep The Little Things From Taking Over Your Life by Richard Carlson
4.5 stars, 595 reviews
Self-Help – Stress Management

Regarding Ducks and Universes by Neve Maslakovic
3.8 stars, 176 reviews
Science Fiction
KU

They’re Playing Our Song: Conversations With America’s Classic Songwriters Max Wilk
4.3 stars, 10 reviews
Humor & Entertainment

If there were others you’d like to mention for me and my readers, please comment on this post.

Prime members, don’t forget to pick up your

Kindle First books (at AmazonSmile*)

You can get one of the four books to own (not borrow) for free…these are books which will be actually released next month. The choices this month are:

  • Everything Burns by Vincent Zandri (thriller)
  • Flirting with Felicity by Gerri Russell (contemporary romance)
  • Heart Collector by Jacques Vandroux, Wendeline A. Hardenberg (mystery)
  • Miramont’s Ghost by Elizabeth Hall (historical fiction)

Hmm…none of these are immediately grabbing me, but I think I’ll go with Everything Burns.

Update: this month, Prime members can get two of the Kindle First books for free…and non-Prime members can buy up to two of them for $1.99 each. The latter is an interesting strategy, and will help push the books even farther up the bestseller lists…well, since they usually top the bestseller list at Amazon, that’s not really possible.🙂

Not quite sure what my second choice will be…maybe Heart Collector, maybe Miramont’s Ghost.

Update: it was a tough call, but I decided to go with Miramont’s Ghost. I read the product pages for Heart Collector and Miramont’s Ghost, including skimming the reviews. I just think Miramont’s Ghost has a more interesting subject matter for me, even though it may be too dark for my tastes.

Enjoy!

 Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

** A Kindle with text-to-speech can read any text downloaded to it…unless that access is blocked by the publisher inserting code into the file to prevent it. That’s why you can have the device read personal documents to you (I’ve done that). I believe that this sort of access blocking disproportionately disadvantages the disabled, although I also believe it is legal (provided that there is at least one accessible version of each e-book available, however, that one can require a certification of disability). For that reason, I don’t deliberately link to books which block TTS access here (although it may happen accidentally, particularly if the access is blocked after I’ve linked it). I do believe this is a personal decision, and there  are legitimate arguments for purchasing those books. 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

7 Responses to “Monthly Kindle Deals for $3.99 for less each: January 2015”

  1. Amy Says:

    A couple of things. First, I hope you’ll tell me which of the other two Kindle First books you pick. I like hearing your choices as I pick my own. Second, About KU . . . I’ve been thinking about your argument that you have more than enough books to read in KU. I’ve just dropped my KU subscription, and for two reasons, I think. One is that, unfortunately, I can’t read enough books in a month to make it make sense financially. I could buy a hot bestseller for $9.99 and get the rest from bargains or Daily deals. But the more important reason is what you said with a twist. Life is too short to be able to read all the great books that are out there. But I found myself reading what was on KU instead of what I really wanted to read. Life’s too short not to read the books that you most want to read rather than what’s available on KU. I won’t have time to read them all. Isn’t that an argument for reading what I want? So I dropped KU and bought a book I really wanted to read. Cuz life’s too short, right? I’d love to hear your response, Bufo.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Amy!

      I’m torn, but I think I’ll go with Miramont’s Ghost. The Heart Collector also sounds interesting, and Miramont’s Ghost may be too…pessimistic for my tastes, but I like the subject matter a tad better.

      As to KU…it won’t be for everyone, and it sounds like you’ve made a reasonable choice for you.

      For me, it’s important to not think I know ahead of time what I want to read all the time. I want to experiment…the books I’ve loved the most, I’d say, were once which I read serendipitously…I hadn’t necessarily planned to read them. Doc Savage is the best example: it was the only thing available in the Anchorage Airport shop, as I recall, and it has really affected my life.

      The other thing is that spending $9.99 for a book seems like a lot to me, nowadays. I don’t need to read the “hot” book of the month. Without KU, I was reading a lot of free and low-priced books. With KU, it expands my reading into books which have higher list prices. That doesn’t mean I don’t also read other books, by the way: it’s not an either/or for me.

      If you know what you love to read, and you are happy with that, wonderful. For me, I like to see things from different perspectives, and reading something I wouldn’t normally read (even if it isn’t as good as something else) is part of that.

      I’m not a big fan of predictability.🙂 I love chaos (which comes in handy in some situations), and KU encourages that in my reading.😉

      My Significant Other had a friend who only read two books: Gone with the Wind and Helter Skelter, and just rotated them…read each of them many, many times. Not my style, but whatever works.

  2. Amy Says:

    I see your point, Bufo. I guess it depends in part on how many books you read in a month. I don’t spend $9.99 on a book either these days. But that’s the amount of KU. So I have to read a lot of books in a month that would be more than the $2 or $3 or $4 bargain books I find, serendipitously. Those bargains are often how I find the great book I wouldn’t have read otherwise. I too don’t care about the book of the month, or what’s popular or hot. But I also still can supplement my reading with a supply of pbooks on my shelves from the local library book sale and from browsing in the library itself since I will read all formats (even though I prefer ebooks). To each his own. Thanks for replying and for keeping me thinking.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Amy!

      Absolutely! I don’t think I was regularly spending $9.99 a month on books before KU (at least for us to read), but I like the expansion of possibilities. You may also have inspired a post in the next few days…🙂

  3. Zebras Says:

    Bufo:

    I went with Miramont’s Ghost and Flirting With Felicity. Hoping to improve on last month’s pick. (the same one you gave a one star to) Haven’t picked out my KOLL book yet, I really enjoyed Hugh Howey’s Dust last month as that pick.

    Oh & Happy New Year

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Zebras!

      I’d appreciate your opinion of Felicity! I felt a little odd talking about only three out of the four (one was a yes at that point, two were possibilities). I have read romances, but I’ll admit, that’s not usually front burner for me.

      • Amy Says:

        Thanks for the KOLL suggestion, Zebras. I do find it hard to search for a good KOLL choice each month, and I haven’t found a good forum on the topic.

Leave a Reply

