10 random books

10 random books

I like to be surprised.

That especially goes for my entertainment.

I look for different ways to surprise myself, even in methods to discover new books.

Tonight, I used

http://www.random.org

to generate ten random numbers between 1 and 6400.

Why 6400?

The most results you can get in a Kindle store search is 400 pages. There are sixteen results per page (usually…the last page might have fewer). 400 * 1600 = 6400.

So, here are my results in the

USA Kindle store by New and Popular (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

I’m very excited to see what shows up! I’ll be curious as to how many I’ve read, how many are in Kindle Unlimited…and how many I put on my wish lists.😉

# 165: Brain Rules (Updated and Expanded): 12 Principles for Surviving and Thriving at Work, Home, and School
by John Medina
4.4 stars out of 5, 87 customer reviews

I’ve not only read this one, I wrote

Review: Brain Rules
coming up on two years ago.🙂

#262 Inferno: A Novel (Robert Langdon Book 4)
by Dan Brown
3.9 stars, 17558 reviews
I read the Da Vinci code…haven’t read this one.

#796 The Likeness (Dublin Murder Squad, Book 2)
by Tana French
4.0 stars, 635 reviews

848 Wickedly Dangerous (Baba Yaga Book 1)
by Deborah Blake
4.4 stars, 107 reviews

1643 The Cowboy’s Mail Order Bride (The Dalton Brides, Book 3)
by Kit Morgan and Kirsten Osbourne
4.3 stars, 42 reviews
Available in Kindle Unlimited

2058 Strategic Storytelling: How to Create Persuasive Business Presentations
by Dave McKinsey
4.2 stars, 5 reviews
Available in Kindle Unlimited

2231 She Comes First: The Thinking Man’s Guide to Pleasuring a Woman
by Ian Kerner
4.4 stars, 490 reviews

4017 Friction
by LD Davis
4.6 stars, 40 reviews

5346
Bloodline: A Sigma Force Novel (Sigma Force Novels Book 8)
by James Rollins
4.5 stars, 666 reviews

5510 Have Me: A Stark Ever After Novella (Stark Trilogy)
by J. Kenner
4.1 stars, 139 reviews

Well, a couple of them are on Kindle Unlimited, but nothing stood out here as something I’d want to move to the top of my TBR (To Be Read) list.

Some relatives did get me books from my wish list at the holidays…looking forward to those!🙂

Bonus story: in this

press release

Amazon announced that it is moving into producing movies to be shown in movie theatres…about twelve a year!

They have recently built a strong reputation (in part based on Transparent). We watched The Man in the High Castle, based on a Philip K. Dick book (which I had read recently…borrowed through Kindle Unlimited), and would be interested in seeing more of it, even thought my Significant Other (SO) didn’t find it that interesting.

It matters what we think, too, since High Castle is part of Amazon’s “pilot season”. These TV series which are not yet committed to becoming a series…customer feedback help determine which shows get made.

Theatrical movies, though?

Those are quite expensive! Even focusing on just smaller “art house” movies, you can’t realistically figure on an average production budget of under $10 million…and that is a low budget.

Still, I think people might see these. Amazon has hired Ted Hope, as the new Head of Production for Amazon Original Movies. Hope’s filmography as a producer is quite impressive. It includes:

  • Eat Drink Man Woman
  • The Brothers McMullen
  • The Ice Storm
  • The Tao of Steve
  • 21 Grams
  • Adventureland
  • Martha Marcy May Marlene

While none of these has gotten Hope an Oscar nomination yet (when a movie is nominated for Best Picture, the producers are the names listed), and Hope has been strong in TV, I think that’s the (unstated) goal.

I think Amazon would love to get an Oscar nomination in the next couple of years.

Here’s what makes it interesting for Amazon Prime members (in the USA, at any rate).

The movies will be exclusively available to Prime subscribers (at least initially) four to six weeks after their theatrical runs.

That’s quite short a period, and that could get Amazon some new Prime members.

That would be especially true if they timed a release around Oscar time, and it was getting a lot of buzz.

So far, the

Amazon Studios page at IMDb Pro (also owned by Amazon)

indicates one movie actually in production:

Tiger, Tiger

Co-written and directed by Mark Stouffer, who has worked with John Denver, done nature-connected works, and made a couple of movies.

This one is budgeted at about $19 million…not high by major studio standards, but still a significant risk for Amazon.

This Amazon effort is going to be fascinating to watch: they’ve announced a Woody Allen TV series, IMDb Pro shows a Barbarella TV movie in development, and they’ve optioned ZvG: Zombies Vs Gladiators from Clive Barker.

My guess is that this is going to scare investors…they may like it when Amazon tries to build new markets (like with the Kindle and the Echo), but I’m not sure they like them trying to break into mature markets.

What do you think? How many of the random books have you read? Do you think Amazon should be getting into theatrical releases? As an Amazon customer, does that scare you at all? Would you become a Prime member on the strength of wanting to see a particular movie earlier than other people? What if it meant you saw it before the Oscars were announced, rather than afterwards? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

Join more than a thousand readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

Leave a Reply

