Checking in on Manage Your Kindle

Checking in on Manage Your Kindle

One of the most important resources an Kindle owner has is the Manage Your Kindle page.

Well, that used to be true…now it’s called the “Manage Your Content and Devices.”🙂

I assume that’s because the new tablets aren’t called “Kindle Fires” any more, but simply “Fires”.

Not only that, other devices appear as well…my Fire Phone, our Fire TV, our Fire TV stick. I’m guessing our Amazon Echo will appear there as well, although it hasn’t yet (our delivery date still has, as the early end, the end of May).

Whatever you call it, I like to check in on this page from time to time, to see if anything has changed…and it often has.

One thing to note before I get into it: what you see and what I see may not be quite the same.

Amazon is big on “A/B testing”: you give different people different interfaces (and sometimes, different features), to see how well they work and how much people like them.

It’s usually not huge: it could be that a button appears on the top for me, and on the side for you.

Also, which browser you use may matter. I’m using Maxthon, my browser of preference, although I also use Chrome, Internet Explorer, Silk, and SeaMonkey.

We all get to the page the same way, though. I’ll give you the shortest URL (Uniform or Universal Resource Locator…web address), although there are others:

http://www.amazon.com/myk

For me, I see three tabs, and a link to Help. I’ll take them in the order they appear for me:

Your Content

This is where I see things I’ve purchased (including for free) from Amazon on this account, personal documents I’ve uploaded, and resources they give me (like dictionaries for the Kindle).

The first thing I see are two dropdown menus for “Show”.

The first one of those defaults to “Books”, and then gives me these other choices:

  • Books (purchased from the Kindle store)
  • Kindle Unlimited (you may not have that if you aren’t a member…it shows me which books I’ve borrowed under that plan)
  • Newspapers
  • Magazines
  • Blogs
  • Audiobooks
  • Music
  • Apps
  • Instant Video
  • Docs (personal documents I’ve uploaded)
  • Active Content (games and apps for non-Fire Kindles)
  • Dictionaries & User Guides (provided by Amazon)
  • Pending Deliveries

Next to that is a dropdown menu which says “All”. That presumably modifies the choices you make in the first dropdown, and not all choices will apply to all content categories. For Books, I see:

  • All
  • Purchases (including free)
  • Samples (this is relatively new, that samples are stored in the Cloud)
  • Rentals (yes, you can rent books…textbooks)
  • Loans
  • Borrows (this is showing me Kindle Unlimited…and ones I got from public libraries)

The next thing I get is a way to sort what shows:

  • Purchase Date: Newest-Oldest (default)
  • Title: A-Z
  • Title: Z-A
  • Author: A-Z
  • Author: Z-A
  • Purchase Date: Oldest-Newest

New here is a toggle to “Show Family Library” or “Hide Family Library”. When it is toggled to “Show”, you can Add to Library and Remove from Library.

There is also a search box you can use to search items

For individual books (or other content), there is a checkbox. When I check a book, I can then Deliver it somewhere or Delete it. I can check more than one book, and take the same action on multiple books (although I’ve heard from people that it can get overwhelmed…I’ve heard of a limit of ten at a time, but I have not tested that recently).

NOTE: if you delete a book from your Cloud, you are surrendering the licence for which you paid (or which you got free). If you do that, and anyone who is on your account now or may be on your account in the future wants to read that book, they’ll have to purchase it again…if it is still available.

I don’t delete books from the Cloud…it would be like throwing out a paperbook.

I know some people do,  though.

This ability is one of the reasons why you have to know the account username and password to get into MYK. Many people have accounts set up where some people are “users” and other people are “managers” (that’s just my name for it). The managers have access to MYK; the users don’t.

In addition to “Deliver” and “Delete”, there  are buttons for actions on individual books.

Tapping one (I’m using a touchscreen device…you might be clicking it), I can see

  • The title (which I can tap to go to the book’s Amazon product page)
  • The author
  • My purchase date
  • The price
  • A link for Order Details
  • Deliver
  • Delete
  • Download & Transfer via USB (you can put books on your device this way, if the device can’t connect to wireless)
  • Clear furthest page read
  • Read Now
  • Manage Family Library

Other choices may appear: for example, if you are within seven days of purchase, you’ll typically get a choice here to return your Kindle book for a refund.

The book line item will also list the Title | Author | Date of purchase…and if an update is available, it will indicate it to the left of the date.

It appears to me that this is an “infinite page”…as I scroll down, more titles appear. That’s also new.

The action buttons continue to appear that the top as I scroll down…that’s a good thing, even though it likely slows down the scrolling.

Moving on to

Your Devices

I see all the devices (hardware and apps) registered to the account.

They appear to be Fire tablets and non-Fire Kindles first in alphabetical order by name, then other hardware (Fire TVs and sticks first for me, then the Fire Phone), then apps.

As you select each device, you’ll see options below it…and those will depend on what the device is capable of doing.

For example, we have a 2007 original Kindle registered (more than one, actually). The options for that are:

  • Edit the name
  • Deregister
  • Set as default device (this is somewhat new)
  • Edit the e-mail address (this address is used to send items to this device, not to send regular e-mail to it)
  • The type
  • The Serial Number

Looking at the

Kindle Fire HDX (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

I use every day (mine is named “HDXter”, which I pronounce like “H-Dexter”), I see first a dropdown for Device Actions:

  • Deregister
  • Set as default device
  • Remote Alarm (this is nice…even if the volume is turned off, you can make your HDX make a not entirely unpleasant beeping noise…so you can find it if it is lost around the house. If you do find it, you can stop the beeping…otherwise, it goes for two minutes. You will, I assume, need to have wireless on for that to work)
  • Find Your Tablet (this will actually locate it physically…I just  tried it, and it was quite close…certainly close enough so I would know it was at home)
  • Remote Lock (could be useful if someone steals your device…but they may not connect it to wireless)
  • Remote Factory Reset (this would wipe everything off your device, including personal files you put on it…system software updates you had done would not be affected)

Those last three or four might also be used by account managers to…work with account users. For example, a legal guardian could hypothetically lock a child’s device…or see if the device is at home where it was “supposed to be”, rather than, say, at the park…

Then I see

  • Email address (editable)
  • Special Offers status (editable…that wasn’t on the K1 above, because it didn’t do Special Offers)
  • Type
  • Serial Number

Last tab…

Settings

  • Digital Payment Settings (you can edit your 1-click Payment Method through a link here…again, this is fairly new)
  • Country Settings (you can see where they think you live, and you could change it…but you still need to have something that evidenced where you live, such as the country location of your bank. This has to do with copyright and licensing)
  • Households and Family Library: you can add 1 adult here who is not on your account to share books, apps, games, and audiobooks…both of you have to be present when you are doing that. You can also add up to four children
  • Newsstand Subscription Settings (there is a link here to Manage Your Subscriptions, such as unsubscribing or changing a payment method…changing your 1-click above does not change the payment method for a subscription)
  • Kindle Unlimited Settings (you can unsubscribe here, and it tells you when you next payment will be)
  • Device Synchronization (it’s good to have this on if you read the same book on different devices, like a tablet and a phone. If two people on the same account read the same book at the same time on different devices ((which we do sometimes)) it’s good to keep this off)
  • Automatic Book Update (you can turn this off…if it’s on, and an update comes out for a book, it will just happen without asking you…I keep this off)
  • Language Optimized Storefront (you can currently choose English or Spanish)
  • Personal Document Settings (you can edit the e-mail addresses for your devices here), turn on or off Personal Document Archiving (I keep this on….it means that if I use “Send-to-Kindle”, the document will be added to the Cloud so it is available to other devices on the account), Whispernet Delivery Options (you can choose whether or not your personal documents will deliver over 3G/4G if you have it, or just on wi-fi…you could be charged for a 3G/4G delivery), and the Approved Personal Document E-mail List (you choose here what e-mail addresses are allowed to send documents to your devices…prevents “spam”). There is also a list of your previous charges here
  • A link to Manage Whispercast Settings (Whispercast is a special service designed for businesses and organizations)
  • A link to Your AmazonLocal Vouchers
  • The last thing on this page is Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations…the key thing here is that you can view or edit your browsing history at the botttom

Whew!

As you can tell, there is a lot of “self service” provided by Amazon! Good self service can be part of excellent customer service.

If you have any questions or thoughts about this, feel free to let me and my readers know by commenting on this post.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

4 Responses to “Checking in on Manage Your Kindle”

  1. CatReader Says:

    Bufo,
    Yes, an Echo is listed on the Devices tab. Mine shows after my Fire TV. I don’t have a Fire Phone, so I cannot provide exact location. Options are Edit Name, Deregister, and Manage Your Recordings (more explanation on that to follow). Information provided is Type: Amazon Echo; and the Serial Number. About Manage Your Recordings: Every time you speak to the Echo, your voice command is sent to Amazon for processing. By default, Amazon retains the recordings for the (stated) purposes of your Echo learning your voice(s) and commands and for Amazon to improve its services. The Manage Your Recordings option allows you to set this recording to not be retained; Amazon warns you that your Echo will not be able to perform as well for you. I have left this Option set to the default. Although the household Echo has understood both my SO’s and my commands very well from the start, I want the best results for our use and to develop the Echo command library for all buyers.
    Feel free to quote any portion except my email address. I have had the Echo for just over a week. She lives in our kitchen; we had no stationary device there, not even a radio. Funniest experience so far is when the device seemed to respond to a sneeze; this has happened only one time out of many sneezes. One or two other times, she has responded to a a word other than her wake command, “Alexa”. Because this can happen, however, and what the Echo hears as a command, it transmits, we do not speak of highly personal or confidential topics in the presence of the device. We think of it as having a child present who listens eagerly to all conversations in case something of interest is said. Now I know what my parents experienced while raising their only child. 😀

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, CatReader!

      I really appreciate that field report! It’s not something I can test myself at this point.

      Did Alexa say that “achoo” would be added to your shopping list?😉

  2. rogerknights Says:

    Amazon ought to add you thread (and other threads of yours) to its User Guide. I guess NIH prevents it.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, rogerknights!

      Nice of you to say…they could license it from me, if they wanted, but that’s not going to happen…

Leave a Reply

