First Kindle Scout books now available for pre-order

First Kindle Scout books now available for pre-order

I’ve written before about Kindle Scout, Amazon’s innovative “crowd advised” publishing program.

Essentially, authors submit a completed but unpublished book to the program.

Readers can read a sample…and decide if they should endorse the book for  publication.

If Amazon chooses to traditionally publish the book (advised but not bound by the readers’ choices), it’s a regular sort of publishing contract.

Part of a publisher’s responsibility (actually, a very big part) is to promote and market the books.

Well, I recently got a press release advising me that the first Kindle Scout books are now available to be pre-ordered (and being published on March 3rd 2015).

press release

The press release links to each of the ten upcoming books, which is nice.

It also gives a link to

https://kindlescout.amazon.com/selected

where you can see all 23 books selected so far, both the ten which can be pre-ordered now, and the thirteen “in production now”. The latter includes Housebroken by The Behrg, so we can’t link yet, as we said we would do (when possible) when we published this

ILMK interview

Outside of that, I’m not finding any easy way to find them in the Kindle store.

Searching for “Kindle Scout” just gets you Kindle books with the word “Scout” in the title, that sort of thing.

I can’t find an “aisle” for Kindle Scout in the Kindle store yet…either on my phone or on my computer.

My guess is that they just haven’t built it, but that they will.

I would.

I would want Kindle Scout to be a brand for Amazon customers, not just for readers who participate as Kindle Scouts, and authors who are part of the program.

There is an argument to be made (isn’t there always?) that you want the books to be seen as being just like any other book. After all, they don’t put out “various artists” albums of American Idol winners (“American Idol’s Greatest Hits”).

Oh wait…yes, they do.😉

American Idol music (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

Amazon can (and I think should) do the same thing.

The books can be promoted as individual books by individual authors, and it can be promoted as a group brand…by putting a link on the e-books homepage, by linking on each of the product pages for the individual books, maybe by doing a “sampler”, and so on.

The fact that a book was discovered by Amazon through Kindle Scout should be a plus for buyers and readers.

I make that differentiation (buyers and readers), because these books will be available through

Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

I might try one there…hm, not quite sure how the payment for these authors will be impacted by a borrow. For independently published authors using Amazon’s Kindle Direct Publishing, it can be better (sometimes, significantly better) to have your book borrowed rather than sold, depending on the price. The higher the price, the better the borrow is by comparison. That’s because you get the same price for each borrow as an indie, regardless of the list price.

Remember that you can’t “pre-borrow” a book…if you plan to get it from Kindle Unlimited, you need to wait until it has been released (March 3rd, in this case).

Here are the ten books:

It will be interesting to see how these do in terms of sales (and reviews)…I’ll check on them later to see.

What do you think? Are you going to buy any of these? Sample them? Borrow them through Kindle Unlimited or the KOLL (Kindle Owners’ Lending Library)? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

14 Responses to “First Kindle Scout books now available for pre-order”

  1. Alyssa Devine Says:

    Kindle Scout doesn’t have a Young Adult category, but please consider my YA novel The Hypnotist for one of your nominations. It’s listed in the three major categories. Everyone 13 years and older who’s read the manuscript has been enthralled with this mystery/thriller.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Alyssa!

      I did post your comment, so my readers can consider it. I appreciate you not linking, which would have made it seem more like an ad.

  2. Jake Lingwall (@JakeLingwall) Says:

    I’m hoping that Amazon will do a better job of promoting the books once they are released. I entered Freelancer into the program with high hopes to the value that Amazon could bring as a publisher. It would be disappointing if they don’t do some of the things you mentioned such as being matched with a search for Kindle Scout.

    I think the free copies that nominators of books receive should help drive some reviews and build some pre-launch hype. It will be fascinating to see how the experiment plays out.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Jake!

      That’s my hope as well.🙂

      Reviews certainly help, and I do think that’s part of the strategy. For everybody’s sake, I’d like to see them put a full court press on this first round…perhaps even splashing them on the landing page.🙂

  3. Man in the Middle Says:

    I just received “Pit Bulls vs. Aliens” as a reward for nominating it in Kindle Scout and have now finished reading it. It’s a surprisingly fun and good book, not entirely credible, but still likely to appeal to both sci fi lovers and dog lovers. I particularly liked that all its harping about global warming didn’t turn out to be due to evil humans driving Hummers or burning coal. Learned a fair amount about pit bulls too.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Man!

      Great!

      I’m curious: what was the actual mechanism for getting it? Did you get an e-mail with a link, for example, or did it just show up in your account?

  4. Theodore Jerome Cohen Says:

    You and readers of this blog may find this presentation of interest, especially if they intend to submit a book to Kindle Scout:

    http://podbay.fm/show/818998823/e/1424178000?autostart=1

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Theodore!

      I went ahead and posted your comment, but I assume if you are connected with this website besides as a user of it, you would have disclosed it. If you are, I’d appreciate you letting my readers know, just for full disclosure.🙂

      I don’t listen to a lot of podcasts, but I’ll see if I can get to this one.

      • Theodore Jerome Cohen Says:

        Hi, Bufo.

        No, I have no connection whatsoever with the website I cited. I had entered a novel (Wheel of Fortune) into the Kindle Scout competition earlier this year (it failed to win a contract), and so, have been following the program for some months now. Given your and your readers’ interest, I thought this lawyer’s discussion of Amazon’s Kindle Scout contract might be of interest.

        Ted

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Ted!

        Thanks for providing that clarification!

        I’m happy when anybody writes, but I think you can understand my being careful about not just being a promotion platform. I don’t do advertising on the site, for example, although WordPress might do it in some circumstances.

        Have you decided to another route with Wheel of Fortune?

      • Theodore Jerome Cohen Says:

        Immediately upon being rejected by Kindle Scout, I published the paperback version of Wheel of Fortune (which, by the way, was inspired by a real FBI sting conducted in York, PA, some years ago) using CreateSpace. Fifteen days later, after waiting for the obligatory 45-day contract period to expire, and as required, I formally (by e-mail) requested the return of my digital rights from Kindle Scout and the removal of my book’s excerpt and other material from their site. (They immediately complied.) Simultaneously, I uploaded the Kindle version of the book to Amazon.com and entered the book into their KDP program. I’ll now market the book primarily through my Website, using KDP discounts (the first being March 20-26, incl.) and Ereader News Today (ENT) to sell the novel. I know you might remove some of this information because of your restrictions, but decided to give you the full picture. BTW, ENT may be THE best kept secret in the indie world (I didn’t know about if for a long time). I used it yesterday, together with a discount on my Martelli novel Eighth Circle, and it took that book from Rank 280,000 to Rank 814 in under 18 hours.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Ted!

        Nope, didn’t cut any of it.🙂 If it’s about information, which your comment is, I’m fine with it. It’s weird to be in the position of judging people’s motives, but I think your comment will be interesting to my readers…especially those who, like you, are authors.

        There are several free/low cost e-book sources…I’ll admit I haven’t looked at ENT in depth. I’ll do that now.🙂 I know Book Gorilla (I have some correspondence with Windwalker, although we’ve never met in person) and More for Less Online, for example.

        That’s an interesting result, though, so I’ll look more into it…thanks!

  5. The Behrg Says:

    Hi Bufo, glad to report that Amazon does have a “home” for the Kindle Scout selected novels.

    Kindle Scout aisle (at AmazonSmile)

    Currently the only way to access this web address is through the Kindle Scout site, when you click on the top banner with “Newly Published Titles.” My guess is that with time, and a larger body of work, they will add the tab to the Amazon Kindle Store (similar to a Kindle Worlds tab).

    Appreciate your great comments about the program and desires to see it succeed! I feel it’s another “badge of approval” to help readers discover great works that have been vetted to some degree.

    All the best to future entrants!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, The Behrg!

      I appreciate you keeping me and my readers informed on this!

      It’s definitely an interesting experiment on Amazon’s part…I’m hoping they do start pushing it more, but you may be right…they might not want people to go there easily and see fewer than twenty titles (as is now the case).

      [Note: I edited The Behrg’s comment, as was indicated would be okay, to remove a sentence for…I’m going to say contractual reasons, and to change the link. The former reason is probably an abundance of “followtherulesness” on my part]🙂

Leave a Reply

