“Mindle Touch” on sale for $59

“Mindle Touch” on sale for $59

In honor of March being National Reading Month (gee, isn’t that every month?)😉, Amazon is offering

$20 off the The entry level model, the one I call the “Mindle Touch”(at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*) making it only $59

This the least expensive Kindle at this point, and it’s certainly a serviceable device. It does have a touchscreen, but does not have the built-in light of the Paperwhite or the Voyage. As is the case with all current non-Fire Kindles, it does not have audio (so no music, audiobooks, or text-to-speech).

This could be a good “guest Kindle”, though, and might be a good Kindle for a responsible child.

I do like the Paperwhite better, but this is literally less than half the price of that $119 device at this point.

They don’t say how long the sale will last, and my guess is not long…

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

4 Responses to ““Mindle Touch” on sale for $59”

  1. Jenny Says:

    Interesting comments. I have a Mindle, one of the old ones without the touch screen, and I love it – precisely because it doesn’t do anything else apart from display the pages of my book. I do have a cover with a built in light, and I wouldn’t want to be without that.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Jenny!

      I had a Mindle, too, and did think it was a good device. You would probably like the Paperwhite, if you ever went to that…it’s also a purpose built device, and the light makes it the most comfortable reading experience I’ve ever had, including paper.

    • Marvin Says:

      Jenny, I was using Mindle and I loved it. Then I went to Paperwhite, built-in light is much better (more convenient). But what I miss from Mindle are real buttons for page turns, I would prefer those over touchscreen.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Marvin!

        I’m sure Jenny (and other readers of mine) appreciate you expressing your opinion!

Leave a Reply

