Omnivoracious: the Amazon Book Review…and an update on Kindle Scout

Omnivoracious: the Amazon Book Review…and an update on Kindle Scout

Amazon has quite a number of free

Amazon e-mail subscriptions (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

I’ve mentioned those before, and I do subscribe to a bunch…looking at that page (in my top right corner), it’s twenty-nine! You can also unsubscribe at the link I gave you above.

For example, there are 19 in the Kindle section…you can subscribe to find out about the Kindle First books, books for kids of different age ranges, science fiction and fantasy: it’s a wide variety of choices.

I do, of course, list the Kindle First books in this blog, too, if you don’t want to get more e-mail.ūüėČ

One of the nicer ones which Kindle readers might enjoy isn’t in the Kindle category, though.

In fact, it’s not even in the “Books” category (which was the second place I tried, after Kindle).

It’s under blogs (those are blogs created by Amazon). It’s called Omnivoracious, and it’s their “Amazon Book Review”.

Well, what prompted this post was finding that they’ve done quite a nice looking website for that blog, too!

http://www.omnivoracious.com/

Recent articles included:

  • The Polls are Open: Children’s Choice Book Awards
  • Sarah Says: I’m Format Agnostic…And Maybe You Should Be Too. I particularly enjoyed that piece, talking about how you can like p-books (paperbooks) and e-books
  • Indie Titles Perfect for the Big Screen
  • YA Wednesday: If You Were a Superhero…

You can just browse through the articles in reverse chronological order (most recent first), if you want.

However, the menu has a lot of great ways to get to what you want…and I suspect some people won’t even realize that those three colorful horizontal lines are a menu! They sort of look like a logo.

Anyway, if you click or tap that, in addition to being able to search (by title, author, or “other”…any search will search all of them), you get these choices:

  • LISTS + REVIEWS
  • Best Books
  • Literature + Fiction
  • Nonfiction
  • Kids + Young Adult
  • Mystery, Thriller + Suspense
  • Science Fiction + Fantasy
  • Comics + Graphic Novels
  • Romance
  • Eating + Drinking
  • AUTHORS
  • Interviews
  • Guest Essays
  • NEWS + FEATURES
  • News
  • Features
  • EDITORS
  • Sara Nelson
  • Neal Thompson
  • Erin Kodicek
  • Chris Schluep
  • Seira Wilson
  • Jon Foro
  • OMNIVORACIOUS, THE AMAZON BOOK REVIEW
  • Subscribe
  • Feeds
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube

Hey, I’m going to make this easier for you…well, for some of you…on the other hand you might just want to make your own choices and…

What I was going to say is I see a way to flip the articles I especially like into my free

ILMK magazine at Flipboard

If you read that, you’ll get the ones that really catch my eye. I do it in the

Flipboard (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

app, which I read every morning on my

Kindle Fire HDX 7″¬†(at AmazonSmile*)

but they’ve also recently improved the browser interface.

For people who just see Amazon as this soulless retailing machine (and those folks are out there), it’s nice to see something like this, which shows that there are actual booklovers at Amazon…and that presumably, they are valued enough to be paid (in money and time) to write about books.ūüėČ

Bonus update: thanks to author The Behrg, who I interviewed here:

An ILMK interview with The Behrg, author of the Kindle Scout winner Housebroken

I know that there is now an Amazon “aisle” for Kindle Scout¬†books:

Kindle Scout aisle (at AmazonSmile)

That’s Amazon’s “reader advised” program, where readers try samples of full books, and recommend which ones they would like to see Amazon publish. I’ve written about it a few times before, and it will be very interesting to see how it does…for readers, for authors, and for Amazon.

There are nineteen titles there right now…and all of them are available through

Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

except the ones that are on pre-order (which you can also do now).

You can certainly buy them, but if you a KU member, this looks like a new interesting resource. I’m not sure how the authors are compensated in this case for borrows through KU…is it the same as publishers who use Kindle Direct Publishing?

Taking a look at the one at the top in the default “New and Popular” sort, they seem to be doing well!

The number one is

The Game Master (at AmazonSmile*)

by William Bernhardt.

That’s remarkably ranked #791 paid in the Kindle store…that’s very solidly in the the top 1%, since there are over three million titles!

It’s also ranked 4.7 stars out of 5, with eleven customer reviews…and none of them under three stars.

Congratulations, William Bernhardt!

Interestingly, Bernhardt is not a first time novelist, like The Behrg…far from it. According to the bio on the book’s Amazon product page, Bernhardt has published thirty books, including the Ben Kincaid novels…and NBC is developing a miniseries based on one of them.

What’s interesting to me there is that many people may assume that Kindle Scout is designed for unknown authors, but successful authors (who presumably know the business), may find the terms lucrative enough to go through this program also.

That’s got to worry the tradpubs (traditional publishers) a bit, although publishing one book through Kindle Scout doesn’t mean they don’t want to do other books through tradpubs…this is a very new system.

If this works for Amazon, it’s another reason to use KU…and I would guess they are all available through the Kindle Owners’ Lending Library as well, so that could be another boost for Amazon Prime…which I think is a very important strategy piece for Amazon.

I’ll keep my eye on how this develops…

What do you think? Will Kindle Scout succeed? Do you read Omnivoracious? Do the books tempt you towards KU…or reinforce your decision to be a KU member? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

 

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

2 Responses to “Omnivoracious: the Amazon Book Review…and an update on Kindle Scout”

  1. Edward Boyhan Says:

    Thanks for the pointer to the master subscription page — I hadn’t realized it existed. That subscription page is also nicely designed — better than the Amazon average (:grin).

    I don’t know how I ended up with the subscriptions I had, but the page said I had 10 subscriptions. I added a couple of new ones and deleted a bunch — so now I have 8! (I’ve learned over several years with Amazon that certain emails are just noise for me — so unsubscribing will help).

    I also can tell that the subscription page doesn’t include every periodic email I get from Amazon. I get PR & Echo notifications — as well as a sprinkling of emails that I’m sure are generated by my past buying activity (:grin).

  2. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Has anyone else found a difference in the way the product rating stars are being displayed? In the past, the graphic would show total numbers for each star. Now, at least on the first product page, it shows by percentage. But if you click to see the reviews of a specific number of stars, the next graphic will show the total number for each star. I hope that makes sense. It’s kind of hard to describe.

Leave a Reply

