Magazine subscriptions for $5 each…for a year!

Magazine subscriptions for $5 each…for a year!

Walk into a bookstore to buy a magazine, and you’ll be luck to find one where an individual issue is under $5.

There is a limited time offer right now at Amazon for Kindle store magazines for $5…for an entire year!

I do read magazines on my

Kindle Fire HDX (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

I read Entertainment Weekly every week, which I get through Amazon.

I read Fortean Times, which I get through Zinio (you can get the app for the Fire tablets at the Zinio site). I’d say I’m more than a year behind on that, but I get to it eventually.

http://www.zinio.com/

That’s one of those magazines where you get a lot of content…unlike some really popular magazines, it doesn’t seem like it is mostly ads.

We subscribe to National Geographic…and I read it from time to time. It depends on whether an article catches my eye, and I do tend to read it when I’m at the dentist because, you know, tradition.😉

My sense is that magazines are not a big money maker for Amazon for the Kindle, but I do think they are here to stay, and they can be a nice part of your reading mix. Some of them even do text-to-speech now on individual articles, although I haven’t had one that will just keep reading into the next article.

If you don’t have a Fire, check to see if the magazine will work with your device (some do, some don’t). Two other notes: you can’t give digital subscription to magazines at this point (although you can do that with paper magazines), and you can’t use a gift card balance to pay for subscription items.

You can do a free sample of magazines, but if you do want to buy a subscription, here are sixteen you can get right now for $5 each for a year:

Kindle Magazines for $5 (limited time) (at AMazon Smile*)

  • Better Homes & Garden
  • Family Circle
  • Allrecipes
  • Eating Well
  • Every Day with Rachel Ray
  • Traditional Home
  • Popular Science
  • Midwest Living
  • Family Fun
  • Parents
  • Field & Stream
  • Cycle World
  • Flying
  • Siempre Mujer
  • Ski
  • Skiing

There are some really well-known titles in there!

Enjoy!

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

Leave a Reply

