Read the book first: 2016

Read the book first: 2016

I really don’t need my movies to be original.

I know people say that a lot, but I’m okay with movies based on books, comic books, games…I think successfully adapting something can be a greater challenge, in some cases, than coming up with something from scratch.

Certainly, it’s a delicate balance not to irritate fans of the original while being able to bring something new to it.

After all, a movie is not a book…the structures are very different, as are the expectations.

Hey, I even wrote an article (more than five years ago) in my pop culture (and other things) blog, The Measured Circle, called

Hooray for remakes!

😉

However, I always prefer to read the book before I see the movie based on it. I’ve never had a book spoil a movie for me, but I’ve had the opposite happen.

So, what movies based on novels are scheduled to come out in 2016, so you can read the book first?

Here are a few that caught my eye:

The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling

This is yet another reboot of one of their cartoons, and this one undeniably has an all-star cast! That includes:

  • Scarlett Johansson as Kaa
  • Bill Murray as Baloo
  • Idris Elba as Shere Khan
  • Christopher Walken as King Louie
  • Ben Kingsley as Bagheera

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth-Grahame Smith and Jane Austen

The genre-establishing book of public domain mash-ups gets a big screen version, with stars including Lily James, Lena Headey, and Matt Smith.

Peregrine’s Home for Peculiars by Ransom Riggs

Tim Burton directs…surprised?😉

The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey

Young adult dystopia…but this does have Chloë Grace Moretz, which is always a recommending factor.

The Doubtful Guest by Edward Gorey

Gorey wrote and illustrated books which often get categorized as children’s books, but they can be quite bizarre…and this one is no exception.

(In Love and War) by Fred Rochlin

Rochlin wrote Old Man in a Baseball Cap: A Memoir of World War II, and this might be based on that…not sure.

Well, there are at least a few for you…any literary adaptations which  you are looking forward to seeing? Does TV do book adaptations (Game of Thrones, The Vampire Diaries, soon to be The Man in the High Castle) better than movies? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

Bonus: Full Disclosure News: books by relatives, friends, coworkers, and other people I know.

I wanted to mention that a book by a sibling of mine has just become available for pre-order on the Kindle:

One Murder More (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

I did read an earlier draft, but I haven’t read the final version. I helped crowdfund it, but I will buy a copy. I’m interested to see this final version: I’m told it’s something like 25% different from what I’ve read.

I’ve been impressed with some of the “blurbs” (which you can see on the product page for the hardback, but not on the Kindle page yet): in particular, bestselling mega-author John Lescroart had some nice things to say.🙂

Just thought I’d give you a heads-up on it…it’s not being released until June 1st, but I know some of you like to pre-order.

I would feel a bit odd reviewing something for you when I know the person this well, but I do think I may let you know about more books like this, if you don’t mind (I have another sibling with a book in about the top third of sellers at in the USA Kindle store…and it costs over $80!. That should get you intrigued…).😉

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

2 Responses to “Read the book first: 2016”

  1. Joe Bowers Says:

    Good day, Citizen Calvin,
    (It’s sometimes hard to know how to address you, is Bufo too familiar, your de-genderization makes Mr./Mrs./Miss Calvin unacceptable.)🙂
    Regarding you mentioning books, etc. from friends/relatives/colleagues, I, for one, wouldn’t have a problem with that. I feel you have shown yourself to be pretty fair-minded, and open about disclosing any appearance of conflict of interest or anything of the sort. Maybe that’s a little odd for someone I only “know” from online writing, but that’s my personal impression!
    Your call on whether to use this comment online, just my take on the question at hand!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Joe!

      Just Bufo is fine…that’s not too familiar. Despite my occasional pedantic grammatical constructions, I’m a pretty informal person.😉 Besides, “Citizen” itself might be a presumptive honorific.

      I appreciate your feedback on that. I’m thinking I might do a page for it…it would be interesting to show my “degrees of separation” in some cases…my Kevin Bacon number is actually only three!

      Edited to add: oh, and you could go the French way, and just use M. Calvin, if you really want to use a title. In English, that cover Miss, Mrs., Ms., and Mister…

Leave a Reply

