3 Derek Swannson books free this weekend

3 Derek Swannson books free this weekend

Well, this is a case where I am happy I checked Goodreads.🙂

I happened to see in my update feed that three of Derek Swannson’s books are free to own from Amazon this weekend:

Derek Swannson (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

Now, before we go any further let me be clear: there are people out there who would hate these books. These are not for everybody. I think I explain that pretty clearly in my

review of Crash Gordon and the Mysteries of Kingsburg

which is the first book.

I also need to say that after that review of the first book, Derek (who I do not otherwise know) asked me to read the draft and offer editorial comments on Revelations from Big Sur, which I did (I am in the acknowledgements).

I do not, though, have any financial connection with the books.

I also want to say that they are all available through

Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

so if you are a KU member (I am, and I’m quite happy with it), you can read them without paying anything additional for them.

Gee, I wonder why Derek didn’t e-mail me to tell me these were free…I’m doing such a good job of making you want them.😉

Okay, I’m done giving you reasons not to get them for free.🙂

The writing is really quite good, and I didn’t want you to miss out on this giveaway…if you think it would appeal to you after you read my review, perhaps.

According to Goodreads, these three will be free in the USA Kindle store on April 11th and 12th:

  • Crash Gordon and the Mysteries of Kingsburg: 4.1 stars out of 5, 39 customer reviews
  • Crash Gordon and the Revelations from Big Sur: 4.4 stars, 42 reviews
  • The Snowden Avalanche (yes, that’s as in Edward Snowden):  4.4 stars, 14 reviews

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

 

 

2 Responses to “3 Derek Swannson books free this weekend”

  1. Derek Swannson Says:

    Hey Bufo,

    Thanks! I’m such a natural introvert that it didn’t even occur to me to ask you to pimp for my books. That post of yours above is brilliant in its ambivalence. I expect to see a huge surge in my giveaway numbers during the next few hours because of it. Also, a few more of the usual one-star reviews from scolding old church ladies. Thank you, thank you, thank you….

    Did you happen to see John Oliver’s interview with Edward Snowden on HBO’s “Last Week Tonight” this week? That’s what got me started on the free giveaway thing. Oliver took Snowden right to the same satirical place that I went to in The Snowden Avalanche, and by doing so, I think he humanized Snowden and fired up the debate over the NSA’s domestic spying efforts again. Good for John Oliver, I say… and good for Snowden, too, of course. We couldn’t have hoped for two better spokesmen in the fight to maintain our rights to Internet privacy.

    All best,
    Derek

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Derek!

      Hey, I’m partially about the ambivalence! See, I can’t say I’m “all about it”…that just wouldn’t be right.😉

      I haven’t seen the Oliver piece yet. I do see those, but I just catch them on YouTube on my Fire TV, and just haven’t gotten to that one yet.

Leave a Reply

