The Big Deal: Kindle books up to 85% off through May 24th

The Big Deal: Kindle books up to 85% off through May 24th

Amazon saves us money on e-books in so many ways, but I do think it’s fun when they do the Big Deal. It’s over 500 books this time (529 at time of writing…almost 100 more than last time!).

The Big Deal: Kindle Books Up to 85% Off (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

These are typically e-books which are genuinely on sale…they aren’t just cheap to begin with.🙂

When the sale is over, they tend to go back up in price…although they may be reduced again later, of course.

Remember, as always, that you can buy e-books as gifts and delay the delivery until the appropriate date. You can also print out the gift and just hold on to it, so you have something to wrap.😉 In that case, you don’t really need to specify to whom it goes, so these can also be good “emergency gifts” (we always keep a few of those around).

Do check the price before you click or tap that “Buy button”…these prices may not apply in your country (and I have readers in a lot of countries)🙂 and I think it’s possible for books to go in and out of the set.

One more thing: some of these books are also available through

Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

as part of the $9.99 monthly membership. It feels to me like Amazon sometimes uses the sales to promote KU, although there are now enough KU books that it may just be coincidence. On the other hand, they may be able to more freely discount the books which are in KU, so that may be part of it as well.

Here are some that caught my eye:

A Man Without a Country by Kurt Vonnegut and Daniel Simon
4.2 stars | 261 reviews

Against All Odds by Chuck Norris and Ken Abraham
4.6 stars out of 5 | 400 customer reviews

Resident Evil: The Umbrella Conspiracy by S.D. Perry
4.6 stars | 393 reviews

This is the first book in a series…yes, the videogame/movie inspiration.

Perfect Summer (The Lone Stars Book 1) by Katie Graykowski
4.5 stars | 230 reviews
Also available through Kindle Unlimited (KU)

Cinnamon Roll Murder (Hannah Swensen series Book 15) by Joanne Fluke
3.9 stars | 291 reviews

The Baby Owner’s Manual: Operating Instructions, Trouble-Shooting Tips, and Advice on First-Year Maintenance by Louis Borgenicht M.D. and Joe Borgenicht (might be good for an expectant Mom for Mothers’ Day…)
4.7 stars | 242 reviews

True Detective (Nathan Heller Novels) by Max Allan Collins
4.3 stars | 195 reviews
1st book of 15
KU

Mr. Darcy’s Diary by Amanda Grange
4.2 stars | 192 reviews

The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love by Oscar Hijuelos
3.6 stars | 74 reviews
KU

Going on my KU Wish List!

Dead Wrong: Straight Facts on the Country’s Most Controversial Cover-Ups by Richard Belzer and David Wayne
4.0 stars | 161 reviews
KU

Yes, that Richard Belzer…

The Secret Life of Marilyn Monroe by J. Randy Taraborrelli
4.0 stars | 148 reviews

What You Wish For by Fern Michaels
4.4 stars | 118 reviews

The Adventure of English: The Biography of a Language by Melvyn Bragg
4.4 stars | 106 reviews

After Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil (Crimescape Book 1) by Marilyn Bardsley
3.8 stars | 98 reviews

What Doctors Feel: How Emotions Affect the Practice of Medicine by Danielle Ofri
4.5 stars | 191 reviews
My Goodreads review: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/882763732

The Great Trek by Zane Grey
4.4 stars | 89 reviews
KU

One of the great Western writers of all time…

How to Talk About Books You Haven’t Read by Pierre Bayard
3.7 stars | 57 reviews

Nick and Tesla’s Robot Army Rampage: A Mystery with Hoverbots, Bristle Bots, and Other Robots You Can Build Yourself by Bob Pflugfelder and Steve Hockensmith
4.5 stars | 49 reviews

Midnight Cowboy (RosettaBooks Into Film) by James Leo Herlihy
4.2 stars | 48 reviews

Respect Yourself: Stax Records and the Soul Explosion by Robert Gordon
4.6 stars | 46 reviews

Bang the Drum Slowly (RosettaBooks Sports Classics Book 7 by Mark Harris
4.4 stars | 45 reviews

Police at the Funeral (Albert Campion) by Margery Allingham
4.1 stars | 34 reviews

Those were just some of them, of course…if you see another in the deal you want to recommend to my readers, you can comment on this post.

Enjoy!

 Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :)

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

6 Responses to “The Big Deal: Kindle books up to 85% off through May 24th”

  1. Harold Delk Says:

    Found a very well written and interesting article in a blog I follow today. I’m thinking you will enjoy it as well.
    http://blog.oup.com/2015/05/printed-books-versus-ebooks/

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Harold!

      I did find that interesting, but I thought it was wrong in so many ways that I’m not sure I’d use the word “enjoy”.😉 I would say it came in with an agenda, and wrote things to support it. I may write more about the article, maybe in the next Round-up. I’ll mention two things right now.

      One was this:

      “And these agents seem to think that ebooks are not really books: Apple insists on calling them, not iBooks, but “iBooks Store Products,” and Amazon calls them, not Kindle books, but “Kindle Content.””

      That’s because in the Terms of Service, they don’t want to have to say, “Kindle e-books, Kindle short stories, Kindle singles, Kindle…” They do refer to “Kindle eBooks” on the site…frequently. The agreement simply covers a broader category.

      The other, and to me, misleading, statement was this:

      “That struck readers as the height of Big Brotherism, but the giant bookseller didn’t care, because like Big Brother, Amazon had the majesty of the law behind it.”

      This had to do with Amazon removing out-of-market copies of 1984 from people’s Kindles. To say that Amazon “didn’t care” is simply and easily belied by their actions. Jeff Bezos called it “stupid”. People were compensated. Amazon addressed it directly and openly.

      That suggests that the author of the article is either ignorant or deliberately misrepresenting what happened…or both.

      I really appreciate you linking me to this one!

  2. Lady Galaxy Says:

    This was an extra good big deal for me because I had a $10 credit good for Amazon digital service books only, so I managed to get three books for free as well as a 4th one for half of the discount price. Thanks for the heads up.

  3. Judy Schechter Says:

    Hi Bufo, as of yesterday none of the YouTube downloader apps work on my KFHDX or my Samsung Galaxy Tab 4. I get a message that YouTube is updating and these apps are no longer compatible with my devices. So now I’m really panicking! How will I get songs and videos onto my tablets now? Will the downloader apps be updated as well? The only one that I’ve come across that will let me search for videos/songs and then play them is Playtube (but now it only works on the Galaxy, not the KFHDX). While the video is playing it becomes “cached “. What is the difference between being cached vs downloaded? I turned the wifi off while playing a cached video and it still worked, so I’m pretty confused! And panicked, because I always have trouble streaming videos and audio (mp3) because I don’t always have a strong wifi signal. Do you know of any Youtube downloaders that still work, or of a work around? And I don’t own a computer, so I sure hope there’s a way to accomplish this without needing one. Thank you!
    Sorry If this comment shows up twice, I’m having a hard time signing into WordPress!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Judy!

      I’m sorry to hear that!

      The one that I use, and that I got from Amazon, is still working for me. I just tested it: I downloaded a YouTube video, shut off my wi-fi, restarted the device…I was still able to watch it.

      Unfortunately, it doesn’t appear to be available for the Fire (I use a Kindle Fire HDX 7″) in the Amazon Appstore right now. It’s called TubeMate. It is available from 1Mobile, but I’m not spotting what looks like the original publisher there.

      However, on the good side, it may not be available if it is being updated to work with YouTube. I’m guessing that the apps will be updated, unless YouTube is preventing that somehow. Patience might be the best path.

      In the meantime, you might download things from other sources, like Archive.org. Those will be older, public domain songs and titles…and they’ll be free.

      “Cached” typically means it is put into temporary memory, not written to the “hard drive”. So, a cached video could work when you aren’t connected, but if you turned off the device, you would likely lose it.

      If you are a Prime member, you can download some videos and songs…that might be an alternative for now.

Leave a Reply

