Our library with photos

Our library with photos

I’ve mentioned before that I’m not a very visually oriented person.

However, I know that lots of people (probably the majority) like to see pictures, in addition to just have me using words to describe something.😉

I’ve mentioned our floor to ceiling library many times in the blog. Those of you who picture things when you read (I generally don’t…again, I know I’m in the small minority on that) have probably created all sorts of images.

I’m guessing most of them are much more grandiose than the reality.🙂

I knew someone who had a really impressive library…more than one floor, with a spiral staircase and ladders on tracks.

Our is furnished with “as is” bookshelves from Ikea…some of them cost as little as $5!

We also use the room as a guest room sometimes. I would love, love, love to be at somebody’s house and stay in a library! Dream come true…

Anyway, here are some photos (taken today) of our library…

This first one is just a general shot of one of the sections:

Library1

That object you see in your bottom left corner? That’s the bed. It’s a small room, so that’s also where you can sit while you are reading, if you want. We went with a literary theme, and bought pillows and a comforter for it to match:

LibraryBed

Here is more of a closeup of a small section:

Library Closeup

One more shot of another section:

Library2

This is one wall, to give you the scope:

LibraryWall

Finally, this an unusual item, and one of my favorite things I own.🙂 It’s a magazine rack. As I recall, I bought it from a place going out of business, but I know it was a small, local, sort of general store I patronized. I think the owner might have built it, and I believe I paid five dollars for it. Moving it through several homes over decades has probably been pretty silly, but I like it.

LibraryMagazineRack

I asked my Significant Other before I shared these, and I tried not to do it where the room might look too messy (even though the books could be neater).

That’s why you aren’t seeing the shelf under the window.😉 That one has some non-book items on top of it. Well, I should say, “non-book related items”. As you can see, I do keep some small things on the shelves, usually related to the category. The Lost in Space robot is in front of my science fiction/fantasy section.

You might look at this and wonder how I can find anything.

First, I tend to just remember where things are. My SO likes to tell the story about when my SO asked me where the taxes from a certain year were. I said something like, “They are on the top shelf of the bookshelf under the window, third pile from the right, about two thirds of the way up, next to something yellow.”🙂

Second, the shelves are separated by category, which narrows it down.

Third, some sections, like science fiction/fantasy are alphabetized: that one is alphabetical by author, and within that by title.

When I alphabetize titles, I follow Leonard Maltin and treat numbers as though they are spelled out. So, “20,000 Leagues Under the Sea” is in the “T”s, as though it was “Twenty Thousand Leagues”. That’s because sometimes it is spelled out, sometimes it isn’t.😉

It’s also not quite as simple as that.

In some cases, I treat the series as if it is the author…Star Trek is one of those. The Doc Savage books have their own section in the library…they take up quite a bit of one of the bookshelves.

I also know some of you are cringing because I don’t have separate science fiction and fantasy sections.😉 I’ve mentioned how I treat that before.

For me, any fiction which is intended to take place outside of consensus reality is fantasy. Within that, there is Science Fiction (which is possible within the framework of consensus science but isn’t happening now…for example, travel to Mars via rocket) and Fantasy, which isn’t (traditional magic, for example). I’m sure that regular readers won’t be surprised that I don’t find those categories to be hard and fast, though.😉

It often comes down to intent, including the intent of how the author wants it perceived. An author may want FTL (Faster Than Light) travel of a hardware spaceship through conventional space to be believed to be scientifically possible, or for telepathy to be scientifically based. We can’t really judge intent, though, so it seems somewhat subjective to me.

Therefore, I lump all fantasy together on the shelves.

Even defining fantasy can be tricky. I include works as fantasy if the audience perceives it as fantasy, even if it is later shown in the work to have been a trick. Again, that’s pretty fluid.

My main goal in putting them together is to make it easier to find something when I want it. That’s more important to me than being strictly correct…so free association counts.😉

I do have some rare items, and as you can perhaps tell, I don’t have humidity controlled, behind glass kind of storage. Is that irresponsible? It doesn’t feel like it. I have been able to keep books in good shape…not pristine, mint condition, but I don’t have these books to resell them (then it would matter), but in some cases to preserve them, and I am doing that.

Will this room ever go away and everything be in digital?

I suppose it might…at this point, it makes me nauseous to consider it.😉 If the books I owned were already preserved in digital, I would then consider donating them to some place that would do actual preservation work. I would have to find somebody I thought would respect them…not just treat them as cultural artefacts. I might go so far as to say that I want someone who would love them.

I should also say, I’ve mentioned having ten thousand books on shelves in our house…they aren’t all in this room. Just about every room in the house has at least one bookshelf.

Well, now I’ve bared my shelves to you.🙂

I think you can see why some of the titles might be controversial, but I decided I was more comfortable with you than with someone coming to inspect the house for some reason…

This is also a long way from having books piled on the floor, which I used to do.🙂

How about you? If you have anything you want to share about how you have your p-books, feel free to let me and my readers know by commenting on this post.

Update: thanks to a reader who improved this post with some copy-editing and chose to remain anonymous.🙂 That’s one thing I’m finding with this new computer. I have to hit the keys harder than I’ve been doing, so a letter got missed. I have to see if I can adjust the feel of the keys…might be able to do that. If not, I’ll have to learn to pound the keys like it was ragtime.😉

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

6 Responses to “Our library with photos”

  1. Doug A. Says:

    I love your little Lost in Space robot. It may sound silly but that robot is how I learned the difference between a storm watch and a storm warning as a child. Whenever the robot said “Warning Will Robinson!” the danger was already on them so I learned warning was the one where the storm was imminent.🙂

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Doug!

      Science!😉

      Yes, it’s a great little replica! It’s supposed to be a keychain, but very detailed. It also says three different things (in Bob May’s original voice): “Warning! Warning!”; “Danger, Will Robinson!”; and “That does not compute.” Apparently, the last one originally entered pop culture through a Julie Newmar series, My Living Doll. I wrote about that series not too long ago in my The Measured Circle blog:

      Before Ex Machina, there was My Living Doll

      I did really like the LIS robot (AKA “B9” as in “benign”). It is amusing, though, that it either coudn’t sense or couldn’t evaluate danger until, as you note, it was too late to do anything about it.🙂

      I’m having fun watching The Time Tunnel, another Irwin Allen series, on Hulu. I’m in an episode right now which shows Irwin Allen really being Irwin Allen…time travel isn’t enough, so now they’ve encountered Nero’s ghost!

  2. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Your collection is most impressive! Thank you for sharing it with us.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady Galaxy!

      Nice of you to say! I’m glad you enjoyed the (abbreviated) tour.😉 I do like guests to see it when they visit, but I’ve never shared any of it on the internet before.

      • Lady Galaxy Says:

        I especially appreciated the book bed. My own bed has a bookcase headboard, and the bedside table has a shelf full of books.

        The room where I have my biggest bookcases started to “sag” a big from the weight of the bookcases. I had them all lined up on a wall that was over a single horizontal support beam with a basement below. The carpenter who looked at it for me said he could put in a vertical support pole from the basement floor to the beam, or I could move the bookcases to the wall that was over the ends of all the support beams so that the weight would be spread more evenly. I opted for the extra support beams in the basement. So of course, my first thought was to wonder if any of your floors are sagging under the weight of your bookshelves;)

        I also appreciated it that you stack books horizontally on top of the vertical rows of books. I do the same thing.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Lady!

        Modifying your house to suit your books…your priorities are in the right place.😉

        We haven’t noticed anything with the floor in that room, but it’s possible that it is sagging. It seems even when you sit on the bed.

        Bookshelf heights, at least the ones that I have, aren’t infinitely adjustable. Since that’s the case, I always end up with a gap between the top of the books and the next shelf up, at least on some shelves. It doesn’t make sense to me not to utilize that space…but as I mentioned, adding another book into the sort may necessitate a lot of moving.🙂

Leave a Reply

