Echo now connects to Google calendar

Echo now connects to Google calendar

Update: as June 23rd, the general public can now pre-order Amazon Echo (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*) with an “in stock” date of July 14th.

I am just on my phone so just a quick note on this.

You can now connect your Amazon Echo to your Google calendar.

You do this in settings, calendar services.

Once you do, you will be able to verbally ask your Echo questions like these:

“Alexa, what’s on my calendar today?”
“Alexa, what’s on my calendar tomorrow at 9PM?”
“Alexa, what’s on my calendar Saturday?”
“Alexa, when’s my next event?”

I will test this out when I get home.

Update: this is a fascinating expansion of the Echo’s capabilities!

It was interesting to me that I couldn’t connect the Echo to my Google calendar until I was home with the Echo. That makes some sense, but I would have guessed I could do it through the app without needing the Echo…apparently not true.

Also interesting: it knew my Google account (I didn’t have to enter it), even though the e-mail address is not the one I use with Amazon. I suspect it took the information from my phone. I actually have two different Google accounts with different e-mail addresses (I use one for home, one for work), and it picked my home one.

Setting that up was easy, and it was ready to go.

Sure, hearing my appointment is nice, but here’s the thing: this allows me to send things from outside of the Echo to the Echo.

My Significant Other and I could agree that, say, 7:47 is a time we used not actually for appointments, but for communications.

I could then set up an appointment for 7:47 and call it, “I’ll be working late…please feed the dogs, and I’ll miss you.” Then, my SO could say to Alexa, “What’s on my calendar for 7:47?” and the Echo would give that message.

This is just the beginning…much more to come. I think we will get the ability to add things to the Google calendar verbally, but again, that’s only the tip of the iceberg.

Bonus story:

Have to give you something on books, right?😉

Here are some recent price drops (found through http://www.ereaderiq.com/drops/

  • Dune Messiah by Frank Herbert: $4.50 (41% off)
  • Waiting for Morning (Forever Faithful Book 1) by Karen Kingsbury: $6.63 (34% off)
  • Gossip Girl #7: Nobody Does It Better: A Gossip Girl Novel by Cecily von Ziegesar: $5.49 (39% off)
  • Overrated: Are We More in Love with the Idea of Changing the World Than Actually Changing the World? by Eugene Cho: $3.90 (61% off)
  • Murder on the Champ de Mars (An Aimée Leduc Investigation Book 15) by Cara Black: $9.78 (35% off)

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

6 Responses to “Echo now connects to Google calendar”

  1. Harold Delk Says:

    Tested earlier and it works fine. If asking what’s on my cal it gives current day and next twelve. May also ask for specific dates or time and date. If all day event it will tell you something like, “Recycle paper all day.” We recycle paper and plastic on alternate weeks on Mondays so makes it easy to remember which to put out at curb. Tuesday the milkman delivers (yes, we still have milk delivery from a local dairy) and we set a calendar event to remind us to put out the order and the empty bottles the night before. Milkman has code to garage door and puts milk, butter, eggs, etc. in the fridge well before dawn. I was up one morning and showed him the Echo; he thought it was the “coolest” thing he’d ever seen … I told him that living somewhere that still has milk delivery was “cooler.”

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Harold!

      I love your last line!

      I also appreciate the “all day” information. I just haven’t tested that yet. I have a recurring event to remind me to give the dogs their monthly medications. They love them, by the way! They really hated the topical flea med: now they take oral meds and they seem to work.🙂

  2. rogerknights Says:

    I have the same feeling you do about Echo (and that we both did when the first Kindle came out)–that this is something big.

    I suspect Steve Jobs would have vetoed this if it had been presented to him. And I suspect it was. It’s not that hard to imagine–the insight was in seeing its value as a stand-alone device.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, rogerknights!

      I can’t take credit for thinking the Kindle would be big initially. I knew about e-books, and seriously underestimated them. Amazon made a big difference by making them wireless…and making it easy to use.

      Would Steve Jobs have declined the Echo? I’m not sure about that…I think the line around the top of the “canister” would have been eliminated😉 but I think it’s pretty elegant. Apples had text-to-speech early on…I think this might have appealed.

      I think the Echo will be a big story this year…and that there will be a new segment of consumer devices because of it. Competition will be good!

      One tact Apple or other competitors could use: an “always on” dock for the SmartPhone. Come home, stick your iPhone into a dock with Echo like microphones…what would stop that from equaling or surpassing the Echo?

  3. Donald T. Marion Says:

    What is the Echo?

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Donald!

      The Echo is Amazon’s “ambient computing” device. What that means is that you have access to computer functions without having so significantly separate yourself from what you are doing…in the same way that “ambient lighting” has an impact, but you shouldn’t really be aware of engaging with it.

      Computing functions, in this case, are somewhat limited…but the way that we interact with it is groundbreaking for the home.

      If you are familiar with the computer in the original Star Trek series, you can compare it to that. I simply ask questions verbally…it hears me quite well, anywhere in the room.

      It’s perhaps primarily a Bluetooth speaker, but that’s not the real fun.🙂

      I can ask what the weather is going to be, hear my calendar events, add things to a shopping list, listen to a vast array of music, and ask general questions…even have fun with pop culture and jokes.

      You may want to look at some of the other articles in my Echo category for more information:

      https://ilmk.wordpress.com/category/amazon-echo/

Leave a Reply

