Monthly Kindle Deals for $3.99 or less each: June 2015

Monthly Kindle Deals for $3.99 or less each: June 2015

Amazon does the Kindle Daily Deal (at AmazonSmile…benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*), which discounts (usually) four books a day (often general fiction, a romance, a science fiction/fantasy book, and a kids’ book).

They’ve also been doing Monthly Kindle Book Deals for $3.99 or less each) (at AmazonSmile). That’s a rebranding: they used to say it was “100 Books”, but that’s also gotten to be more…there are 231 for this month at the time of writing (ninety-two more than last month…it has been trending upwards, a huge skyrocket of a jump!).

Those prices only apply to the USA, and one weird thing is that some of the books seem to sell out at that price sometimes (or become unavailable for some other reason).

It’s also interesting…about 50% of the books in the USA Kindle store are $3.99 or less (1,754,330 of 3,533,257). Still, these are on sale, and that’s worth something. :)

Another thing is that many of these books may be part of

Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

Amazon lists that information prominently. If they are, then you need to consider whether it is worth buying them…even at these low prices. While they are in KU, you can, if you are a subscriber (and there’s a free month available right now), read them at no additional cost. There are, of course, advantages to owning books, especially if you want to re-read them. A book could move out of KU at any time. Even if you think you want to own it, if you are a KU member, you could always read it first to make sure.😉 I will mark them with KU.

Oh, interesting! I see they are now also clearly marking when a book is available through the KOLL (Kindle Owners’ Lending Library)! That’s nice…there was a period of time when it was quite hard to tell. Eligible Prime members can borrow one per calendar month. If you are both a Prime member and a Kindle Unlimited subscriber (like me), I think you are more likely to get them through KU (where you can have up to ten at a time out, with no limit per month), but I’m sure I have many readers who are Prime members and don’t subscribe to KU. I’ll mark those with KOLL.

I’m going to list some of the $3.99 or lower ones that caught my eye…I’m not necessarily recommending them, but I do think they are interesting.

The ones I link (if I actually link to specific books) also don’t block text-to-speech access**…but I think blocking it is becoming rarer.

  • Rendezvous with Rama by Arthur C. Clarke: a science fiction classic, 4.4 stars out of 5 with 697 customer reviews for $1.99…also on KU
  •  A Drink Before the War (Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro Book 1) by Dennis Lehane
  • Multiple books (including the first one) in the Witching Savannah series by J.D. Horn: also KU
  • Blindsided (Sisterhood Book 22) by Fern Michaels
  • A Bollywood Affair by Sonali Dev
  • Hello Love by Karen McQuestion
  • A Passage to India (RosettaBooks Into Film) by E.M. Forster…$1.99
  • The Amish Bride of Ice Mountain (The Amish of Ice Mountain Series Book 1) by Kelly Long
  • Close Your Eyes by Iris Johansen and Roy Johansen
  • Queen of the Night: A Novel of Suspense (Walker Family Mysteries Book 4) by J. A. Jance
  • Mistakes Can Kill You: A Collection of Western Stories by Louis L’Amour
  • The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy and Todd Harris
  • Sounder by William H. Armstrong and James Barkley: award-winning children’s book…I sold many copies as a brick-and-mortar bookstore manager…$1.99
  • Zombie War: An account of the zombie apocalypse that swept across America by Nicholas Ryan
  • Lovecraft’s Monsters by Neil Gaiman and Ellen Datlow
  • December 6: A Novel by Martin Cruz Smith
  • Spelling Trouble (The Misadventures of Salem Hyde Book 1) by Frank Cammuso
  • Exquisite Corpse by Poppy Z. Brite
  • Avengers: Absolute Vision – Book One by John Byrne and Bill Mantlo
  • The End of the World: Stories of the Apocalypse by Neil Gaiman and George R. R. Martin: double check those two names! Also KU
  • The Sweetest Dream by Doris Lessing
  • The Wild Girls (Outspoken Authors Book 6 by Ursula K. Le Guin
  • Professor Whiskerton Presents Steampunk ABC by Lisa Falkenstern

If there were others you’d like to mention for me and my readers, please comment on this post.

Prime members, don’t forget to pick up your

Kindle First books (at AmazonSmile*)

You can get one of the four books to own (not borrow) for free…these are books which will be actually released next month. The choices this month are:

  • A Dark Lure by Loreth Anne White (psychological thriller)
  • Bum Rap by Paul Levine (legal thriller)
  • The Perfect Son by Barbara Claypole White (contemporary fiction)
  • Darkness Brutal (The Dark Cycle Book 1) by Rachel A. Marks (urban fantasy)

People like to know which one I pick…right now, it’s between The Perfect Son and Darkness Brutal. The reviews for The Perfect Son may trump the genre of Darkness Brutal. Not quite sure, yet.🙂

Enjoy!

 Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

** A Kindle with text-to-speech can read any text downloaded to it…unless that access is blocked by the publisher inserting code into the file to prevent it. That’s why you can have the device read personal documents to you (I’ve done that). I believe that this sort of access blocking disproportionately disadvantages the disabled, although I also believe it is legal (provided that there is at least one accessible version of each e-book available, however, that one can require a certification of disability). For that reason, I don’t deliberately link to books which block TTS access here (although it may happen accidentally, particularly if the access is blocked after I’ve linked it). I do believe this is a personal decision, and there  are legitimate arguments for purchasing those books. 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

2 Responses to “Monthly Kindle Deals for $3.99 or less each: June 2015”

  1. Lady Galaxy Says:

    For people who like hard boiled mysteries with a strong female lead character, I can recommend “Sworn to Silence” by Linda Castillo. It’s the first in the Kate Burkholder series. Kate grew up Amish but left after a violent episode in her past. She is now Chief of Police in the area where she grew up. Word of warning: Despite being set in Amish country, it contains strong language and graphic violence, so it’s not for everybody. My only complaint is that when the author is using first person narration, she writes in present tense which annoys me in novels. I’ve come to learn that I’m not alone in this idiosyncrasy. [Yes, I realize I am also writing in present tense, but that is the tense I was taught to use for book reviews.]

    I “second” your recommendation of Sounder by William Armstrong. It is a Newberry Medal novel, which indicates it was intended for children, but it is a book for all ages. Those who read it as children will find much more meaning when reading it again with adult eyes.

  2. Tom Semple Says:

    I got the Oliver North offering in the Monthly Deal, “Mission Compromised”, only 99 cents. Thought it might be interesting given his background and some would say, notoriety. However it is not going at the front of my reading queue so I don’t expect to read it any time soon. Such is the fate of many of my ‘Deal’ purchases, I’m afraid.

    One reason I’m a KU subscriber is to have more support to resist Deals, since most of these are available in KU and in theory I can read them for free any time I want. Overall, I think $9.99/mo is less than what I used to spend on Deals, and I really enjoy the flexibility to explore.

    I think I’ve mentioned this before but TTS blocking does not affect reading when platform Accessibility features (Screen Reader, VoiceOver, TalkBack) are enabled. Kindle apps have exemplary support for Accessibility features, at least on Fire, iOS, Mac OS, and Android. So Amazon is aligned with the interests of readers who require (or just desire) accessible text, and against publishers who would otherwise deny them this access.

Leave a Reply

