The most reviewed Amazon devices

The most reviewed Amazon devices

There are a lot of things you can say (and think) about Amazon product reviews.

Might some of them be from “sock puppets” (fake people created by the product manufacturer to write good reviews)?

Sure.

Could some reviews by for political purposes…say something is bad when really, you disagree with the philosophy of it or its creator?

Absolutely.

Might some be compensated without the review reader’s knowledge?

Undoubtedly.

However,  I think that many, most likely the majority, of reviews are from people sincerely giving their opinions.

Actually, that doesn’t matter much when doing a comparison of the number of reviews of similar products. It seems likely that the noise to signal ratio is going to be similar for similar products.

When we are talking about Amazon hardware, though, we do need to take into account that they cover more than a seven year period, so it may be reasonable to assume that the general evolution of customer reviewing has an impact. My guess is that more recently introduced items might have more reviews for that reason.

With all of that taken into account, I still think that looking at the number of reviews for Amazon hardware can give us an indicator of customer engagement.

I think that more reviews suggests more engagement with the device.

I have been absolutely shocked at the number of reviews that the Amazon Echo has gotten in a time period which is less than two days: 16, 371 a time of writing!

There are different circumstances here, since only people who got an invitation could get the device directly from Amazon (some people bought them off eBay and that kind of thing), but this still seems huge!

Here are the number of reviews for other current Amazon hardware:

  1. Fire TV Stick: 43,379
  2. Kindle Paperwhite 2: 41,872
  3. Kindle Keyboard (Kindle 3): 42,733
  4. Amazon Fire TV: 29,415
  5. Kindle Fire HDX 7: 28,700
  6. Fire HD 7: 26.467
  7. Kindle Fire 1st generation: 23,722
  8. Kindle Paperwhite 1: 21,587
  9. Fire HD 6:  18,480
  10. Kindle 2: 18,260
  11. Amazon Echo: 16,371
  12. Kindle Fire 2nd generation: 14,289
  13. Mindle (my name for the fifth generation Kindle): 13,688
  14. Kindle Touch: 9,199
  15. Mindle Touch (my name for the current “entry level” Kindle): 9,197
  16. Kindle 1: 8,011
  17. Fire HD Kids Edition: 7,548
  18. Fire Phone: 7,231
  19. Kindle Voyage: 5,554
  20. Kindle DX: 5,272
  21. Kindle Fire HDX  8.9: 4,604

Update: I’ve added non-current models, and integrated them above.

I have to say, I found myself nodding in confirmation at some of the order above.

Clearly, there is some correlate with price. The least expensive item is at the top, pretty much (configurations matter) the most expensive at the bottom…but that isn’t a through line.

Numbers 1, 2, 4, and 5? I use those every day. Number 21? Yes, probably my least favorite one that I owned (it was quite big…mine was stolen in a home break-in, but I had it long enough to understand it pretty well).

The Echo is going to jump way up: remember, it hasn’t even been released to the general public yet.

It’s possible that I’ve missed something above, and I don’t have all the shadings, but I am finding it an interesting ranking!

What do you think? Does number of reviews even matter? If it does, is it a measurement of customer engagement in any way? Would you say that the rankings reflect in any way how much you engaged with these devices? Is the number of Echo reviews so skewed by the roll-out methodology that it is hyper-inflated…or deflated? Will the Echo become part of people’s lives, or is this mostly due to early customers being Prime members (and presumably, more aligned with Amazon)? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

7 Responses to “The most reviewed Amazon devices”

  1. Brad Bradsher Says:

    I cannot find the Echo page on which to review the item. Got my Echo from Amazon about 2 weeks ago.

  2. Brian Hartman Says:

    Hey Bufo! It’s been a while since I added something here (or to the Elephants for that matter.) I don’t really post online anymore, but make no mistake, I read your blog on my K3 every day.

    This isn’t about Kindle but you write about other devices too so I thought I’d ask you about the Amazon Dash. Have you used it? The term life-changing gets thrown around a bit loosely, but this was for my family.

    AmazonFresh started delivering to my part of NJ about 2 months ago. I have arthritis in my knees and back (and shoulder…etc…) and as a stay home Dad, doing the grocery shopping was pleasant but sometimes painful.

    Well, the day has finally come where I order milk from Amazon! And ice cream. And frozen pizza–in short, everything I got is now available through AmazonFresh. Tons of organic stuff, too. I can’t recomment it enough.

    I was invited to try AmazonDash and I love it. I showed the family how to used it–as I said, it’s life-changing. It works kind of like the FireTV remote in that you can speak the name of a grocery item into it and it will add it to your shopping list. You can also scan bar codes.Best of all, it was free. After I got the email about it, it showed up as a free addition to my next AmazonFresh order. I get two orders a week, we stay in stock, and for now, it’s a part of Prime with no additional shipping fee. I always put a tip on the order.

    I won’t take up more of your time, but if you want to know more, feel free to email me. I will say that I had reservations about ordering things like frozen food, milk, yogurt, cheese, but no longer. The people who deliver are friendly, quick, polite and very professional. I love the one-hour delivery window.

    Anyway, just another device (should I say weapon?) in Amazons arsenal.

    As always, yours is the first blog I read on my K3 every day, keep up the excellent work.

    -Brian

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Brian!

      I appreciate you being a reader…and the kind words!

      Yes, I have ended up covering Amazon, Kindles, and e-books/publishing, so the AmazonDash fits it.

      I haven’t seen one, and don’t that much about it, so I thank you for your field report!

      The Echo can do part of that (adding things to a shopping list), and may eventually be able to do more. It doesn’t have “eyes” right now, but I do think that could happen, maybe with a secondary scanning station.

      I did ask for the buttons, but I don’t think I was offered the actual AmazonDash. Looks like people can ask for one here:

      https://fresh.amazon.com/dash/

      I think the use of it is geographically limited, though, and although we are are in the San Francisco Bay Area, we aren’t in the City.

  3. Brian Hartman Says:

    This is just a quick clarification. I’m not referring to the little things with logos on them but to the AmazonDash that looks like a remote.

    https://fresh.amazon.com/dash/

    Thanks again, -B

  4. Edward Boyhan Says:

    Beyond total # of reviews, the actual ratings that are given to products is important.

    I just came across this article:
    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2486445,00.asp?mailing_id=1287240&mailing=DailyNews&mailingID=99CE39CD6181690864910C7F217A6DE4
    which talks about Amazon changing its product rating system (as of last Friday). They are no longer going to average star ratings, rather they are going to a weighted system where different kinds of reviews will be given greater weight (the article explains this in more detail).

    Amazon hopes this system will be more “useful/valid”, and will maybe help to reduce bogus reviews.

    One thing I’ve noticed in a lot of H/W product reviews is a “U” shaped review distribution: a lot of 4&5 stars, not so many 2&3 star reviews, and then a noticeable uptick in 1 star reviews. A lot of the “bad” reviews will have some kind of “anodyne” response from the manufacturer.

    I don’t see this review pattern so much with books.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thank for writing, Edward!

      Yes, I flipped an article about that into my Flipboard magazine…not sure if it was that specific article. I might write something about it here, but I do want to understand it better first.

Leave a Reply

