July 15th is “Prime Day”: will there be deals on Kindles?

July 15th is “Prime Day”: will there be deals on Kindles?

Members of

Amazon Prime (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

get a lot of benefits.

For $99 a year in the USA, we get

  • Free two-day shipping on many items
  • Prime Music
  • Prime Video
  • One free book a month from a select set, before they are published, to keep (Kindle First books (at AmazonSmile*))
  • One book a calendar month to borrow (from the Kindle Owners’ Lending Library…you also need to have a Kindle or a Fire)
  • Prime Early Access
  • Prime Now (in a few cities)
  • Reduced one-day shipping on some items

and others.

There’s no question that Prime is a major focus for Amazon, at least as far as the retail part of the business goes.

Those benefits cost Amazon money, but since Prime members reportedly buy more (and they buy those higher margin physical items, what I call “diapers and windshield wipers”), it’s worth it.

This July 15th (a  week from Wednesday) is

Prime Day (at AmazonSmile*)

It’s exclusive for PrimeMembers, and is supposed to have more deals than Black Friday (the day after Thanksgiving, one of the biggest retail days of the year in the USA).

There will be thousands of deals, and some will likely sell out in seconds.

I fully expect that there will be deals on Amazon hardware…this might be a good time for them to do a blow-out on the Kindle Paperwhite 2, for example, since they have just released a new version.  I could see it going down to under $70.

Fire tablets? Sure, discounts on some, I would think.

What about other hardware, like the

Amazon Echo (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

?

I think that’s possible, although I wouldn’t expect the $99 price that Prime members paid for it pre-release. Maybe they would throw in the voice remote, or offer a reduced bundle? I would expect that would be a short term deal.

On the other hand, I would guess there would be a day-long deal on Kindle books.

Oh, and there is a contest where you could win $10,000 in Amazon gift cards! You submit a picture of yourself showing what “Prime Living” means to you. The details are here:

https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/primephotocontest/ref=amb_link_435893562_2</>

There will be one winner from each of these countries:

Austria, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Spain, the United Kingdom, The United States

If you are a Prime member, I’d try to check it out a week from Wednesday.

If you aren’t…you might consider joining.🙂 They do have a free one-month trial…and that will qualify.

Update:  I should have mentioned that this is in honor of the Amazon’s 20th “birthday” (which is the following day, July 16th). That’s not the day Amazon started, it’s the day they went online.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

11 Responses to “July 15th is “Prime Day”: will there be deals on Kindles?”

  1. Tom Semple Says:

    I am Primed to buy a Voyage if there is a deal on those.

  2. Zebras Says:

    Go figure, I’m moving that day! No much chance to look for deals!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Zebras!

      Maybe you can delegate to someone else? Keep a family member busy?🙂

  3. Lady Galaxy Says:

    The local consumer reporter recommended that folks search through Amazon prior to July 15 and put things they’d like to get on their “Wish List” and then check that wish list frequently on July 15 for major price reductions.

  4. Best reviewed Kindle Paperwhite covers | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] Fun and information about the Kindle and the world of e-books « July 15th is “Prime Day”: will there be deals on Kindles? […]

  5. alanchurch Says:

    Is the screen for the voyage and pw3 the Same? I compared the voyage and pw2 and Voyage is MUCH better. Mostly brighter-easier to read . Can’t go back to pw2. Have to have voyage or pw3. Comments?

  6. Lady Galaxy Says:

    While browsing through the MP3 music, I discovered that If you play a song, playlist or station from Prime Music on Prime Day, you will be entered into a drawing for gift cards ranging from $1000 up to $25,000.

    The link is supersized. I hope it doesn’t make this page explode.

    “Fire in the hole!!!!”

    http://www.amazon.com/b/ref=dm_PJPNA_detail_ilm_july6?ie=UTF8&node=11695868011&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=cp-merchandising-top&pf_rd_r=1JBG8X5Q7VNGA1GTKF1V&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_p=2128449182&pf_rd_i=B00IK3OYBU

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      That’s been in heavy rotation of my Kindle Fire.🙂 I expect I’ll qualify when I ask my Echo to play something on Prime Day.😉 Unfortunately, I have a heavy work schedule that day, so I’m fnot sure what I’ll see.

      It wouldn’t surprise me if they also do some interesting promotion on Prime Video.

      This could be a big deal!

  7. $49 for FHD6: check your e-mail | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] July 15th is “Prime Day”: will there be deals on Kindles? […]

  8. Round up #301: the value of reading, literate robots | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] July 15th is “Prime Day”: will there be deals on Kindles? […]

Leave a Reply

