Best reviewed Kindle Paperwhite covers

Best reviewed Kindle Paperwhite covers

One of the nice things about the three generations of the

All-New Kindle Paperwhite, 6″ High-Resolution Display (300 ppi) with Built-in Light, Wi-Fi – Includes Special Offers (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

is that the dimensions have been the same…so any Kindle Paperwhite cover fits any Paperwhite.

Personally, we like and use a relatively inexpensive brand:

Fintie Paperwhite covers (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

The covers are reasonably sturdy, and they have a nice variety of patterns and colors. For us, it’s also important that they aren’t animal leather…not everybody cares about that, of course, but that’s a choice we make.

The Fintie coves certainly aren’t poorly reviewed, but I wanted to look at the best reviewed Paperwhite covers on Amazon.

On Prime Day

July 15th is “Prime Day”: will there be deals on Kindles?

my guess is that there will be a sale (although it may be short lived) on Paperwhites…probably the Paperwhite 2, the model I use every day, but we’ll see.

Might be nice to have an idea what cover you want before then.🙂

Paperwhite covers by average customer review (at AmazonSmile*)

Amazon may show you several variations of the same thing as separate clickables on that page, but if multiple items have the exact same (substantial) number of customer reviews, I’m going to count them as one item:

  1. Amazon’s own cover | 4.7 stars out of 5  | 13,700 customer reviews | $39.99
  2. Verso Prologue cover | 4.6 stars | 1,623 reviews | $34.99
  3. Leslie Hsu PUNCHCASE | 4.6 stars | 94 reviews | $37.99
  4. Jonathan Adler | 4.4 stars | 316 reviews | $29.99
  5. Hello Kitty | 4.6 stars | 63 reviews| $34.99
  6. Caseable Paris cover | 4.7 stars | 20 reviews | currently unavailable
  7. Built NY | 4.7 stars | 15 reviews | currently unavailable
  8. Marblue Vassen | 4.5 stars | 160 reviews | only available used
  9. Caseable It’s in the Water | 4.9 stars | 11 reviews | $24.99
  10. Otterbox Defender | 4.2 stars | 246 reviews | $69.95

Interesting!

Well, it appears that being well reviewed doesn’t mean you can stay in business.🙂 That’s not necessarily what not being currently available means, but that part is intriguing.

I didn’t really know Jonathan Adler or Leslie Hsu, but I do like the look of both of them.

One thing I do prefer in covers for my Kindles: “auto-wake”. That means that when you open the cover (usually like a book), the Kindle wakes up…close it, and it goes back to sleep. I just find that both convenient and reminiscent of a p-book (paperbook). I didn’t need to use a power switch on a p-book either.😉

What do you think? Are there covers you’ve liked? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

16 Responses to “Best reviewed Kindle Paperwhite covers”

  1. Carolyn perreau Says:

    Love my kindle keyboard with built in light. When it dies I will get a paperwhite

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Carolyn!

      Hopefully, that’s some time away, so you can wait to see what is available at that time. Who knows, the Paperwhite may be old hat by that point.🙂

      I’m not quite sure what you have now, based on what you are saying. What is commonly called the Kindle Keyboard (AKA the Kindle 3) does not have a built-in light. It’s possible you have a cover with a light? The first Kindle with a built-in light was…the Paperwhite (we are now on the third generation of that, and the Voyage also has a built-in light).

  2. Edward Boyhan Says:

    On my PW2 I have the Amazon leather cover in persimmon. It’s about 15 months old, and the leather is showing some wear (a bit of peeling — nothing too obvious — I usew my PW2

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Edward!

      Right…I don’t expect my covers to stay in mint condition, so a little wear and tear is reasonable.

  3. Edward Boyhan Says:

    Sorry, on new computer — previous post in error — not finished😦.

    On my PW2 I have the Amazon leather cover in persimmon. It’s about 15 months old, and the leather is showing some wear (a bit of peeling — nothing too obvious). I use my PW2 for 5-6 hours/day every day so wear & tear is to be expected.

    If I decide to get the PW3, I’ll follow your lead and get a Fintie cover

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Edward!

      I understand about a new computer! We have a fairly new Lenovo laptop, and I find the keyboard quite non-responsive. I’m hoping to find some setting which might make it so I don’t have to pound it like I’m playing Whack-a-Mole! It’s really slowed down my typing.

  4. Tom Semple Says:

    I have never been strongly tempted to get a cover for my Paperwhite. With previous models there was some incentive to get a ‘lighted cover’ and I did that for my Kindle Touch and Keyboard. The Keyboard seems a little fragile, and the Touch is a little slippery in the hand without one. But the Paperwhite does not need an external light, is comfortable to hold, and the screen surface is scratch resistant. A cover just adds unnecessary weight and bulk IMO.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tom!

      I like having a cove for a few reasons:

      * Auto-wake and sleep
      * Drop protection (if it falls on a corner, a cover can help take up the shock)
      * Pet protection: we’ve had more than one cover chewed by a pet, protecting the device. We know that’s our fault, of course
      * Dust protection

      I’d say those are the main things.

  5. MightyH Says:

    I just really really really like Amazons leather cover for the Voyage. It just feels really good in the hand, high quality, soft leathery puppy dog ear feel. Like a good book you are reading for the 3rd or 4th time.

  6. Zebras Says:

    I use my Mindle au natural. I have a quilted sleeve style case to protect it when not in use. I just remembered that when I move next week, new bedroom has hardwood floor, and I don’t yet have a rug for the room, and my Mindle falls out of my hand a lot when I fall asleep, I better put a throw rug down in the meantime, to cushion it, or I will be Kindle shopping myself!

  7. Phink Says:

    I really like these. I have 3 paperwhites and use Kindle’s cover and this one as well. They are both really nice but the MoKo is much cheaper and does have auto awake/asleep.

    http://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DHC2B9G?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_search_detailpage

  8. rlh268 Says:

    I was surprised that the OMOTON case wasn’t in your search results. It’s thin, sturdy, great fit, and cheap. 4.8 stars with nearly 4000 reviews.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, rlh268!

      As of July 1st, Amazon’s averages of reviews aren’t straight averages…they are weighted. We don’t even know the formula for how they are weighted (although it may be that more recent reviews are worth more). For more information on that, see

      https://ilmk.wordpress.com/2015/06/25/round-up-300-best-books-books-on-buses/

      So, at this point, I can’t be surprised by pretty much any search result based on average customer review, since I don’t know what that means.🙂

  9. Val Says:

    I have had an omotron case for almost a year. I like many things about it – compact, light, has sleep/wake function. Easy to slip into a bag or large pocket. Nice color options, and has a little texture to the surface. I don’t recall if it’s leather or not, maybe be faux leather. I’m looking for a new case however, because it is so small that there is not much room to hold on to it. My hand gets a little cramped if I’ve been reading for a while. There is nothing that keeps the cover latched, so at times I think it can wake the kindle inadvertently, but most of the time it’s fine.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Val!

      PU leather “bicast leather” can contain animal-derived leather…I think it might always contain it, I’m not entirely clear on it.

      Fortunately, there are a lot of choices.🙂

Leave a Reply

