Prime Day is here! Kindle deals and more

Prime Day is here! Kindle deals and more

See yesterday’s post for how to

Get the most out of Prime Day

For the shortcut, go here:

Prime Day (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

I did want to mention some specifics at 6:00 AM Pacific…six hours into Prime Day:

  • 68% claimed: Kindle (the entry level model), as low as $49 ($30 off)
  • 49% claimed: Fire HD7 as low as $79 ($60 off)
  • 89% claimed: Fire HD7 Kids Edition as low as $129 ($60 off)

There are a total of 431 items right now…and there are 705 Upcoming Prime-Exclusive Deals.

I’m seeing some items which have sold out.

If you aren’t a Prime member, you can get a month free and take advantage of these deals.

Update: Amazon has a press release with some figures…yes, surpassing Black Friday. 4000 Echoes sold in 15 minutes…

http://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20150715006488/en/

Update: one of the best deals on Prime Day is

Kindle Unlimited Prime Day (at AmazonSmile*)

This is Amazon’s subser (subscription service…”all you can read” for a flat monthly fee). I’m a happy member of KU, and have been since the beginning.

Today only, Prime members only, can get a pre-paid plan at a significant discount!

These are the prices (in the USA):

  • 6 Months: $59.94 – Now $44.95
  • 12 Months: $119.88 – Now $80.32
  • 24 Months: $239.76 – Now $143.86

That last one works out to about $5.99 a month!

If you are already a member, here is some information for you:

  • Customers who are on a monthly plan and have previously purchased a pre-paid plan that is currently associated with their account and customers who have purchased multiple pre-paid plans that are currently associated with their accounts are not eligible.
  • Existing Kindle Unlimited subscribers with monthly memberships who have not previously purchased a pre-paid plan are eligible for this promotion. For those subscribers who choose to participate, automatic renewals will be temporarily suspended for the duration of the monthly package purchased and will automatically restart at its conclusion

You can gift a KU membership…and this would be a great gift.

For more information on KU (including the more than one million titles in the USA store), see

ILMK Kindle Unlimited posts

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

16 Responses to “Prime Day is here! Kindle deals and more”

  1. Harold Delk Says:

    Tried to buy a second Echo; deal popped up at $129 at 0% claimed, clicked on it and two minutes later a message told me I was on the wait list as deal was sold out.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Harold!

      After a while, they locked the Wait List, too. You might still get one at that price, I think.

  2. Tom Semple Says:

    Kindle Unlimited is discounted today up to 40% if you sign up for 6/12/24 months.

    • Albert Yang Says:

      Keep in mind that you don’t get a refund on any unused portion of the KU subscription plan if you cancel in the middle of it.

    • Albert Yang Says:

      Oops. Unlike regular KU subscriptions, you CAN get a refund for the unused portion of a KU Prime Day subscription.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tom!

      Yes, I think that might have been the best deal of the day!

      It’s the only thing I bought, although my Significant Other bought a few things (gifts, mostly).

  3. Tom Semple Says:

    The $50 Echo discount went fast. Fire HD6 sale just started. HDX? Paperwhite? Voyage? We’ll see.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tom!

      Yes…4,000 Echoes in fifteen minutes, Amazon said. That’s about…4.5 per second, I think.

  4. Tania Marshall Says:

    They got me. I had been hesitating about Kindle Unlimited since I use the Navy Library which has an amazing selection and availability. Today’s sale of 40% off with the 24 month subscription comes out to $5.99 a month, including a lot with audio. Happily adding to my library.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tania!

      I think you’ll enjoy it! I also still think we’ll see at least one tradpub’s backlist in there this year…my guess is that it will become increasingly valuable over your two years.

  5. Edward Boyhan Says:

    I’m in the market for a couple of things (a high end router, a powered subwoofer). I’ve been checking throughout the day: nothing appeals.

    Several national and technical media outlets have been writing articles about how Amazon’s prime day is annoying — backed up by tweets of those who don’t find the discounted products compelling, or those who missed out on various lightning deals.

    Ironically, the Washington Post has been one of the mainstream outlets running aggressive stories of this ilk: owned by none other than Jeff Bezos (:grin).

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Edward!

      I think that’s another example of the techies not getting Amazon’s appeal…the same thing was true of their reaction to the Kindle, in my opinion. They want Amazon to be Apple: it’s not. It’s far more populist.

  6. Tania Marshall Says:

    Oh happy day! I got my 2nd Echo the 1st day it became available to the general public. I wasn’t happy when I saw it was on sale for $50 less than what I paid for it less than 2 weeks ago. I sent customer service an email and they have credited my account to reflect the sale price. Only at Amazon.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tania!

      Yay!

      Amazon typically gives people the difference if the price goes down during your return period…which just makes sense to me.🙂 I believe usually do have to request it…

  7. “A dime at a time”: why does Amazon limit us to ten borrows at a time with Kindle Unlimited? | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] Prime Day […]

Leave a Reply

