Amazon’s “Quick Fixes” for Kindle

Amazon’s “Quick Fixes” for Kindle

While  I think Amazon’s Kindle Support is marvelous, and that the on-screen help on some Fire models (including the Fire phone) called Mayday is one of the great advancements in Customer Service in my lifetime, I don’t think the Amazon Help pages are that impressive.

I always find it a bit hard to get to what I want…and when I get there, the information can be…skimpy.

I find it much more effective to actually speak with someone at Amazon, by going to

http://www.amazon.com/kindlesupport (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

and using the

Contact Us

button to have them call me.

You do have the advantage of asking me😉 but sometimes, I even do “ask myself”. I’ve been writing this blog for close to six years, and I can’t always remember what I’ve said, especially in regards to older Kindle models  I don’t use any more. So, on occasion, I do go the blog and search for things…things which I wrote.

However, I do want to mention this Kindle Help page to you:

Quick Fixes for Your Kindle (at AmazonSmile*)

It applies to the Kindle Voyage, Kindle Paperwhite 2nd Generation, Kindle Paperwhite (7th Generation), and Kindle (7th Generation).

The help topics are:

Restart Your Kindle
Battery Won’t Stay Charged
Can’t Connect to Wi-Fi
Forgot Kindle Passcode
Content Won’t Download
Content Won’t Sync
Book Won’t Open
Reset Your Kindle

Let’s just take the “Forgot Kindle Password” topic. Amazon says

  1. Tap the passcode field to bring up the onscreen keyboard.
  2. Type 111222777, and then tap OK. Your Kindle will restart.

This will wipe everything off the Kindle…but if you can’ remember your passcode you’ll have do something.

I’ll admit: I don’t always remember that  number offhand, and restarting hasn’t been the same on every model (we had to use a paperclip to push a button, after sliding the back cover off a Kindle 1).

Amazon has very highly rated Customer Service…and they certainly have enough options that you should be able to get help when you need it.

You know, if you don’t want to wait for my answer.😉

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

8 Responses to “Amazon’s “Quick Fixes” for Kindle”

  1. rogerknights Says:

    I think technical writers have a tendency to be terse and formal, and this has carried over to their writing of online Help material, although space is less constrained there. Help section authors should listen to tapes of customer service reps and copyp their content and style.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, rogerknights!

      That’s possible, although I think they may also be trying to optimize for reading on mobile devices, including phones. Short sentences and paragraphs make sense in that case.

      • rogerknights Says:

        In that case there shoud be a “More” button to bring up a longer version.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, rogerknights!

        That would be an option, but it would make the pages considerably more complex and dynamic. They could have a mobile-friendly and desktop version of each page (which I think they already do for shopping). I’m not sure how many resources they dedicate to the help pages, when they dedicate so much to live support.

  2. Dan Barnett Says:

    Hi, Bufo,

    This isn’t about help pages but about help for something ON a page, namely the “tell the publisher you’d like to read this book on a Kindle” link.

    Do you know what information actually gets sent to a publisher? I find myself clicking that link daily for books I’d buy instantly if they were Kindle-ized. Do multiple clicks do any good?

    Finally, it would seem super simple for Amazon to include a checkbox next to every p-book that would notify us when the book comes out in Kindle format. Do you think there’s a business reason for not doing so?

    Some great mysteries of life. Hope you can shed a ray of light!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Dan!
      an
      I don’t think Amazon has ever really said much about what that does, except that they report it.

      I would guess that it’s sophisticated enough to realize the same person is clicking multiple times…hmm…I wonder if you can click on it if you aren’t logged in?

      What I did, years ago, was directly write to the publisher of the p-book (paperbook). There was one specific case (The Ten Cent Plague) where it appeared to have actually worked. Now, though, I think publishers are aware of it…I’m not sure that people clicking on it makes that much of a difference. They aren’t unaware of the opportunity to do an e-book any more, which was the case back then.

      As to the checkbox…I’m not sure that it’s quite as simple as you suggest.🙂 One complication: what if a different publisher publishes the e-book than the p-book (that happen with Open Road, for example)? What if it is published under a different name (Blade Runner and Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep, for example…the novel has been published under both names, after the movie)?

      I suspect that some publishers, who don’t have the e-book rights, might object…while Amazon has, in some high profile instances, clearly been okay with offending publishers, that isn’t the norm.

      Have you listed the book with eReaderIQ?

      http://www.ereaderiq.com/account/watching/

      They’ll send you a free e-mail when the book is Kindleized…

      • Dan Barnett Says:

        Hi, Bufo,

        Thanks for the reminder about ereaderiq.com; I’ve been using it for years now but–funny thing–when it reports a Kindle book that has dropped in price (often one I put on the wish list ages ago), sometimes it’s hard to remember why I actually wanted it!

        You say some wise things about the difficulty of just having a checklist for notifying customers when a book is Kindle-ized.

        Alternatively, I wish each author had a notification page so when a book was added or republished or put on the Kindle then subscribing customers would be notified. Then they could see if some new Kindle version had appeared.

        But some of the authors I checked a day or two ago had no such page; I guess they’re not created automatically? YOU do, so that’s cool!🙂

        Thanks for taking the time to help me think this through!

        Cheerily,

        Dan

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Dan!

        Gee, I always know why I wanted a book…it’s because it’s a book.😉

        That “follow” link is on the Amazon’s Author Central page, and you are correct: that page is an option. I recommend that authors create one: they are free, and are one way to communicate to your readers. Authors, you can start here:

        https://authorcentral.amazon.com/gp/home

        Edited to add: if you are a reader who wants to follow an author, you can stat here:

        Amazon’s “Follow Authors” page (at AmazonSmile)

Leave a Reply

