Dr. Seuss classics: on sale for $1.99 each

Dr. Seuss classics: on sale for $1.99 each

There is a previously unpublished Dr. Seuss book which you can pre-order now for delivery on Tuesday, July 28th:

What Pet Should I Get? (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

This will surely be a big hit…and that will make the second “discovered” book this year that may be a top seller, along with

Go Set a Watchman (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

I guarantee you right now that both tradpubs  (traditional publishers) and authors with their own rights (which may have reverted) are making a much more careful search of old file cabinets.  ;)

No doubt in connection with that, you can get classic Dr.  Seuss books for $1.99 each!

Dr. Seuss Kindle books in the USA store (at AmazonSmile*)

Yes, these are the titles…they include the most popular.

Before I give you a listing, let me point out that they will say that the text-to-speech is not enabled. In a case like this, it won’t be because the publisher has deliberately blocked the text-to-speech access. I’m reasonably confident that it is  because the text is part of the images: TTS can’t access that.

Okay, here are some of the titles:

  • The Cat in the Hat
  • Fox in Socks
  • Oh, the Places You’ll Go!
  • One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish
  • Green Eggs and Ham
  • The Lorax

There are 46 results on that page…that doesn’t mean 46 individual Dr. Seuss books (there is at least one omnibus), and What Pet is still $9.99.

Regardless, this is a great deal! I don’t know how long it will last.

Remember that you can buy these now to give as gifts, and delay delivery until the appropriate gift giving occasion. Oh, the Places You Go is a very popular graduation gift, for example…

Enjoy!

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

6 Responses to “Dr. Seuss classics: on sale for $1.99 each”

  1. Lady Galaxy Says:

    The kid in me is more excited about a new Dr. Seuss book than a new Harper Lee book. My favorite Dr. Seuss book is “My Many Colored Days.” My favorite school project was the year I used that book for Right To Read week. After reading it with the kids grades 2-6, I had each of them write their own colored day story or poem and illustrate it. They really did a great job. Quite a few experimented with the more abstract style of the drawings in the book. Others opted for more realistic drawings. I was so proud of all of them.

    I scanned their illustrations and had them type out their stories or poems on the computer then printed them all out. It was my month to do the display on the hall bulletin board, so I laminated them and put them on display for the whole school to see. After the display came down, I bound them together to make a classroom book.

    Since I don’t have permission to share any of the student work, here’s my own silly contribution to the book.

    My Purple Pink Day

    On a day that’s purple pink
    I’d sit beneath a tree and think
    Of lacy clouds, and flying birds
    Of fairly tales, and rhyming words.
    I’d stay there ‘till the setting sun
    Turned purple pink, and then was gone.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      What a great assignment! I’m sure that’s one of the few that some of your students still remember.

      With my color vision deficiency, that would have been a challenge for me. Hm…as a child, I might have faked it. I would have known some colors which were associated with some emotions. Let’s give this a try now:

      I Told Them That My Day Was Blue

      I told them that my day was blue
      Although I never really knew
      I knew for sure that it was sad
      The saddest day I’d ever had
      But was it blue, cyan, or green?
      I simply don’t know what those mean
      So, sadly, I said it was blue
      And sadder still…I never knew

      That’s just fiction, by the way.🙂 I don’t miss seeing all those colors, although it can be inconvenient at times. I literally had someone send me something at work this week and tell me that their highlights were in cyan.🙂 Fortunately, there are apps (and other technology) that can help, including this free one:

      Colorblind Vision (Free) (at AmazonSmile)

      It identifies colors for me in the environment…so I can hold my Fire Phone up to what I was sent, have it identify cyan for me, and find those changes.🙂

      • Lady Galaxy Says:

        I have a cousin who is color blind but didn’t even know until he got drafted. It didn’t keep him out of the army, but put some specialties out of his reach.

        I like your poem! Blue is my own favorite color. It’s too bad you can’t see it in all its different hues. Blue and green were the most popular choices among the boys with red coming in third. For girls, pink, purple and green were the top choices. I fear I may have influenced them with my pink and purple choice.

        Out of the 37 kids who participated in the booklet, only two chose black. One of the two chose black and white because his black and white day involved his black and white dog named Yappy. His abstract drawing of Yappy was one of the best of the bunch. The other chose black because he was feeling mad, sad and bad.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Lady!

        Yes, my understanding is that you can’t be a commercial pilot if you are entirely colorblind (I’m not), either, since they use color indicators.

        However, I have heard that the military wants colorblind people as spotters, or at least that used to be the case. Apparently, they aren’t as affected by camouflage. I do know I can pick up after the dogs in the grass better than my Significant Other.🙂 Well, at least, I can see them better…my chronic condition makes it harder for me to do the actual pick-up. It’s possible, but harder.

  2. Man in the Middle Says:

    My favorite Dr. Seuss book is “Thidwick, the Big-hearted Moose.” It was not available for Kindle when I bought it in hardbound to read to my grandkids a year or two ago. But it is available for Kindle now, and only $1.99 today, so I ordered a copy for my permanent library of classics. Thanks for the alert!

Leave a Reply

