10 books from my Wish List…and why

10 books from my Wish List…and why

My book buying habits have changed, in part because of

 Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

I’m a happy member of Amazon’s subser (subscription service), but it does make me feel a bit…guilty when I pay for a book outside of that (at least for myself).

There are a lot of books I’d love to read which are not part of KU: at this point, the Big 5 (the biggest publishers of trade books…the ones you would have bought in a bookstore, not things like textbooks) are not participating. I do keep saying that I expect that at least on the Big 5 will put at least some of the backlist titles in KU by the end of the year. We’ll see.🙂

So, what I do is put those books on an Amazon Wish List.

Then, I share it with my family at the holidays.

My Significant Other used to be so happy to find a book I didn’t have. On certain topics, I pretty much bought every title that came out…or that I could get used.

Now, there is my Wish List.

When I look at it, it almost feels like going into a bookstore. I now have over 200 things on my main list (I have several lists for different purposes), although not all of them are books.

A bookstore in an airport might have something like that number…oh, they might have a thousand or so titles. Eventually, e-books and print-on-demand (POD) may really change that experience!

I thought I’d list ten of the books, and tell you what interests me about them.

Note: I am not doing this because I’d like you to get them for me.🙂 I’m going to ask that you not do that:  I want to save that for my family.🙂

You do enough for me just by being readers (and subscribers…thanks, subscribers!).

My Wish List isn’t public, it’s just shared with specific people.  That’s an option at Amazon.

For more information on Wish Lists, see

Wish Lists Amazon help page (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

So, in no particular order, here are ten of the books on my main Wish List:

The Monopolists: Obsession, Fury, and the Scandal Behind the World’s Favorite Board Game
by Mary Pilon
4.2 stars out of 5 | 57 customer reviews

In addition to managing a bookstore, I managed a game store. Games have always been an interest of mine, and I always love the stories behind our pop culture.

The Secret History of Wonder Woman
by Jill Lepore
4.4 stars | 182 reviews

Another look behind pop culture. I already know something about Wonder Woman and the unusual life of the superhero’s creator. This one sounds like an interesting accounting of it. Wonder Woman is amongst my favorite heroes.

Fool Moon (The Dresden Files, Book 2)
by Jim Butcher
4.4 stars | 747 reviews

I’ve seen the TV series and read (and enjoyed) the first of these…I’d like to get further into the book series.

Authorisms: Words Wrought by Writers
by Paul Dickson
4.5 stars | 14 reviews

Another interest of mine: words! Paul Dickson is quite good at this sort of thing.

Heroes in the Night: Inside the Real Life Superhero Movement
by Tea Krulos
4.8 stars | 10 reviews

Yes, this is a real thing. Thee are people who actually wear costumes and fight crime. I’ve seen a documentary about this: fascinating!

Struck by Genius: How a Brain Injury Made Me a Mathematical Marvel
by Jason Padgett, Maureen Ann Seaberg
4.0 stars | 91 reviews

Oh, the human brain! We still don’t understand all that much about how it works. Many people have approached it as thought it were a machine, with different parts performing different functions. It appears that perhaps interactions of multiple features may be crucially important.

Life, Animated: A Story of Sidekicks, Heroes, and Autism (Digital Picture Book)
by Ron Suskind
4.8 stars| 202 reviews

Suskind is a Pulitzer Prize winner whose autistic child communicated through Disney cartoons. I heard an interview: really intriguing!

1177 B.C.: The Year Civilization Collapsed: The Year Civilization Collapsed (Turning Points in Ancient History)
by Eric H. Cline
3.9 stars | 350 reviews

I also like more general history…and again, particularly when it illuminates something other than the surface version of what happened.

Generational Insights
by Cam Marston
4.0 stars | 1 review

I’ve been blown away by Marston’s observations on what were the four generations in the workplace. We actually had a presentation on it at work: that’s how I first encountered it…and I want more (I have already read a book of Marston’s, bu not this one).

Forry: The Life of Forrest J Ackerman
by Deborah Painter
3.5 stars | 10 reviews

I didn’t know Forry, but was personally helped by the editor of Famous Monsters of Filmland. Geek culture might not exist without Uncle Forry (legendarily the first person to ever cosplay at a convention, for one thing). I’m not convinced this a great book, based on the reviews, but I’d still like to read it.

There you go! I’d love to get any of these from my family!

What about you? What sorts of books are on your Amazon Wish Lists? Feel free to tell me and my readers by commenting on this post.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

*When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

10 Responses to “10 books from my Wish List…and why”

  1. Jay Howard Says:

    Hi Bufo,
    It seems “Heroes in the Night: Inside the Real Life Superhero Movement” is now in the KU library. I just checked it out🙂

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Howard!

      Wow! Thanks for telling me!

      I’m going to e-mail Amazon to suggest that they show that a book is available through KU on your Wish List…that might really sell some KU memberships, especially if they link to the gifting page.

      I’ve downloaded it, too…moves to the front of my reading list.🙂

  2. Phink Says:

    I have 26 in my wish list. Two of those are there because of Bufo. A few are listed below.

    Predictably Irrational, Revised and Expanded Edition: The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions by Dan Areily $9.99

    Bufo responded to one of my post by saying he thinks I’d enjoy this book. I agree with him.

    These are the Voyages, TOS Season 1 by Marc Cushman and Susan Osborn $9.95

    Bufo mentioned this book here before. I do not remember the context but that’s when I added it to my list. I am a Star Trek nut but never could get into the first series. For that reason I am skeptical about enjoying this book but I would not mind reading it. I am such a fan of this franchise that when I rode motorcycles (why I only have one leg today) I named all my bikes after Star Trek females. The bike I lost my leg on was named ‘Minuet’. I am also the founding member (and only one LOL) of the Klingon Bikers Association. Yes, I had a patch of course.

    Fanny Hill: Memoirs of a Woman of Pleasure by John Cleland $3.79

    I put this book on my list because it was mentioned in the 7th book of ‘His Majesty’s Dragon’ series. Captain Lawrence found it and talked about how it was banned in the 18th century. That’s all it took for me to be interested. It was not legally published in the US until 1963 if you can believe that. I am worried about the book however as I do not enjoy erotic novels. Well, I’ve never tried one but somehow just know I do not. Plus, I believe the main character is a minor and that’s just creepy to me as well. I have come close to deleting it from my list many times.

    The Oregon Trail by: Rinker Buck $13.99

    I love all things historical and it matters little the time period. I do not know as much about the Oregon trail and westward expansion as I would like to know.

    Mein Kompf by Adolf Hitler

    I’d like to read this but there are so many versions and some say not all are complete. Some might criticize this selection but it’s a sad part of Earth’s history and we need to know our history. Not sure I’d enjoy it but I think it might be important to read someday.

    The Big Bang Theory and Philosophy: Rock, Paper, Scissors, Aristotle, Locke by Dean Kowalski $10.49

    I love this show. The book sounds very interesting and I think I’d enjoy it quite a bit.

    Harry Potter and Philosphy plus The Hunger Games and Philosophy

    A few Monk Books

    If you loved the ‘Monk’ series you will probably love the books. If you hated the series then you will hate the books. I loved the series myself and have read most of the books.

    That’s enough for now. Maybe someone will find something interesting here.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      I’m honored that you have two books I mentioned on your Wish List! It makes me feel like…I can support authors in some way.

      Fanny Hill would be considered a minor in the USA at this point, although not by much in some states, I think. Fanny is 15 at the start of the novel. The church, though, at that point, allowed marriage for females at 12, I believe. It wasn’t that much after Fanny Hill that they raised the age to 16. Hm…I never thought of that before, but I wonder if there might not have been a connection. At any rate, the book was not controversial particularly because of Fanny’s age…

      I’ve read a couple of the X and Philosophy books. Like any collection, some of the essays weren’t as strong as others…but I’d say it was well edited, because some of them were very strong. I remember one in particular discussing whether or not Batman should just kill The Joker when the opportunity is there…

      We loved Monk the TV series! We have one of Lee Goldberg’s Monk books…

      • Phink Says:

        I started re-watching the show ‘The Tudors’ last week. Yesterday I got to the part where Henry the 8th is signing a treaty. He has promised his very young daughter in marriage to the King of whatever country it was. The priest was going over the details before they signed the treaty and said “Mary (the bloody Mary) of course will marry King blah blah blah once she is 12 years old.” I guess by 18 they were old maids back then.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Phink!

        Average life expectancy was pretty short back then, but, as I understand it, that’s partially because of the high rate of infant mortality and death in childbirth (which affects younger people disproportionately).

  3. Lady Galaxy Says:

    I have two Wish Lists. One is for books I’d like to purchase but are currently more expensive than I’d care to pay, and the other is for KU books I’d like to borrow when I finish the current ones. Books used to be my favorite gift as well. You’re lucky to have family members to buy books for you. All the family members with whom I once exchanged gifts are all gone now. It happens to “only children” who never marry or reproduce.😦

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      I have a KU list like that, too! Just makes it easier…

      You may not have reproduced in the traditional sense, but you have clearly influenced a lot of your students (I would have remembered you if you had been one of my teachers), and so part of you lives on in future generations.

  4. Tania Marshall Says:

    I got the Secret History of Wonder Woman for last Christmas. I did not know anything of the creator, just that WW has always been a favorite. This one’s worth the $$

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tania!

      I’m sure it would be a fascinating read! It’s an interesting genesis for a character who as come to represent female empowerment. I’ve wondered what Marston would have thought of the 1970s TV series…and its theme song, in particular.

Leave a Reply

