Amazon device bestsellers: two things more popular than Kindles

Amazon device bestsellers: two things more popular than Kindles

Well, this was interesting!

Amazon has lists of the top 100 bestsellers in a lot of categories.

I’ve never noticed this before, but they have a category specifically for

Amazon Devices Top 100 Bestsellers (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

Are there 100 pieces of Amazon-built hardware?

Absolutely!

There are a lot of varieties of Kindles and Fire tablets, for one thing…but that’s not the only thing.

In fact, the highest rated Kindle or Fire tablet is only number three right now.

Before I reveal which one that is, and where some of the other devices rank, let me just point out…eight years ago, there were no Amazon devices!

Prior to the first Kindle’s release in 2007 (on November 19), there was a lot of skepticism about Amazon introducing any hardware at all.

Amazon was a retailer: not a gadget maker.

The Kindle succeeded, and transformed the then tiny e-book market.

I would guess that now, many people would think of the Kindle as one of the first things that comes to mind when you say “Amazon”.

I was curious as to what was ranked where…and surprised to see two items ranked higher than any Kindle or Fire:

#1 Fire TV Stick (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

#2 Amazon Echo (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

The Fire TV Stick is an inexpensive streaming gadget: we use it in one of the rooms in our house…and we use the full-powered

Amazon Fire TV (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

in the other.

We’re watching the latter right now.

Which Kindle is the top-selling?

All-New Kindle Paperwhite, 6″ High-Resolution Display (300 ppi) with Built-in Light, Wi-Fi – Includes Special Offers (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

I find the ranking fascinating:

  1. Fire TV Stick
  2. Amazon Echo (a relatively expensive nascent technology)
  3. Kindle Paperwhite 3 with Special Offers (the latest Kindle introduced)
  4. Mindle Touch (that’s what I call the 7th generation entry level Kindle…no lighting on this one)
  5. Fire HD 6″ (the least expensive Fire tablet)
  6. Fire HD 7″ with Special Offers
  7. Kindle Paperwhite 3 without Special Offers (the latest Kindle introduced)
  8. Amazon Fire Phone 32GB unlocked
  9. Fire HD 7″ without Special Offers
  10. Certified Refurbished Fire TV Stick

Where’s the top of the line EBR (E-Book Reader), the

Kindle Voyage (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

?

#15.

That’s right: the

Amazon Fire Phone (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

is selling better than the Voyage!

That doesn’t mean the Voyage is selling poorly…#15 is still pretty good.

They had a recent deal on the Fire Phone, which might have bumped it up…but it supports what I have been suggesting…that the Fire Phone isn’t done yet.🙂

I’m still thinking they might find a way to tie especially into the Amazon Echo…although when the Alexa Voice Service starts showing up on other devices (which will happen soon, I believe), it might be harder to make that a selling point.

It’s interesting: there are a bunch of Dash buttons in the top 100. I wouldn’t have thought those were doing much at this point.

None of this suggests any weakness for the Kindle EBRs or for the Fire tablets, in my opinion. It’s just a paradigm shift for me to think of that as not the whole of Amazon’s hardware business…and not even the leading component it of it (based on bestseller rank…more EBRs are sold overall, I’m sure, since there are so many models).

It’s very likely that we’ll see a refresh of the EBR/Fire tablet line announced soon…maybe in September, so not far away.

Of course, with all of this Amazon hardware, we may start seeing an Apple style announcement of lines. We could even start seeing some sort of developer meeting…even a Disney-style D23 type of event. Actually, that could really work!

Amazon could host something in Seattle. They could show off new hardware, have Amazon KDP authors there, have developers of Amazon apps and Alexa Skills, do some international things, maybe show off the Prime Air drones…even Prime Now riders.🙂 Wow, people would really talk about that! It could also counter some bad publicity, by letting people get behind the curtain a bit, and showing happy employees.

I would totally want to go!

What do you think? Surprised by the rankings? Do you think of the Kindle when you think of Amazon? Would you want to go to an Amazon Expo? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

 

8 Responses to “Amazon device bestsellers: two things more popular than Kindles”

  1. Roberta Says:

    I am a Voyage owner and I LOVE my Voyage but the price point is unreasonably high, especially with the newest PW that just came out at 300 ppi. But I will say this about the Voyage–it just feels like a premium device.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Roberta!

      Yes, I think that’s the issue. I haven’t generally seen people saying they were disappointed in the device…the question is just whether it is worth that much more money.

  2. Robert Anderson Says:

    Also love the Voyage. But to expensive.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Robert!

      Generally, I don’t think Amazon is well positioned with an expensive device…that’s not the market perception.

  3. Man in the Middle Says:

    I too love my Voyage, but wouldn’t pay its current premium price for another over the latest Paperwhite with the only remaining added feature being automatic setting of the light level.

    My wife has the first Paperwhite, and still loves it. However, she now reads mostly on her iPhone 6+, as that is always with her.

    I expect to buy an iPhone 6S+ next month, so may make the same change. I’m already reading more on my iPad mini than on my Voyage, just because the iPad is on our Kindle Unlimited account and the Voyage isn’t.

    However, the longer battery life of the Voyage over an iPad or iPhone is still VERY much appreciated.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Man!

      I haven’t gotten into reading on a phone…just seems too small to me, even a relatively large one (my Fire Phone isn’t a small screen).

      On the road, I read on my Kindle Fire HDX (which I still think is a great device). Before going to sleep, I read on a Kindle EBR (E-Book Reader). That feels like a luxury to me: I do find it a more comfortable reading experience. However, the Fire tablet is a good experience, and has some other advantages…and I simply don’t want to carry both my tablet and my EBR with me at work and such.

  4. Susan Cassidy Says:

    Please stop calling the Basic Kindle the Mindle. It hasn’t caught on, and it is too disgustingly cutesy – it makes me gag a little every time I see it.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Susan!

      I appreciate you telling me that. There is always the possibility that anything I do will result in a visceral reaction from somebody. I just checked: “that word” has been used hundreds of times in the Amazon forum, and very few of those will be from me. It goes back to 2011 at least…I think that’s it. When I did a Bing search, it’s not prevalent.

      I like it, though.🙂

      I’ll tell you what: I’ll poll the readers to see what other people think.

      The “Basic Kindle” is, of course, another unofficial slang term. Amazon just calls it the “Kindle” (which has been their confusing, in my opinion, habit for several models). This one is the 7th Generation. I don’t think I’ve been repeating the exact same term myself…the term you mention originated in 2011, but I use that term plus “Touch” for the current version.

Leave a Reply

