Round up #308: authors watch, free Oz

Round up #308: authors watch, free Oz

The ILMK Round ups are short pieces which may or may not be expanded later.

I read more than fifty of these novels…and they may be headed to the big screen

I’ll give you some clues before I tell you, just for fun.🙂

This was a very popular series of books.

I read all of them.

I started reading them because our kid (actually a kid at that point) was reading them. However, I also enjoyed them.

The author has also had some success with other books.

There has already been a TV series, and we have the boardgame.

One of the stars of the TV series has also played a superhero in the movies.

The plot is reminiscent of one of my favorite fictional characters, Buddy Baker, who first appeared about thirty years before the first book.

The author is generally known by two initials and a last name.

The series is…

The Animorphs (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

According to this

The Mary Sue post by Dan Van Winkle

(and other sources), Universal is looking at developing a feature movie from the 1990s hit about kids who can become animals…but that really simplifies it. It’s a lot more dark and harrowing than that sounds.

Universal is where you want your movie to be right now…they are having an amazing year! It’s one of the best box office years (especially measured by profitability) for any movie studio ever. Jurassic World, Pitch Perfect 2, Straight Outta Compton…and no real dogs (although the Ted 2 box office was lower than many people expected.

I’ll be keeping my eye out for this one…

Wicked is free

Thanks to

Books on the Knob

for the heads up on this one!

Free at time of writing in the USA Kindle store is

Wicked: Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West (Wicked Years Book 1) (Wicked: Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West (Wicked Years Book 1))
by Gregory Maguire

It is a bleak take on the Wizard of Oz series, and not intended for children.

Regular readers know I’m a big fan of the Oz books, and have written some about Oz (I have a book I’d like to write which is tied to Oz…it’s not in the front of the list, though). You can read my thoughts about Wicked (on which the popular ((so to speak)) musical was based) here: Wicked, Oz, and reimagining public domain works.

By the way, this appears to be free because of Amazon’s price matching policy (in this case with Barnes & Noble)…another way Amazon serves us as customers. You can even report higher price somewhere else on book’s Amazon product pages.

Authors watch TV? Who knew?😉

Some people like to present this scenario that reading and watching TV are at odds…that they are bitter enemies, and it’s usually presented as the noble mental warrior being assaulted by a scourge of uncouth barbarians.

I don’t see it that way.🙂

I read. I watch TV.  I watch movies. I like old time radio. I listen to music. I love talking to people.  One of my favorite things is to encounter wild animals in nature.

Put simply, I like input.

I’m not the only one that feels that way.

Those authors who write the books the literati love? Some of them watch TV, too.😉

In this

FLAVORWIRE post by Alison Herman

ten writers’ favorite TV shows are listed. Well, not necessary favorite, despite the title, but shows they like.

I found it fascinating!

Take a guess: Joyce Carol Oates has been nominated five times for the Pulitzer. What show(s) influence that famed intellect?

Which author picked the CW’s Supernatural?

It’s a fun read…

The Bookseller: “A manifesto for trade publishing”

This was an interesting piece:

The Bookseller post by Alastair Horne

Essentially, it recommends that trade publishers (the people who publish the kinds of books you would buy in bookstores…not textbooks and such) should be looking at education publishers to see how they have adapted to the changing market engendered by the rise of e-books.

It makes a good point, in my opinion, although it’s not very specific.

“He who must not be mispronounced”

What do a talk show host and an evil wizard have in common?

I remember years ago when I was managing a brick-and-mortar bookstore.

I heard a parent upbraiding a child for mispronouncing a word.

I said, kind of matter of factly, “You know, that’s the sign of a reader.”

Parent: “What”

Me: “It means your child has read the word, but never heard it pronounced.”

That’s not verbatim, but at that point, the parent started praising the kid.🙂

I think all of us who are serious readers have done that at some point, especially with foreign words.

I know I thought “writhe” was pronounced to rhyme with “with” for a long time, for example.

Well, J.K. Rowling has recently confirmed that the name Voldemort has a silent “T” at the end (as it would if was French):

According to this

EW post by Jessica Goldman

and other sources, that name (which canonically should not be pronounced at all, I suppose) should be something like “VOHL-du-mohr”…not saying the terminal “T”.

It appears that it was the first movie that cemented in readers’ eyes…er, ears…that the “T” is said.

Jim Dale pronounced it the French day in the first two audiobooks, then did it the movie way, from what I’ve heard (which was not be listening to the audiobooks).

An amusing cartoon

I thought this cartoon was funny:

EBOOK FRIENDLY

B&N stock down more than 20%

Since I recently wrote about Barnes & Nobles’ most recent financial report day before yesterday, the largest bookstore chain in America saw it’s stock drop more than 20%.

There was a tiny “dead cat bounce” (where it went very low, and came back a bit, then steadies itself at a significantly lower level).

You can see the chart here:

http://money.cnn.com/quote/quote.html?symb=BKS>

It’s particularly informative to check the box that will show you a comparison to the retail segment in general…which stayed reasonably level during that time.

What do think? Is Barnes & Noble doomed? Were you or was someone you knew a fan of Animorphs? Have you ever read a book/series because your child was reading it? Does watching TV make you less likely to read? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

Leave a Reply

