A new feature, and you can help…ILMK Readers’ Recommendations: book discovery zone

A new feature, and you can help…ILMK Readers’ Recommendations: book discovery zone 

You know how people like to say, “So many books, so little time”?

Well, if they said that twenty years ago, they didn’t know the tenth of it!😉

It’s not necessarily that the problem is that there are that many more books (although there are clearly more published each month than there used to be). Even if you read a book every day for fifty years, you wouldn’t read 20,000 books. I think it’s safe to say that you aren’t going to read 100,000 books in your life…and there are close to four million titles in the Kindle store…and there are over eighteen million new paperback titles at Amazon.

Part of it is that they are so much more available than they were. When every book cost a significant amount, it was easier to say no.

There are tens of thousands of free Kindle books from Amazon…and that doesn’t include the more than one million books you can borrow from

Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

for $9.99 a month.

I’ve tried a number of ways to help you, my readers, discover books.

I’ve also been grateful when you’ve suggested books to me.

Thanks to my

Pick my read #1

poll recently, I read

The Martian (at AmazonSmile*)

which I enjoyed (and I’m looking forward to the Matt Damon movie).

I’m currently reading

Terms of Enlistment (at AmazonSmile*)

and it’s a book where I’m excited to see what happens next.

I wanted to find some way to get everybody more recommendations.

I didn’t want to just ask for narratives, though…there are a lot of places to get those kinds of wonderful, insightful reviews.

I decided to go with a polling type system.

Take a look at it, and see what you think:

ILMK Readers’ Recommendations: book discovery zone

I’d love you to participate, although of course, it’s up to you.  :)

You can comment on the page to recommend a title and/or a new category, and you can “vote” in the poll to recommend the book.

My thought is that people will notice books with a lot of votes and check them out…or perhaps, see a book that’s completely unfamiliar but has a few votes, and look at that one.

I’ll be interested to know what you think…

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

10 Responses to “A new feature, and you can help…ILMK Readers’ Recommendations: book discovery zone”

  1. Edward Boyhan Says:

    There are only two categories I’m mostly interested in:
    Mystery/Suspense
    Science Fiction (primarily hard; definitely not fantasy)
    Also occasionally Young Adult “Coming of Age” stories.

    I recently commented that I give out few 5 star reviews. However, in the last 2 weeks or so, I’ve given out three!
    The English Spy by Daniel Silva
    The Department Q Danish police procedurals by Jussi Adler-Olsen
    Lastly, I’ve just finished reading a couple of Perry Mason’s from the late 50’s – I find it hard not to give them 5 stars (:grin)

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Edward!

      It will take me a bit of work to put together the broader genre ones, generally…those will come.

      However, you mentioning those three books prompted me to start one for ILMK reader’s recommendations. The poll is starting with your three books, but I’m sure others will suggest books for that category quickly. I’ll add them as I can.

  2. tuxgirl Says:

    Totally selfish request: can you do a category for children’s chapter books? I am completely struggling with finding books for the munchkin!!!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, tuxgirl!

      Done.🙂 Well, at least I’ve started one. As people make suggestion for chapter books, I’ll add them in…as I can do it. I figure I can update these at least once a week with specific suggestions people make in the comments. Creating new polls takes a bit more doing, but we’ll see.

      Part of it will depend on reader participation, so I can judge how popular the feature is.

  3. Phink Says:

    I read ‘Terms of Enlistment’ from June 30th – July 27th, 2013. I gave it a rating of 6.97 out of 10. I thought it was a good book and I enjoyed it. I also read the short story ‘Lucky Thirteen’ which takes place in the same world as the novel. I think it was 99 cents. I know you are always looking for undiscovered books so why not give you ‘Phink’s Top 1/2 Dozen’ of 2013, the year I read Terms of Enlistment. Ratings out of 10 in parenthesis. Washington: A Life (9.83) but warning. My brother said it was horribly boring. Under the Dome (9.27). The Short, Second Life of Bree Tanner (Twilight) (9.22). The Help (9.15). The Choring of the Trees by Donald Harrington (9.05). Victory of Eagles (Temeraire Book 5) 8.83. It was a very good year for books. It is extremely rare to have my top 5 of 6 rating 9 and above.

    If anyone decides to try the Choring of the Trees it is actually the 2nd book of a series. The first is the Architecture of the Ozarks (a novel). It was an excellent book as well. They were both fantastic and my aunt agrees. In my opinion those are two books that most have never heard of that should be American classics. Just my humble opinion.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      Interesting…I wasn’t crazy about Under the Dome. Like a lot of King books, I think the ending didn’t hold up to the first 7/8ths or so of the book.

      Would you like me to add those books a Readers’ Recommendation?

  4. Tom Semple Says:

    I think you need to turn on Comments on the ILMK Readers’ Recommendations page. I cannot leave a comment there.

    While I have no dearth of books I’d like to read, I’d be particularly interested in recommendations which are available in Kindle Unlimited, particularly in genres which are unfamiliar to me. KU is an ideal venue for such exploration.

    A recent discovery there is “Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher – The Epic Life and Immortal Photographs of Edward Curtis” by Timothy Egan. I’m only a few chapters in, but it is fascinating. Audiobook companion is also in KU. Fortuitously, I came across this on a recent visit to the High Desert Museum in Bend, OR, where they had a small Edward Curtis exhibit, and when I looked him up on my Fire Phone (now a prized collector’s item in addition to being my every day phone), it was one of the first books listed in the Kindle Store. A few minutes later (after downloading the ebook) I found the paperback edition prominently displayed in the museum store.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tom!

      Thanks for the comment…about comments!🙂 I don’t remember consciously turning them on before…maybe they changed the default. It’s on now.

      I’ll add that one to the KU category…sounds interesting! Since the text-to-speech access has not been blocked, I’ll add it to my KU tracking wish list…although I assume I’ll want to look at the illustrations as well.

  5. Lady Galaxy Says:

    I never intended “The Robber Bridegroom” as a recommendation. I was simply citing it as an example of how writers we might not think of as writing sci-fi, horror, fantasy might still have a book or two in their catalog that fits in that genre!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      Sorry, if it hasn’t had any votes, I’ll remove it.

      Update: it didn’t, so I did.🙂

Leave a Reply

