When did it become Amazon Freetime unlimited?

When did it become Amazon Freetime unlimited?

Back in 2012, Amazon announced Kindle Freetime Unlimited, as I wrote about in this post:

Amazon introduces Kindle FreeTime Unlimited

I was looking in the Kindle store, and noticed that it was gone…and replaced by Amazon FreeTime unlimited.

The link from the storefront was redirected to

Amazon FreeTime unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

That’s interesting…and a bit concerning.

The new page focuses much more on videos than on books, although they do get mentioned. They say:

“Personalize each kid’s experience with profiles, and let them watch where they want to – on Fire Tablets, Kindle eReaders or Fire TV”

Now, they also  mention reading…although they put apps in front of  books.

Branding matters…a lot.

Is Amazon moving away from the Kindle brand in favor of just being Amazon?

At  least in this case, they are.

They did already step away, when they changed the Kindle Fire tablet into just “Fire tablets”.

This may tie into Amazon’s rumored $50 tablet…we should get a hardware announcement within the next month or so (I’m think it will come before the end of the month).

If you asked most people what they thought “Kindle” signified from Amazon, I think they would say “e-books”.

I don’t at all think Amazon will stop supporting e-books. I also expect that, for now, they’ll keep producing EBRs (E-Book Readers), in addition to tablets.

Five years from now, will Amazon still be making  EBRs?

I’m not sure about that…especially if screen technology greatly improves.

If the two technologies merge, so we get super long lasting batteries, color, video, and a comfortable reading experience, I think the public would think of it as a tablet, not as a Kindle…and that Amazon would brand it that way.

We’ll see…

What do you think? Why did Amazon change the name?  The word “Kindle” is a powerful brand for them…how will they use it in the future? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

3 Responses to “When did it become Amazon Freetime unlimited?”

  1. Man in the Middle Says:

    My wife still loves her original Paperwhite, but I notice she rarely uses it any more – now reading mostly on her iPhone 6+ Kindle app.
    Similarly, I love my Voyage, but with it not tied into our Kindle Unlimited account, I find myself now mostly reading on our iPad Mini Retina, which IS tied to our Kindle Unlimited account.
    It will be interesting to see whether I too switch to reading mostly on our new iPhone 6S+ once it arrives.
    At this point, the killer advantage of our actual Kindles is that their batteries last for weeks rather than days. But if we’re charging our cell phones daily anyway, do we actually care?
    One other remaining advantage of our actual Kindles is that they start up vastly faster than the Kindle app on my soon-to-be-replaced Android Jelly Bean cell phone. The auto-brightness on the Voyage is also nice, though we still very much miss the text-to-speech feature of our former Kindle Keyboard that finally died last year. I doubt I’ll buy another Kindle without that feature.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Man!

      It’s a good point about the battery.

      It’s nice that I only charge my EBR every week or two, but it’s not a big deal to charge my tablet every day. When I am just reading on my Fire tablet it can go a very long time. I’m not sure, but I would guess I would get more than a week off a charge at an hour a day of reading, if that was all I was doing (wireless off, screen brightness reasonably low).

      I don’t think I do ten percent of my reading on my EBR…it’s much more on the tablet. I include text-to-speech in that: and it’s interesting that if you want TTS, you are now driven to the tablets. With the first Kindle Fire tablet, that was one of the major disadvantages of it…no TTS, when the EBR had it. Now, it’s the other way around.

    • Lady Galaxy Says:

      Do I have a body that just naturally drains batteries, because I’ve never had Kindle that got good battery life?

Leave a Reply

