5 fun t-shirts for booklovers

5 fun t-shirts for booklovers

Note that these may come in many styles, sizes, and colors. Some of these sayings will also be available on other things, like mugs and tote bags. It’s worth looking around at Amazon.🙂

Do you have a different booklovers’ t-shirt you really like? Feel free to let me and my readers know by commenting on this post.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

19 Responses to “5 fun t-shirts for booklovers”

  1. Lady Galaxy Says:

    There’s always that oldie but goodie, “So many books; so little time.” I saw one locally that said, “Don’t judge a book by its movie.”

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!
      🙂

      I think the reverse is also true, but perhaps rarely practiced: don’t judge a movie by its book.😉

  2. Phink Says:

    I love the ‘I Love Big Books’ shirt. If my wife and I take a family picture together I normally prefer that we dress up. When I saw this I thought ‘Why not get two of them (orange or blue for me and pink for her)’. I’m color blind so I’d have to ask her if orange and pink would look good next to each other. All colors look fine to me together LOL. Anyway, I thought ‘Why not get one for each of us and have our picture taken at the nicest library we can find within a 200 mile radius of NE Arkansas wearing those shirts and holding our favorite book or books.’ I think that’d be a great picture. A library that has a great place to take a picture such as the Kansas City Library which is way further than 200 miles but only 25 miles from my adult child who’s at Leavenworth.

    I love telling people my daughter is at Leavenworth. They just assume she’s in prison LOL. My son is law is a prison guard there and the town is called Leavenworth as well. Anyway, thanx for the post. I put that shirt on my wish list and will decide if it’s worth $40+ in the next few weeks. That’s a lot for a tee shirt.

    • Lady Galaxy Says:

      I like orange and pink together in a print. Not sure about solids. Bufo’s post inspired me to go looking for other book related shirts and I found one that was library related. “Having fun isn’t hard, when you’ve got a library card.” Unfortunately, it isn’t eligible for Prime shipping. Put the quote into the search engine at Amazon and you’ll find it.The one I saw was a woman’s tee, and it’s available in a lot of colors. The print is also very large, so it would show up nicely in a photo. Perhaps your wife could wear that one and you could wear the other? I would have worn that one to school on t-shirt day during right to read week!

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Lady!

        Good find! I’m glad my post was inspirational!

      • Phink Says:

        I also looked for other book tee shirts. I found one that had a stack of books and said “I’m not addicted to reading. I can stop as soon as I finish this book.” I liked it a lot. Also there is another I like. I can’t remember if I found it or if it were in one of the reply’s here but it said “Don’t judge a book by it’s movie.” That one I like a lot.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Phink!

        I think Lady Galaxy contributed the “book by its movie” one.🙂

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      Sounds like a great idea!

      As you may know, I have some color vision deficiency, but I sometimes know it based on what people say about the colors. I asked my Significant Other, who said that some oranges and pinks could go together…together they make salmon. I was told bright orange wouldn’t be good. Blue and pink would go, apparently, but that’s also the traditional (in some cultures) gender coding.

      I did a quick Google search…they seem to agree with my SO.🙂 Muted oranges and pink, perhaps…apparently, Heidi Klum did it.🙂

      • Phink Says:

        I might get the blue because of the tradition of blue for boys and pink for girls. Plus, the blue is my 2nd favorite anyway. I was tossing and turning about if it’s worth $42 for two of them but it is worth $42 for the nice picture it’ll make. No doubt.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Phink!

        Interestingly, that “tradition” is younger than some of my readers.🙂 It used to be that pink was recommended for boys…and again, that might be within the lifetime of some of my readers. I believe the current color tradition is really only from the 1940s or so.

        http://jezebel.com/5790638/the-history-of-pink-for-girls-blue-for-boys

  3. Phink Says:

    This post reminds me of something I have been contemplating for almost a year now and still cannot decide what to do. First off I’m a little concerned over copy right issues. I’m not afraid of the Fed’s busting my door down but rather with doing what’s right. You will not find illegal MP3’s or movies on my computer. I don’t want to take intellectual property I have not paid for. I cannot for the life of me see how the author is harmed by me saving a few jpeg pictures of book covers but perhaps they are financially harmed by it, I don’t know.

    After my last adult child moved out, I turned his bedroom into an office. The walls are bare. After a year they still are except one picture and one clock. I have looked for canvas art that focuses on some of my favorite books but can not find any. Amazon has some of Gone with the Wind but from the movie. I want book art, not movie art.

    I have considered saving large JPEG files of book covers and getting a really nice, large, HD electronic picture frame. Then I’d store every book I’ve read this century on it and I know them because I keep extensive literary records. I’d put them on a slow rotation where it changes pictures maybe just once a day but probably a couple times a day. What do you think? Is that legal? Is that morally acceptable? My guess is no and no. Any other ideas for library art that’s not too generic such as just pictures of non existent books or something. If I can’t get very nice book cover art then I’m not sure what I’m looking for actually.

    • Lady Galaxy Says:

      Since it’s for your own personal use and not for profit, it would seem no different than if you had collected the dust covers of all the books and made a giant collage on your wall, but I know absolutely nothing about copyright law. I’m thinking the copyright problem might also involve the source of the jpg file. Whoever processed the jpg file might have as much right to it as the artist who did the cover art or the publisher who published the book. I assume you’ve done a web search for public domain book covers? You might want to start by contacting a few publishers of your favorite books to ask if they have any public domain jpg files of the book covers. Or tell them what you have planned and ask if it’s OK??

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Lady!

        The difference in making the collage is that no new copy would be created. The First Sale Doctrine allows you to do whatever you want to the physical copies you purchased, but making a new copy is a different beast. The “personal use and not for profit” is one of the four elements of a Fair Use defense, but I agree with both of your other suggestions: public domain, and asking the rightsholders for permission.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      It’s a fantastic idea, and I can completely understand wanting to do that.

      I wouldn’t do it, though, personally.

      My approach to is like yours…it’s not about getting caught, it’s about what’s right.

      To do those jpegs, you would be making a new copy of the book cover. By default, the assumption should be that copying the book without permission is not okay (assuming they are under copyright protection, which is likely), as I understand it.

      Going from there, there are two routes.

      One would be to ask permission.🙂 You might be surprised, and I’m sure they wouldn’t charge you anything if you explained it. They would either say no, or let you do it for free…no risk.

      The second route is if it is Fair Use. Here’s the information on that:

      http://copyright.gov/fair-use/more-info.html

      Essentially, there are four tests…and Fair Use is supposed to pass all four, not just one of them. Copyright law is notoriously fuzzy…it’s often interpreted in court cases, so the Copyright Office now has a searchable database of those.

      Put simply, the four considerations are:

      * Why are you doing it? Non-commercial and educational uses are more likely to be found to be Fair Use, but neither is a guarantee. You likely are on the right side of this one
      * What kind of work is the original? Non-fiction is more likely to be Fair Use, because you may basically be writing about the facts, not the way the author expressed them. Much harder to argue that Star Wars belongs to everybody than it is to argue that the facts of Watergate, as reported in All the President’s Men are fair game. I’m guessing you’ve been reading fiction? You might be on the wrong side of this one
      * How much of the work are you using? I’d have a concern here, because the cover may have its own copyright, so you might be using the whole thing. Again, though, it’s fuzzy…you can’t automatically say a certain percentage is okay
      * What effect does what you do have on the rightsholder? If the publishers aren’t making those covers available to purchase as posters, you might not have much effect. If they do, you would

      My other suggestion would be to use public domain works…then you know you are okay. Here is Google search for you for cover images at Gutenberg.org:

      https://www.google.com/search?q=site:www.gutenberg.org+cover+images&safe=off&client=aff-maxthon-maxthon4&hs=Zkg&affdom=maxthon.com&channel=t26&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0CAcQ_AUoAWoVChMI4c-invOVyAIVEKWICh0xZg9C&biw=1318&bih=632

      Those will generally be public domain, although I’d double-check: some may say they are under “Creative Commons”, which might require you to put an attribution somewhere.

  4. Phink Says:

    Thanx for all the advice and info Bufo and Lady Galaxy.

  5. GeekyGal Says:

    My favorite was sold by a bookstore in Santa Cruz many, many years ago.
    “Outside of a dog, a book is man’s best friend.” Mark Twain
    “Inside of a dog, it’s too dark to read”. Groucho Marx

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, GeekyGal!

      Oh, Groucho was amazing! An old friend of mine lived with Groucho in his later years, and does show up in at least one biography of the comedian…

Leave a Reply

