3-day sale on Kindle EBRs (except Voyage): $20 off

3-day sale on Kindle EBRs (except Voyage): $20 off

While I do read on my Kindle Fire HDX (a now discontinued model) more, I still read on a Kindle EBR (E-Book Reader) every day.

The frontlit Kindles, the Paperwhite and the Voyage, give me the most comfortable reading experience I’ve ever had…including paper.

Why are they better than paper for me?

I’m pretty sensitive to bright lights. I have superior night vision, which may be related to some color vision  deficiency I have. When going to sleep, I read on a frontlit EBR, with the brightness turned down just about all the way. That’s bright enough for me to read, but it doesn’t disturb me at all.

As a side note, I’ve automated a couple of the lights in our house…because I was experimenting with our

Amazon Echo (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

I can turn lights on and off by simply telling our Echo to do it…but in setting that up, I also put an app on my Fire tablet and my Fire Phone (also discontinued).

I now turn the lights on in the family room while I am still in the bathroom in our bedroom in the morning. That’s so much more pleasant! My eyes can adjust as I walk towards the family room, rather than literally pressing my arm against my eyes while I turn on a light standing right next to it.

But I digress.😉

Having the dimly but sufficiently lit EBR in bed is much more comfortable than having a light on a nightstand (even though I used to literally just use a 15 watt red lightbulb for that purpose). Also, the light goes out when I close the cover of the EBR…I don’t have to find a switch.

I think many people have both: a tablet and an EBR. Why have the tablet? I do use it for internet and more sophisticated processing (including PowerPoint presentations), but the biggest thing for me is text-to-speech, where software reads a book out loud to me. I typically use that for hours every week on commutes. None of the current Kindle EBRs have sound at all, so they don’t do TTS.

The other big advantage of an EBR is the battery charge life. I charge my tablet every day. I charge my EBR maybe once every couple of weeks. Sure, I use the tablet a lot more, but there is a substantial difference regardless (different technologies take different amounts of power).

Interestingly, the regular price of Amazon’s least expensive Fire tablet

Fire, 7″ Display, Wi-Fi, 8 GB – Includes Special Offers, Black (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*) $49.99

costs less than the least expensive EBR…even with this considerable $20 discount.

That means you pay for the additional comfort and battery charge life.

That makes the EBR a luxury item: you are willing to pay more for a superior experience.

Oh, one other big argument for an EBR: it’s the precise fact that it doesn’t do as many different things (it doesn’t have as much “width”) while doing basically one thing better (“depth”). That can be attractive for legal guardians to get for their kids, as well as anyone who finds it easier to concentrate with fewer distractions.

Amazon’s three day sale (probably just in the USA) is on these models:

Kindle, 6″ Glare-Free Touchscreen Display, Wi-Fi – Includes Special Offers (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*) $59.99 (down from $79.99) | 4.2 stars out of 5 | 12,244 customer reviews

The $20 off also means you could get it without the Special Offers ($79.99, down from $99.99) for the same price you would normally pay for an ad-supported model.

This is the entry level model, and it’s a good one. Here are some of the differences between this and the Paperwhite (which I’ll link below):

  • No frontlighting, so you read it like you would a p-book
  • Fewer pixels per inch (167 versus 300), so the image isn’t as sharp (but I would say sharp enough for most casual reading…you might notice it with images, like graphs)
  • Available only in wi-fi…no wi-fi and 3G option (for more money)
  • A bit less heavy, a bit thicker

Kindle for Kids Bundle with the latest Kindle, 2-Year Accident Protection, Kid-Friendly Blue Cover (at AmazonSmile*) $79.99 (down from $99.99) | 4.0 stars | 61 reviews

This is like the above, but includes a ruggedized cover and an extended warranty…since each of those costs $20, this is a big savings, even without the discount.

Certainly something to consider for a gift.

All-New Kindle Paperwhite, 6″ High-Resolution Display (300 ppi) with Built-in Light, Wi-Fi – Includes Special Offers (at AmazonSmile*) $99.99 (down from $119.99) | 4.5 stars | 7,313 reviews

The Paperwhite (this is the latest generation) is a great model Kindle! I’d say it may be my favorite (price and everything taken into account), with the Kindle 3 (Kindle Keyboard) being second…well, wait, lack of TTS makes that a tighter battle. For sight-reading, it’s my favorite.🙂

Why would you literally pay $100 more (right now) for a top of the line

Kindle Voyage (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

?

You do get a few more things:

  • Adaptive light sensor
  • Page press buttons (in addition to touchscreen…these all have touchscreen)
  • Quite a bit less heavy and a tad smaller

Will there be more sales before the holidays?

Sure, that’s likely, although we are getting closer. In fact, I’d be surprised if there weren’t more sales. I would also think there may be shortages, though…this is a sure thing right now.

People always wonder if a sale means changes to the line-up. It usually doesn’t. They only recently introduced this model of Paperwhite, so I wouldn’t expect another Paperwhite this year. A 2nd gen Voyage seems more possible to me…but that’s not part of this sale anyway.

Enjoy!

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things. 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

7 Responses to “3-day sale on Kindle EBRs (except Voyage): $20 off”

  1. Phink Says:

    I am glad you mentioned the kindle keyboard. If it had front lighting it’d be my favorite all time kindle. I love the keyboard and still own one but use it rarely. That’s because the battery does not last very long (probably a week at best at 30 minutes a day) plus I have to have a light in order to read it. To me, holding it is more natural than any other kindle they’ve made yet. Also, it seems I can read on it with a smaller font than I can on the paper white. I know that’s strange and surely is somehow psychological but it sure seems to be the case. It’s a white kindle but surely the white has nothing to do with how I view the fonts.

    Oh how I wish they’d make an updated kindle keyboard paperwhite. I also have mine wrapped in a marware white silicone case that feels phenomenal. I also have one of those for my paperwhite. I love the feel of those silicone cases marware makes. Here is a link in case anyone wants one. I think the paperwhite ones have been discontinued.

    http://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B0046A8YAI?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_search_detailpage

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      I’ve always wanted a cover with a noticeable corner…I think that helps in drops, although Kindles/Fires are much less fragile than they used to be.

      I don’t notice missing the physical keyboard that much, but I liked the form factor of the Kindle Keyboard.

  2. Robert Anderson Says:

    What I like better on the Kindle Voyage, compared to the Kindle Paperwhite ( I have the middle version Kindle Paperwhite, before the 300 dpi) – Smaller, lighter, brighter. The page turn buttons are nice, but I also just tap the screen. The light sensor, doesn’t really work the way I would want it to, so mostly it is off for me.

    A feature not mentioned often, it has a glass front that is flush with across the entire surface, I like that better than the Paperwhite’s recessed front surface. Makes the swipe UP so much easier, to advance chapters or preview pages.

    Priced at $99, with 300 dpi, Bookery font, the sale price on the Kindle Paperwhite is really hard to beat I would really push folks wanting a Kindle to grab one at the price. If you have extra money, the Voyage is great. Omoton makes nice cases, open like a book.

    Amazon if you are listening …. E-Ink reader with Text to Speech, bring it back, Please.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Robert!

      First, I’m totally with you on the last point.🙂

      The Voyage is smaller and lighter than the current gen Paperwhite (about an ounce lighter). They improved the pixels on the current gen, so the Voyage might not seem brighter…but I haven’t looked at them side by side.

      I think your advice is good…

  3. Barbara Berry Says:

    I too have a Paperwhite and a Kindle Fire (small tablet). My Paperwhite is the original. I would upgrade in 30 seconds if they added TTS. TTS is the only reason I bought the Kindle Fire. Perhaps that’s why Amazon stubbornly refuses to add TTS to Paperwhite. And why I stubbornly refuse to upgrade to a newer Paperwhite! Love your writing!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Barbara!

      Thanks for the kind words!

      I don’t think you need to upgrade your Paperwhite…at least, not yet.🙂 Adding TTS to the Paperwhite will need to wait for another model…the need to have audio hardware which they don’t have for that to happen.

  4. Deja vu saves money for you! 3 day sale on non-Voyage Kindle EBRs (ends Wednesday) | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] 3-day sale on Kindle EBRs (except Voyage): $20 off […]

Leave a Reply

