Remarkable change in Fire OS 5

Remarkable change in Fire OS 5

I’m currently exploring my new

Fire, 7″ Display, Wi-Fi, 8 GB – Includes Special Offers, Black(at AmazonSmile*) $49.99

I plan to write about my first impressions and do a menu map before Monday.

There are a few things I wanted to mention right now, though, about the new Operating System, which will, I think, come to some older Fire tablets before the end of the year. My guess would be devices running OS 4x…which goes back to the third generation.

The Carousel is gone

Generally, people have not liked the Carousel, based on comments  on the forums…a presentation line of 30 (it used to be possibly hundreds) of recently used (or downloaded or updated) items.

Now, and this is much easier, there is a square at the bottom of the screen that bring them up as cards: sort of similar to double-tapping the home button on an iPhone. You can easily switch to items there, and remove them from the list with an x. You can also just swipe to your right from the homescreen to see them: nice!

Customizable wallpaper…even your own pictures!

People have wanted this one since the very first Kindle in 2007! You can easily change the wallpaper to a picture in your camera roll. I have one of our dogs as our wallpaper.🙂 Now, I do have an ad-supported device (which lowers the purchase price in exchange for seeing ads), so that’s what I see on the lockscreen. I assume, though, that the wallpaper doesn’t appear on the lockscreen.

Amazon can remember your wi-fi passwords

This sounds to me like it’s an option that means I won’t have to enter the wi-fi password when I get a new Amazon device registered to my account! If this is really the case, it’s a remarkable improvement. That’s been a big barrier in setting up a new gadget. I can remember my (complex) wi-fi password, but generally, it’s been the biggest thing that has kept setting up new things from simply being turning them on and using them. No, I’m not worried about Amazon having my wi-fi password…I don’t think Jeff Bezos gets into my neighborhood much.😉

That’s just three…I’m sure I’ll find more intriguing things when I do the menu map.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

5 Responses to “Remarkable change in Fire OS 5”

  1. Marge Holz Says:

    Bufo, your link on my paperwhite never delivers at the newest post anymore. This is very annoying as I have to usually back up through old posts to get to the current post. I know it’s only 99 cents a month but geez. And it doesn’t seem your style. “

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Marge!

      I appreciate you letting me know!

      I’m a bit confused by what you are saying, and I’ll have to check it on my device.

      My style has nothing to do with how that delivers, by the way.🙂 The blog is written in WordPress, then Amazon formats and delivers it.

      Do you know when it changed? I’ll need to check with Amazon to see what’s happening.

      Do you subscribe to any other blogs? Does it happen with them, too?

      I wouldn’t think your sort would effect it, but I’ll follow up with Amazon.

      Thanks for subscribing! It’s one of the main things that makes this possible for me to do.

      If anybody else sees this who subscribes, have you noticed a change?

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Okay, I’ve checked it this morning.

        I had to charge up my Paperwhite first…I’ve been reading on a different model EBR (E-Book Reader).

        I do think the blog reader may have changed since I used it last, but what it did made sense to me.

        It seemed like it would remember where I had been and open there…which could create the behavior you describe. I would prefer that, in case I was i the middle of an article when a new post came in.

        Tapping towards the top middle of the page, I saw an icon that looked somewhat like a window…four squares, with a dark band at the top. Tapping that took me right back to the beginning and a post selection screen.

        I’ll check it again tomorrow, after it has updated with the latest post.

  2. Tom Semple Says:

    Still waiting for the Fire OS 5 update to show up on my HD6. Though I suppose I can wait, there are bound to be a few fixes to throw in based on what people with new tablets are experiencing. No point in pushing it out without the benefit of that feedback.

    Some people seem to have trouble finding where to find their Personal Documents.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tom!

      I don’t think they’ve started rolling it out yet to devices people already have, and you are right…they may wait to get feedback from the new device owners. That makes sense: they don’t have any “givebacks” on those devices, because they didn’t have anything to give.🙂

      On th Docs: they took it off as a choice on the content ribbon (where you scroll at the top), but it is an app on the homescreen. Also, the search (which, I don’t think I said, is context sensitive…if I’m tapped on Books, it defaults the search to books…although, not my books first, but books at Amazon) is quite effective. I tested that on the homescreen, and found a personal document easily.

Leave a Reply

