First discount on Kindle Voyage! Only for Prime members (PW3 also discounted)

First discount on Kindle Voyage! Only for Prime members (PW3 also discounted)

Amazon introduced the top of the line

Kindle Voyage (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

more than a year ago (in September of 2014). People who have them tend to like them: 4.4 stars out of 5 average rating, with 7,404 customer reviews at time of writing.

While it doesn’t have audio (so no text-to-speech…a major drawback for me), it is otherwise pretty objectively superior to the

All-New Kindle Paperwhite, 6″ High-Resolution Display (300 ppi) with Built-in Light, Wi-Fi – Includes Special Offers (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

It’s lighter, smaller (with the same screen size), and has “page press” buttons.

However, while the PW3 has gone on sale repeatedly in the last year, the Voyage hasn’t been playing that game.

Right now, though, either of the two are $30 off for a limited time…but only for

Amazon Prime (at AmazonSmile*)

members.

That brings the Voyage, in its least expensive configuration, down to $169.99…and the PW3 to as low as $89.99. That’s only $10 more for the PW3 than the entry level Kindle…which doesn’t have the frontlighting that made the PW the most comfortable reading experience I’d ever had (including paper).

I get why Prime may not make sense for some people…but if you can afford the investment in it, and you spend enough at Amazon, it can make a lot of sense. Prime members get so many things, including early access to some of the Black Friday sales.

I’m only guessing, but I would think that if you spend $500 in a year at Amazon on new items (not from the Marketplace), Prime is likely to be a cost benefit to you. I haven’t done the calculations, but that’s my feeling.😉

They don’t say how long this sale will last, but if you are in the market for a new EBR (E-Book Reader), especially for the holidays, this is a good deal.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

9 Responses to “First discount on Kindle Voyage! Only for Prime members (PW3 also discounted)”

  1. Phink Says:

    I am intrigued by this and have been wanting a Voyage since it came out but I have sooooo many Kindles now it just seems goofy to buy another one. PLUS, while this is a great deal if someone is like me, and does not mind refurbed Amazon EBR’s then it’s not such a great deal. The everyday price of the refurbished Voyage is also $169. I have had a refurbished kindle once and have ordered a Fire tablet once refurbed by Amazon and they look and perform exactly like the new ones with the same warranty. On both cases Amazon could have claimed they were brand new and I never would have known any better.

    I believe Bufo once pointed out they may be more reliable than a new one considering they have gone through a rigorous inspection. Perhaps I am mis-remembering but it seems as though he said something along those lines once. Please correct me if I am wrong about that. Still, it is tempting…….oh so tempting. Please sale, hurry up and get over. PLEASE! Oh, here is the link to the refurbished EBR line at Amazon.

    http://www.amazon.com/b/ref=amb_link_403451122_2?ie=UTF8&node=8759467011&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=left-1&pf_rd_r=0S18AZC350RT8N4S7T6D&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=1752474302&pf_rd_i=8497978011

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      Yes, I have said that about refurbs before…I think your chances of getting a “lemon” are higher with a new device than with a refurbed device.

      That said, I have to be honest and say I buy new devices. For me, though, a lot of that has to do with lag time…I want to be able to answer questions for people, which means I should have them pretty early. That’s not typically an option with refurbs.

  2. Phink Says:

    I should point out however that the refurbished Voyage could be out of stock, never to return, any day, and that’s a factor. Although I don’t mind the refurbed models I’d still buy the new one if they were the same price myself.

  3. Man in the Middle Says:

    My wife surprised me today by not wanting to upgrade her original Paperwhite to a Voyage on sale. Her reason is that she now finds it easier to just read everything on her iPhone 6+, as that way she has one less device to haul around.
    Much as I like my Voyage, I see her point. I also notice I’m about as happy to read on my iPad or iPhone as on the Voyage, except that the Voyage lasts a lot longer between charges. But as you noted, it lacks a speaker, so can’t do text-to-speech. (Neither can the i-devices, sadly.)
    Can’t imagine how Amazon will sell us another EBR unless it does text-to-speech, and we’ve already tried and returned a Fire, so that’s not the answer for us either.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Man!

      I actually do have a Voyage now, and that is my main EBR (E-Book Reader). By far, I do most of my reading via text-to-speech on my Fire tablet in the car. Sight-reading? Hm…that may still be the Fire. I’ve been using my Voyage sort of like a p-book (paperbook). I’ve just been reading one book on it: an omnibus of the “Famous Fourteen” original Oz books. That means I don’t tend to use any of the features, really.🙂

    • Tom Semple Says:

      iDevices do have something pretty much equivalent to text-to-speech. It is called Speak Screen. Go into Settings, Accessibility, Speech, and turn on Speak Screen option to enable this. To activate it, swipe down from the top of the screen with two fingers. This will bring up a control bar to control speed, allow you to pause, even as it begins reading text. After a few seconds the control bar minimizes so it does not obscure what is being read out. To stop it you touch the minimized control bar and choose X to quit or the pause button to pause. You can also download higher-quality voices if the default voice doesn’t seem good enough (and they are noticeably better).

      The Kindle app supports this feature quite well, but unlike some other apps it does not highlight the text as it is being read out, but rather the entire page. Immersion reading suffers from the same deficiency.

      I would also note that Speak Screen does not pay attention to the ‘TTS enablement’ property of the book, it works with anything. Amazon apparently takes the view that this is an accessibility feature provided by the operating system (Apple), and as such they are not violating publisher restrictions by supporting accessibility features.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Tom!

        I appreciate you pointing that out, and giving people instructions!

        It’s interesting: Amazon has a plug-in for Kindle for PC, which allows it to work with a screen reader…and again, it doesn’t matter if the publisher has blocked text-to-speech access. In that case, the screen reader is designed for the print disabled, so that would be seen as different than making it available for everyone.

  4. Phink Says:

    I did get the Voyage. It arrived yesterday. I had $130 in gift cards that I really did not know what to do with so I pulled the trigger. Here are my first impressions keeping in mind I have only used it about 45 minutes to an hour.

    Although the screen is the same size as the paperwhite it sure looks and feels small. I normally read without a case but this one is so small I think I’m going to buy a cheap case for it.

    The light is the most uniform yet and phenomenal. However, the automatic dimming (I think it’s called nightlight) did not work well for me. It turned the light down way too fast. Before I knew it the light had gone from 16 to about 7 or 8 within minutes. I had to turn the light back up. Now that I manually did that I cannot get it to change the light again. The options are still there including the ‘auto light’ button you see when you click on the light bulb but it refuses to dim on it’s own.

    It seems to lag far more than the paperwhite. Perhaps it’s still syncing my account or doing something in the background because it’s new and that will change. I sure hope so. The lag time bothers me so I sure hope that improves. If I click on a book in the store it’ll take 10 seconds or so to actually start loading the page on 3G. My reception is great at my home so that’s not it.

    The page turn buttons are nice. I really like those. I am also surprised at how much I like the……how do I say it…..you know where the screen is flush with the body of the Voyage. I did not expect to care one way or another about that but I do.

    If the lag time straightens out then I am done with the Paperwhite. The Voyage is such a nice EBR it’s all I want going forward. After a measly hour I’ve already figured that out.

    Of course being a Star Trek fan I called the Paperwhite Next Generation 1701-D and the last Paperwhite 1701-E. The name of the Voyage was too easy…..Voyager

    Are your experiences with the above different than mine?

Leave a Reply

