Recent price drops #1

Recent price drops #1

Hard for me to believe that after more than five years of this blog, I haven’t used this title before!😉

You are probably thinking about gifts right now, and while I recently wrote

The gift of books…without buying them books

I know that a lot of you will want to give somebody a specific book…and that you prefer to do a well-known book (or at least, a well-known author).

Well, this a weekend when e-book prices may be particular volatile. There may be even better deals on some things on this Monday (November 30th)…Cyber Monday.

However, I think these recent price drops are well-known giftable books are worth noting…I don’t think they’ll tend to drop more on Monday, although with the potential of price matching, it could happen.

Before I list a few, I want to praise

eReaderIQ.com

which I consider to be the most valuable resource for Kindleers on the web.

They have a lot of free services…and this post is possible in part because of their “Price Drops” feature.

You can list specific books with them, and they’ll send you a free e-mail when it drops an amount you specify.

They also, though, list price drops across the Kindle store. You can filter and sort that, which I’ve done…and then I made the choices I thought would be most valuable for you.

I only looked at books which had dropped at least 30% and had at least 500 customer reviews.

Check the price before you click or tap that Buy button…prices could change at any time, and they may not apply in your country (I have readers around the world).

Please note also that some of these books may be available through

Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

Amazon’s subser (subscription service). That means that subscribers to that service (I’m a happy one) could get those books at no additional cost. I’ll mark those with KU, when I know it.

You can buy these for gifts at this price, and delay the delivery until the appropriate gift giving occasion.

Here are a few that stood out to me:

  • Catching Fire (The Hunger Games 2) by Suzanne Collins: $3.25 at time of writing…half what it was yesterday | KU
  • Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen $1.99 | KU
  • The English Girl by Daniel Silva $3.99
  • New Moon (Twilight @3) by Stephenie Meyer $2.99
  • Joyland by Stephen King $2.99
  • Be Careful What You Wish For (Clifton Chronicles Book 4) by Jeffrey Archer $1.99
  • Go the F**k to Sleep by Adam Mansbach | $0.62 (humor book for adults parodying children’s books)
  • Hollow City: The Second Novel of Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs | $0.52…an amazing price!
  • A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole | $4.73
  • The Forever War by Joe Haldeman | $1.99
  • Rodrick Rules (Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 2) by Jeff Kinney
  • Pegasus by Danielle Steel | $7.99
  • The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck | $3.90
  • The Color Purple by Alice Walker | $3.90
  • Howl’s Moving Castle (Howl’s Castle Book 1) by Diana Wynne Jones | $1.99
  • Wicked Appetite (Lizzy & Diesel Book 1) by Janet Evanovich | $2.99
  • Twelve Sharp (Stephanie Plum, No. 12) by Janet Evanovich | $2.99 (there is history through these books, but I wouldn’t say you need to read them in order…also available at this price: Four to Score, High Five, Hot Six, To the Nines)
  • Night Moves by Nora Roberts | $1.99
  • Batman: Year One by Frank Miller | $2.99
  • The Great Santini by Pat Conroy | $3.90
  • Isle of the Lost, The: A Descendants Novel (Descendants, The) by Melissa de la Cruz  | $3.60 (buzzy Disney property with the children of famous Disney villains)
  • Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige | $1.99 (dark version of Oz)

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

4 Responses to “Recent price drops #1”

  1. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Thanks to a notification from ERIQ, I was recently able to pick up a $19.99 book on my wish list for 99¢. That’s the biggest savings so far. When books drop to my price point, I buy them right away hoping the publisher notices an uptick in purchases when the price drops. I’ve also discovered that the price sometimes goes back up again.

    I want to thank you for tipping off readers to this great service. I don’t think I would have discovered it on my own.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      That was a great savings! I’m glad I could point you in a helpful direction.🙂

  2. IanCoatesThrillers Says:

    Like many publishers, my publisher is embracing Cyber Monday and is selling the thriller Eavesdrop on Amazon.com for 99c for that one day ( http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00R58OIJ4 ). Interestingly, though, they are limiting this to the U.S. Does anyone know if CyberMonday is also taking off in other parts of the world?

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, IanCoatesThrillers!

      Wikipedia lists Cyber Monday as being celebrated in these countries:

      United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Brazil, Portugal, Uganda, Germany, UAE, Egypt, Netherlands, Chile, Colombia and Japan

Leave a Reply

