New! Fire HD 8 Reader’s Edition (available for pre-order)

New! Fire HD 8 Reader’s Edition (available for pre-order)

Amazon just announced a new choice (shipping December 9th):

Fire HD 8 Reader’s Edition (Fire HD 8 Reader’s Edition)

They sent me this

press release

They list it as part of a bundle, but it’s not a bundle I would buy (it includes a leather cover, and I don’t use leather). However, I tested it: I put the bundle into my cart, and then I could delete the cover from the cart.

The tablet is $149.99.

A year’s membership in

Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

(Amazon’s subser…subscription service. I’ve been a happy member since it started) is listed at $119.88.

That leather cover is listed at $79.99.

The total of those is $349.86.

The bundle is $249.99, so that’s just about a $100 savings.

The big new feature they mention is “Blue Shade” (no relation to Zoolander’s “Blue Steel”,  I assume).😉 We had a big discussion about this recently, in the comments to this post:

Scientific study compares bedtime reading risk from iPad, iPhone, PW1

One of my readers, Dr. Alan Church, was  kind enough to share expertise on the impact of blue light on sleep.

This new feature claims (in what I considerable to be plausible terms) to switch out the blue, so that your device won’t tend to disrupt your sleep patterns.

That feature by itself will get some people to buy this model.

I think, based on a careful reading of the press release, that it will come to all of the Fire OS 5 Fire tablets (and possibly the now discontinued Fire Phone, which is my daily use personal phone). The press release says:

“…an exclusive Fire OS “Bellini” feature…”

There’s no Amazon Help Page on it yet, but my guess is that it will come to the other models (running Fire OS 5…and that list will increase with updates to some older models) pretty quickly…perhaps after the first flush of sales for the “Reader’s Edition”, maybe even sooner.

I checked my

Fire, 7″ Display, Wi-Fi, 8 GB – Includes Special Offers, Black (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

It’s not on there yet.🙂

As I mentioned, they list this tablet at $149.99…and the current version of the

Fire HD 8, 8″ HD Display, Wi-Fi, 8 GB – Includes Special Offers, Black (at AmazonSmile*)

is $20 less than that right now at $129.99.

That’s not necessarily because of the new model: there are other Amazon devices on sale right now for the holidays:

It’s definitely a time of year to get good deals!

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

 

7 Responses to “New! Fire HD 8 Reader’s Edition (available for pre-order)”

  1. Robert Anderson Says:

    Looks interesting. Nice resolution, but not e-ink. Has text to speech, nice. The cover opens like a book, better than the other recent Amazon covers. I picked up the Fire 7 inch on the black friday sales, seems ok, tried the new BlueShade, but would like to read with e-ink, on my Voyage. I see Amazon listening to user feedback in this new Fire, so hope they will keep listening and add text to speech to an e-ink version soon.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Robert!

      For the Fire 7, I’d recommend getting the free

      Swype Keyboard Free (at AmazonSmile)

      It gives you “trace typing” and dictation.

      I’ve been hoping for another EBR (E-Book Reader…non-backlit) with TTS for some time. We’ll see.🙂 I’ve also suggested they may create a wearable with it…you could probably even put it in a ring, if you didn’t do a display screen and you used a headphone jack.

  2. Lou Anne Leonard Says:

    Thank you for the heads up! Typically, Amazon has me at “new device” but not this time. There is nothing in the press release to indicate that the Fire HD 8 Reader’s Edition is any different than the current Fire HD 8 – other than it’s not subject to the $20 discount and the fact that the currently discounted version does not include “Book Wizard” which seems to consist of personalized recommendations based on ones star reviews and integration with ones Goodreader shelves. So for those of us who don’t leave starred book reviews, make only cursory use of GR shelves, and/or have no use for leather covers, I would be leery of pre-ordering — especially given that technical details are not yet published on a bona fide product page.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lou Anne!

      I can understand that.

      I can’t tell enough to tell if it’s genuinely different, or if it’s just a bundle with updated software.

      There are two pages, but they don’t have ASINs (Amazon Standard Identification Numbers) delineated on them…and the bundle might have a different ASIN than the device itself.

      Also, I noticed today: it now says you have to have all three items in the cart to get the discount, but that doesn’t surprise me🙂

  3. Lou Anne Leonard Says:

    Update: This is definitely not a new model. Chastising myself for being jaded and suspicious (and recognizing that Blue Shade may never come to my HD6 or low-budget 7″) I went ahead and bought the HD8 Reader’s Edition. And guess what: now that this ‘model’ has been released, it still does not have its own product page. Also, when I decided to go ahead and leave my review of it under the Fire HD8 (that’s currently $20 off) product page, the review got published with the “Verified purchase” label! As for Book Wizard functionality that serves as a souped up engine for personalized Special Offers: I’m someone who pays the $20 to remove Special Offers, so I’m feeling incredibly foolish to have actually paid $20 extra to get Special Offers Deluxe! Oh well. Given that I’ve left 50+ reviews of Kindle books this year, perhaps these souped up Recommendations will actually be useful. Hope springs eternal.

  4. Peter C. Says:

    That sounds interesting. Earlier times I read some research on blue light and its impact on sleeping and the way our current smartphones are ruining our sleep. I think this is a good innovation, but I would like to see more feedback from users before making any final comments. Anyway, the bundle seems to be good value for money.

Leave a Reply

