Round up #313: what kids’ authors read as kids, lots of sales

Round up #313: what kids’ authors read as kids, lots of sales

The ILMK Round ups are short pieces which may or may not be expanded later.

Fire tablet accessories sale

Yes, there will be people getting their first Fire tablets this year (especially the Fire, 7″ Display, Wi-Fi, 8 GB – Includes Special Offers, Black (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*) ), but a lot of people already have them.

Not to worry: Amazon is having a sale on

Fire tablet accessories 50% off and more (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

There are a lot of cases and covers (including the origami cover, which is my daily use cover…I like it a lot). Check to make sure it is the right generation for the device.

In addition to that, though, they have other things including screen protectors, and some adapters…hypothetically, you could display a 4th Gen Fire on a computer monitor, for example.

Amazon devices are still on sale

While the least expensive Fire tablet is not on sale right now (but remember, it’s only about $50), a lot of Amazon devices are!

Amazon Device deals (at AmazonSmile*)

The one that is ending soon is the

Amazon Fire TV (at AmazonSmile*)

for $84.99 ($15 off), which ends Saturday (December 12th).

There are tablets on sale, and EBR (E-Book Reader) bundles.

Amazon’s best-selling Kindle books of 2015

I may do a whole post on this, but I thought I’d go ahead and include a link in this round-up:

Amazon’s Best Sellers of 2015 in Kindle Books (at AmazonSmile*)

I think most of you will have heard of most of the top 20.

This is different from what’s linked in this (which is what the post might actually cover…I’m asking for some clarification from Amazon first):

press release

at

http://www.amazon.com/bestsellingbooks2015 (http://www.amazon.com/bestsellingbooks2015

That list only includes books released in 2015…and combines e-books and p-books (paperbooks).

Amazon dominates this part of the literary world…

According to this

The Guardian article by Alison Flood

Amazon’s imprint for translated works

AmazonCrossing (at AmazonSmile*)

“…published three times more translated fiction in the US this year than its nearest competitor.”

Yes, this is a British paper, but they are writing about the USA.

They seem to be bucking a trend of possibly declining sales in translated works…which would surprise me.

I would think people would be more interested in reading books from other cultures…but perhaps they are reading them more in the original languages…but maybe not.😉

Some of the

Kindle First books (at AmazonSmile*)

have been translated.

Translating books is a real art unto itself…which is part of why a new translation qualifies for a new copyright in the USA.

Children’s books authors’ favorite books they read as children

I loved this

Publishers Weekly article compiled by Diane Roback

It showed the deep and sometimes quirky connection that the authors had with books.

I wonder, though, how different that is from most people.

Their relationship to books feels familiar to me.🙂

I wish all children could have that connection to books, but I know it doesn’t happen. Some of it has to do with opportunity, and some of it has to do with family culture.

I do think books are becoming more available to those with less, but I still fantasize about a world where every child reads, and loves, books.

I think that will be increasingly possible because of e-books, but…

Take 25% off any p-book

Amazon has a special promotion where you can take

25% off a p-book (at AmazonSmile*)

…pretty much any p-book (although the most you can get off is $10, but that’s still a lot!).

You enter this code: 25OFFBOOK

The sale ends at December 14, 2015 at 02:59am EST.

I know many of my readers read both e-books and p-books. Honestly, I don’t…I do sometimes pick up one  of the roughly 10,000 p-books I have on shelves in our house to check something, but I don’t read them cover to cover.

It’s just much easier for me to read e-books…easy to carry, easier for my vision.

If I could digitize all the books, I’d donate the ones I could. Some are rare, and should go to someone who will preserve them. Not valuable, for the most part, but rare.

Would I keep any of them?

Maybe…and it’s hard for me to think about getting rid of any of them!🙂

8 Most Controversial Novels Ever Published

Open Road may be my favorite publisher right now.

Not only do they publish important backlist titles as e-books, and with features readers want (including text-to-speech access and often, availability through Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)), but they clearly love books.

Take a look at this

Open Road article by Jessica Ferri

about controversial books.

I wouldn’t fault this list…I think you’ll generally think that the books on here are reasonable choices. Sure, you can argue most controversial, but this is a list written by someone who understands books.

What do you think? Do you have a favorite translator? How did books affect you as a child? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

6 Responses to “Round up #313: what kids’ authors read as kids, lots of sales”

  1. Edward Boyhan Says:

    I’m not much into lists, and these more or less prove it. Of the 2015 “bests” lists, maybe 3 or 4 of the authors are ones that I would read, but of the 2015 lists I’ve only read two.

    Of the books read by children’s authors, I’ve read none, and only recognized about half. I guess that explains why I’m not a children’s book author (:grin). I read voraciously as a child, but nothing like what these authors read (my tastes were decidedly more low brow than theirs).

    Of the controversial books, I recognize all of them save “The Kindly Ones”. I’ve read 2.75 of them (Ulysses was the partial).

    Surprisingly, I’ve never read Huckleberry Finn — that may have had to do with all the Disney abridgements I watched on TV.

    I never read Lolita, but I loved the movie with James Mason, Sue Lyons, and Shelley Winters (:grin). As a teenager all the guys I hung with would snigger and giggle about Tropic of Cancer, but I don’t think any of us ever read it (I certainly didn’t) — all based on the controversies in the press, and our parent’s overheard conversations — probably my parent’s generation’s 50 Shades of Grey (:lol).

    In HS I read Catcher in the Rye, and in college Lady Chatterley’s Lover (for an English language Novel in the 20th century course — same course had Ulysses).

    The controversial novels page has a bunch of lists linked to in a sidebar that look interesting — so I’m gonna run off now, and go check them out😀 .

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Edward!

      I have to say, I’m quite surprised that you haven’t read any of the books listed by the children’s authors. I’ve read many of them, and I would have guessed most people would have read Alice in Wonderland, Charlotte’s Web, some myths and fairy tales…but I suppose that might not be true. I’ve never been dissuaded from reading books based on putative market, and I know that’s unusual. Still, I’m often so impressed with your opinions and knowledge…interesting to me that we have less of a shared culture than I might have assumed.🙂

      This is what I just skimmed from the article as the list:

      The Yearling
      Aesop’s Fables
      Hans Christian Andersen
      Uncle Remus
      Jane Eyre
      Animal Farm
      The Magic Pudding
      The Incredible and Sad Tale of Innocent Eréndira and Her Heartless Grandmother
      The Outsiders
      Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland
      Through the Looking-Glass
      The Sneetches and Other Stories
      Where the Sidewalk Ends
      The Blue Aspic
      The Random House Book of Fairy Tales
      Judy Blume
      Mary Ellis, Student Nurse
      Thirty-One Brothers and Sisters
      Frog and Toad
      Anne of Green Gables
      The Basketball Diaries
      Winnie-the-Pooh
      The Carrot Seed
      Where the Wild Things Are
      Charlotte’s Web
      The Man with the Purple Eyes
      The Greatest: The Autobiography of Muhammad Ali
      D’Aulaires’ Book of Greek Myths
      Is This You?

      I’m glad the article’s sidebar may give you some discovery…and James Mason was great!

      • Edward Boyhan Says:

        I just looked at your list of “children’s” books. There are two on there that I read: Animal Farm (which I read in High School — I don’t consider that a childhood read), and Through the Looking Glass, which I read when I was 7 or 8 — interestingly I only read Alice in Wonderland within the last year or two.

        Thinking back, there weren’t many (any) “classic” children’s books around the house — so I read mostly what my parents were reading: mystery/thrillers, and some science Fiction. I read many of the Stratemeyer syndicate books (Tom Swift Jr, The Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew, etc) — some every book in the series — I mostly bought these myself out of my weekly allowance.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Edward!

        That makes sense.🙂 Let me just clarify: I wasn’t saying these were children’s books…these were books which children’s authors said they read as children. The point of the Animal Farm story was that the parent had started them on it not realizing it was for adults…and then decided to keep going.🙂

        You definitely read some good books!

  2. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Dagnabit! I ordered a p-book as a holiday gift for a friend two days ago. If I’d only waited a little longer I could have used that 25%.

    I cannot even imagine a childhood without books. I certainly would never have had a career as an English/Reading teacher!

    I’ve only read half of the 8 most controversial books. I find it odd that there was such a focus on books like “Tropic of Cancer” in the list of 8. I see that more a matter of times have changed, and those books were ahead of their time.

    I don’t know if you ever checked the list of banned/censored books on Goodreads. I’ve read all of the top 25!

    https://www.goodreads.com/list/show/1360.Best_Banned_and_or_Censored_Books_or_Worst_to_Have_Banned_?ref=ru_lihp_nsup_sl.7032844_18_mclk

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      I just checked the Goodreads list…I’d say I’ve read 20 of the top 25 with a quick glance.

      You might want to check with Amazon…they might give you that 25% off, but if they don’t, it doesn’t hurt to check.🙂

Leave a Reply

