What do you get them if they already have an Amazon device?

What do you get them if they already have an Amazon device?

There continue to be

Amazon Device deals (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

for the holidays, but what if somebody on your giftees list already has an Amazon device? What can you get for them then?

Well, obviously, you can always get

 Amazon Gift Cards (at AmazonSmile*)

🙂

Those are always welcome, and that way they can get pretty much whatever they want. I think, for example, it’s pretty hard to buy somebody a cover: you have to know which model they have, and it’s kind of personal as to how it feels and how it looks.

Another option is to

Give the Gift of Prime (at AmazonSmile*)

That’s $99 for a year…and gets them free (to watch) videos, streaming music, free two-day shipping on many items, and other benefits.

If they already have Prime, they can exchange it for a gift card.🙂

If you want to give them the gift of reading, you can give

Gift Subscriptions to Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

Those start at $59.94 for six months. That could be a good gift for a family or a couple of kids. If they already are KU members, this will extend their subscriptions.

Now, what if you want to give them something physical?

One choice is a “powerbank”. This would be good for any EBR (E-Book Reader) or Fire tablet (or Fire Phone, for that matter). This is small device you charge up, and then you can carry it with you. It is then able to charge your device….pretty much any common device that would charge from USB.

My work just gave us all these for the holidays:

[Upgraded Version] EasyAcc 2nd Gen 10000mAh Power Bank Portable External Battery Pack (2.4A Smart Output) Travel Charger for iPhone Samsung S6 Edge HTC Smartphones Tablets -Black and Orange (at AmazonSmile*)

This one might be a bit heavy for some people but there are also smaller and lighter ones. The bigger ones can typically charge more often before they need to be charged, and may be able to charge bigger devices (not everything that can charge a phone can charge a tablet).

They can be especially valuable on a long flight; even though more planes seem to have in-seat power, it’s still far from universal. It’s not always easy to find an outlet during a layover. While an EBR can outlast the longest flight, having the power option can be good for an extended camping trip…or if the timing to charge your device just wasn’t right.

You also want something with “Smart Output” like this one…that detects what is plugged into it, and delivers appropriate power.

Even if they already have one, it wouldn’t hurt to have two.🙂 They could return it, too. This one is $18.99 at time of writing.

For home power, we use one of these:

Photive 50 Watt 6 Port USB Desktop Rapid Charger. Intelligent USB Charger with Auto Detect Technology. (at AmazonSmile*)

This is a little charging station…small and sleek. It’s similar to the portable powerbank, in that you can plug USBs into it. You can charge your EBR, your tablet, your phone…all in one place, and quickly (great for taking to a hotel, too).

This was initially recommended to me by reader Man in the Middle (and others)…thanks, readers!

If they have a

Amazon Fire TV (at AmazonSmile*) (today, 12/12, is the last day of a sale on them)

 

I’d suggest Bluetooth headphones. I use these a lot with ours, when my Significant Other is still asleep.🙂 I use an inexpensive type from Arctic which is no longer available (others from them are). I like the behind the neck style, rather than over the head or in the ear, but there is a huge range.

If they have an

Amazon Echo (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

there are so many options…but it’s hard to get the right home automation if you don’t know what they already have. There are compatibility questions when you are buying smart lightbulbs, for example.

Certainly, another Echo would generally be welcome.😉 We have one in our house in the family room, but having another one in the bedroom would be good.

I would say the most interesting thing I have for use with the Echo is our

Logitech Harmony Home Control – 8 Devices (White) (at AmazonSmile*))

which is $107 at time of writing.

That controls our TV devices: I can switch sources, turn everything off, and mute the TV, all just by voice requests through our Echo to IFTTT (If This Then That) and then to the Harmony.

Now, I want to be clear: this is more of a hobbyist thing at this stage. It’s not simple to set up the activities on the Harmony: doable, yes, but it takes some work and it’s not all intuitive. See

How to use the Amazon Echo and a Logitech Harmony to put on your TV shows

in my The Measured Circle blog for a starting point

The Harmony is also a great universal remote (we eliminated the use of several remotes), and once that is set up, it is easy.

Some other ideas:

  • Wi-fi extenders…around $30 and up, which improve the signal for your devices in your home
  • Hubs…not too hard to get a more (?) powerful hub. There would be some set up involved
  • Stands and holders
  • Individual e-books can be gifted
  • Donations to charities which support literacy; some, like Worldreader.org, specifically use e-books and Kindles

One other suggestion, which I also made at work when we were asked for low-cost give ideas.

You could go to

Project Gutenberg

and download legally free public domain books you like, especially if you liked them when you were a child. You could then write something about why you liked them…and give them to a child in your life. It’s like a mixtape, but with books…a “littape”.😉 That would be a gift which would never be forgotten.

Have a great holiday!

What do you think? Do you have other suggestions? What “accessory” for an Amazon device has been the best gift you’ve gotten…or given? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

11 Responses to “What do you get them if they already have an Amazon device?”

  1. Phink Says:

    Battery packs are also great for when the electricity goes out unexpectedly from time to time. Here in the south we don’t get enough snow and ice in order to invest as much money in the machinery the Northern communities spend in order to keep things going smoothly after a snow storm. Therefore, if we get much snow or ice at all it’s a big problem. I always say “in the south if there is a 10% chance of 1/10″ of snow your presence is required at the grocery store.” Shelves are bare almost instantly LOL.

    I think it was 2009. I know the Kindle 2 was revealed during this time because I had no electricity to watch it at my house. After a brutal storm there were areas in NE Arkansas that had no electricity for weeks. We were without 2 1/2 weeks at my house. Thank goodness for the gas heating unit. Once my Kindle 1 went dead there was nothing I could do. A battery pack would have done wonders.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thank for writing, Phink!

      I’m not sure what the battery charge life loss is when they aren’t being used. If they drain slowly enough, it could make sense to have one in what we call “go bags”…emergency kits, which where I am, are thought of mostly for earthquakes (but we also have floods and fires).

      The K1 didn’t have USB charging, as I recall…I think that came in with the K2. However, having some back up power supply would certainly have been good!

  2. Phink Says:

    Of course I like buying my significant other kindle books for Christmas. Instead of having them sent to her on Christmas I always print then and wrap them. Here are some of the ways I have found to wrap kindle books over the last few years.

    An old paper towel roll can be used. I’m talking about the brown roll in the middle. Once you use the paper towels just roll up your kindle book certificate and place it in the roll and wrap it.

    The K1 case is great. If you have one just place the certificate in it and wrap it. Just make sure you can get it back.

    I love this idea and it just came to me not 2 dozen seconds ago. It’s amazing how many hardcover DTB’s you can get from Amazon for $4-$5 shipped. Buy the DTB version, place the certificate inside and wrap it. After Christmas the DTB can be donated to the library, stored away for a future gift, or just taken to work and placed on the break room table with a note that says “I Need a Good Home”.

    Borrow something that belongs to the person you are giving it to and wrap it with or around that. I once used my wife’s shirt, folded it, and wrapped it. By feel she thought it was clothes of course. She was also asking if I seen her pink shirt. I told her it was probably in the place lost socks go.

    Cut two flaps off a box, place the certificate between the two flaps and wrap that.

    Put a picture of a family member in a picture frame and before wrapping it place the certificate on top of the frame. Two gifts in one.

    Once you think about it a person can come up with all kinds of ways to wrap a kindle book.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      Yes, great suggestions! I did have a Kindle book gift for someone else e-mailed to me…gives me a number of options.

      In terms of the donation, you might also check for a local Little Free Library:

      http://littlefreelibrary.org/ourmap/

      No tax write-off for that, but it’s a good bet it would go to a good home.

      Thanks for the thoughtful and informative comment!

  3. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Since I don’t have an Echo, but I do have an overly active imagination, I wonder about things. If you have two Echoes, will they communicate with each other, like Furbies? What will they talk about when they are alone in the house? Will they just keep each other company so neither one becomes as depressed as Poor Marvin in “Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy”? Or will they plot together to form the building blocks of a Robopocalypse? Will all the Echoes meet online to form a hive mind like the Borg? Is resistance futile?

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      You will be assimilated.😉

      Interestingly, the Echoes are very much a hive mind. It’s part of why it (not they) has progressed so much.

      They all transmit information to Central, which processes it and can use it to upgrade the individuals…to go back a step in series, “Norman, coordinate.”🙂

      Presumably, someone else’s Echo doesn’t know my shopping list…but I’m sure it isn’t stored locally. In fact, I know it’s not on an individual device, since our Echo, our Fire TV, and my Fire Phone all know it. I can update one and the others are updated. Hypothetically, then, an Echo on one account could tell an Echo on another account personal information about you. I don’t believe that happens, but it is a hive mind.

      As to the talking to each other: it’s certainly possible. Echoes understand synthesized speech (which is a good thing for some people using adaptive technologies). Alexa has the Eliza skill of “psychoanalysis”. It would be interesting to start two of them talking and to see what happened…

      Do they converse of their own volition in private? It wouldn’t be very private if we knew…😉

      • Phink Says:

        I would love to have a 2nd Echo for the bedroom. Actually, I’d like to have a 3rd for the office. However, what would I do with my Bose, which I also love? I almost bought another Echo when they were $149 but I did not because I know me well enough to know I’ll be wanting the 2nd gen model when it comes out. Therefore, I will wait and probably someday own the first 3 generations.

        I love Star Trek references. Thank ya’ll for that LOL. Our 25th anniversary is coming up in May and if we renew our vows we’ll use a kindle for the ceremony of course but perhaps also a Klingon wedding. The only problem is at 50 years old I’m no longer a young whipper snapper and getting beat up with sticks at my wedding would not be pleasant. Plus, I’m too old to have my clavicle broken. Klingons believe if one of the two newly married people break their clavicle on their wedding night it blesses the marriage.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Phink!

        It will be interesting to see what future iterations of the Echo might bring us…

        As to your feeling on the Klingon wedding…jlyaj.😉

      • Lady Galaxy Says:

        Phink, if you’d like a destination vows experience, there are quite a few places in Vegas offering Klingon or other Trek related weddings.

  4. barry anderson Says:

    So, I’ve been wondering if the Voyager is going on sale. I see that (today, 12-13) the paperwhite is $20 off but not the Voyager. Any idea if that will change or why the difference?

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, barry!

      Generally, I think they want the Voyage seen as a luxury item…and it can actually hurt a luxury item’s sales to put it on sale. Part of the value is that you can afford the top of the line.

      The only time I’ve seen the Voyage go on sale was in early November: and that was only for Prime members (which gets you a bit around the luxury marketing issue, since Prime members are supposed to feel like they are part of a special club already).

      The Paperwhite sale ends December 19th…

Leave a Reply

