The four books I’m (actively) reading now

The four books I’m (actively) reading now

I’ve mentioned before that I read more than one book at a time.

That’s always been the case with me…and it’s one of the reasons I like e-books and the Kindle so much.

I used to leave books in different rooms in the house, and just read whatever book happened to be in the room I was in at that time.

I know a lot of people don’t do that (my Significant Other doesn’t). You get one book, and read it straight through, then just go on to another book.

Just not my style.  :)

I never get the books confused. I think reading them in different contexts probably helps with that…I’m reading the same book in the same setting.

As a trainer, I know how important context can be.

There was a great study where they taught people something when they were standing in water (I think up to their waists). When they re-tested people, those who were standing in water again could do it much better than those on dry land.

Here’s a context memory trick I give people.

Let’s say you are in the car and you hear something mentioned on the radio: a phone number, a website, or maybe a book title. You want to remember it later, but you can’t write it down or record it easily.

Slap your leg, then say what it is you want to remember out loud.

When you get home, sit down again…simulating the car. Slap your leg (same hand, same leg) and you’ll probably remember it.

I also had a great example of it. I was helping someone at their desk in an office. They said (approximately), “I don’t know why I can’t remember how to do this…I knew it before.”

I looked up and said, “Was there a picture behind your computer before?” There had been, and it had just recently been removed.

That was the problem.

If we had gotten the picture back, the person would have known how to do it. As it was, we had to retrain…

So,  I like reading multiple books at once, and don’t have a problem with that.

Right now, I’m actively reading four books…by actively, I mean I read all of them just about every day. There are a number of other books I’m reading…but that’s more catch as catch can. I’ve been rationing

Ghosts: True Encounters with the World Beyond (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

because I like it a lot, it’s short essays, so it makes a great transitional “emergency book”, when I’m between other books.

I only read it maybe once in a month, so I don’t consider that one an active one.

Here are the four I am actively reading…and why these.🙂

I’m re-reading an omnibus edition of the fourteen original Oz books by L. Frank Baum. The edition I have is no longer available, so I’m not linking. I’ve never been a re-reader, so this is a bit of an experiment for me. I read it on my

Kindle Voyage (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

when I’m going to sleep…usually not even completing a chapter at a time.

It is interesting: I am seeing new things as I re-read them, even though I’m a big fan.

At home, I’m also reading

Who Goes There? (at AmazonSmile*) by John W. Campbell

on my

All-New Kindle Paperwhite, 6″ High-Resolution Display (300 ppi) with Built-in Light, Wi-Fi – Includes Special Offers (at AmazonSmile*)

This work (shorter than a novel) was the inspiration for the science fiction classic The Thing (from Another World), and other versions (including John Carpenter’s gonzo adaptation starring Kurt Russell). I’ve never read it before, and one non-spoiler but that surprised me. One character seems to me to clearly be Doc Savage! The character is described very much like Doc, and it would make perfect sense for Doc Savage to be in this situation under an alias.

When I’m out on the road, I’d usually be focused on one book…but a gift that I got,

The League of Regrettable Superheroes: Half-Baked Heroes from Comic Book History (at AmazonSmile*) by Jon Morris

has some great excerpts..typically, a cover or one page from these mostly public domain works.

Text-to-speech is important to me, and I don’t want to miss the illustrations, so this isn’t my book for the car. I’m reading it on my now discontinued Kindle Fire HDX. I’m loving this one! Good scholarship and context, and the right amount of snark.😉 Not disrespectful, but pointing out some of the ridiculousness of some of these characters. I mean, with many of these origins, the hero survives something which should have killed them, but somehow imbues them with incredible powers instead. I guess what doesn’t kill you makes you super…

In the car, I’m listening to

The Man Who Fell to Earth (at AmazonSmile*) by Walter Tevis

I’m reading this one as a borrow from

Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

I certainly knew about the book…I think I own a paper copy, but I’d never read it.

At this point, although it is certainly worth reading, I’d say like the movie better. I’ll also say that David Bowie was perfectly cast….

Well, those are my actively reading books (I’m also reading a couple of  magazines). What about you? How books are you actively reading? Are you happy just reading one book at a time? Feel free to me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

4 Responses to “The four books I’m (actively) reading now”

  1. Phink Says:

    I also read multiple books at a time. Of course I have a mild case of CDO. That’s the same thing as OCD but in alphabetical order. Therefore, I read them according to self imposed rules such as a certain order.

    I am also reading four books right now. Star Trek: A Visual Dictionary by: Paul Ruditis is only the 2nd DTB I’ve read since getting my first kindle on February 19th, 2009.

    I’m re-reading Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. Re-listening actually as Jim Dale does the best performance I’ve ever heard from any audio book before. These are now available on Audible if anyone is interested. Folks can listen to the sample at audible dot com if they want. Sidenote: On my 50th birthday last week I got my first tattoo. It’s a pair of wire rim glasses with a lightning bolt above the right eye. I never wanted anything permanent on my body but realized at 50 years old permanent is not that far away.

    Outlander by Diana Galbadon. I love time travel books and I wish she’d hurry up and get to it because at 8% into it this is quite boring for me.

    1812: The Navy’s War by: George C. Daughan. I am always surprised at the number of people who have no interest in history. Some of the best stories every written are non-fiction stories of our past. So far it’s a great book and I chose it after having a discussion about this war a few weeks ago with my adult son and realized I know very, very little about this war.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      I’ve always heard great things about Jim Dale and audiobooks (especially HP), but I’ve never listened to one. What you describe, where you have previously read it and then listen to the audiobook is something I would do…it’s like watching a movie after having read the book for me.

      That book is available through Kindle Unlimited, but I don’t think you get this audiobook that way…it’s the only one of your four which is.

      I can understand getting the Star Trek book in paper…and it’s not available in e-book, anyway.🙂 DK books are high quality…I’ve always liked them.

      That’s another thing…I also love time travel books…but I’ve never read Outlander. One of these days…

      I’m also with you (hey, we have some tastes in common) on history. I enjoy a lot of non-fiction, but well-written narrative history can be as good as any fiction, and it has the extra dimension of being at least based on truth.

  2. Phink Says:

    There was one instance where I kept getting confused while reading multiple books at a time. I was reading both a Civil War book and a Revolutionary War book, as well as one or two others I’m sure. There were a few times after reading a passage that I had to think, which one is this? Sometimes after reading a bit I’d think it was one and quickly realize it was the other. Especially if it mentioned General Lee. I might have an image of Robert E. Lee pop into my head but realize a paragraph later it was Light-Horse Lee from the Revolutionary War. During battle descriptions I sometimes had to think ‘which book is this one again’. For the most part it was fine but at times It was distracting so I won’t do that again.

    Also, I am not into comic books, super heroes etc. However, I saw on Goodreads the other day that you were reading this book about regrettable Superheroes and even I want to read that book. I put it in my wish list. It sounds like a fun read.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      I can see how two General Lees could be confusing…but that might have happened to you even if you were only reading the Revolutionary War book, right?🙂

      It was a fun read! I don’t think you’d need to be a comic book fan to enjoy this one. When it got to the Silver Age section, I’d read some of those heroes…but I haven’t been much into the comics in the “modern age”. The Dark Knight was great, but I consider that a genre buster.

Leave a Reply

