February 2016 Kindle book releases

February 2016 Kindle book releases

While I don’t generally pre-order Kindle store books myself, I know many of you do.

I understand the fun of just having the book show up, but I figure I’ll order when I want it…since I could have it within a minute, usually.…

However, it’s worth noting that pre-ordering at a low price will tend to preserve that price. Back when the Agency Model was solidly in place, Amazon couldn’t guarantee that books sold by the publishers using that structure wouldn’t go up in price after you pre-ordered them. It wasn’t likely, it was just that Amazon couldn’t control it. We have largely returned to the Agency Model, but Amazon is allowed to discount in some circumstances.

These aren’t necessarily the most popular of the pre-orders…I’m just going to list ones that catch my eye. Since we might not agree on that, here’s a link to the 5,405 (at time of writing) February releases in the USA Kindle store:

2016 February USA Kindle store releases (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

Of those, by the way, 837 are in

Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

That’s a higher percentage…there are 317 fewer books overall, but 90 more KU.

As usual, I won’t be deliberately linking to books which block text-to-speech access blocked**.

We’ve gone back and forth recently on whether the top four were the

Kindle First (at AmazonSmile)

picks for this month.

Amazon no longer does the “New and Popular” search as a default, but does “Featured”. Presumably, a human being picks those titles in some way…and the list is clearly not the same. This time, we are back to them dominating the top…although Identical Disaster by C.M.  Owens breaks the streak by being the third one listed.

The other thing is that some of those Kindle Unlimited titles are way up on the list. I’m concerned (and I’ve alerted Amazon about it) that people are confused: they think they are pre-ordering a KU borrow, when they are actually pre-ordering a purchase. In other words, they may be thinking they’ll get the book at no additional cost, and actually be charged for it. Amazon has confirmed for me: you can not pre-order a borrow from KU.

Okay, books!

  • The God’s Eye View by Barry Eisler (KU)
  • The Billionaire’s Touch (The Sinclairs Book 3) by J. S. Scott (KU)
  • Originals: How Non-Conformists Move the World by Adam Grant and Sheryl Sandberg
  • Please Don’t Tell My Parents I’ve Got Henchmen by Richard Roberts (KU)
  • Lightning Lingers (Lightning Strikes Book 2) by Barbara Freethy
  • Over You (A Mr. Darcy Valentine’s Romance Novel) by H.M. Ward and L.G. Castillo
  • The Girl in the Red Coat by Kate Hamer
  • A Shade of Vampire 23: A Flight of Souls by Bella Forrest KU
  • Will’s True Wish (True Gentlemen) by Grace Burrowes
  • My New Teacher and Me! by (“Weird”) Al Yankovic and Wes Hargis
  • The Secret Language of Sisters by Luanne Rice
  • The Industries of the Future by Alec Ross
  • Social Media Made Me Rich: Here’s How it Can do the Same for You by Matthew Loop
  • Gladstone’s Games to Go: Verbal Volleys, Coin Contests, Dot Deuls, and Other Games for Boredom-Free Days by Jim Gladstone
  • Brotherhood in Death: In Death by J. D. Robb
  • The Book of the Beast (The Secret Books of Paradys) by Tanith Lee
  • The Urban Monk: Eastern Wisdom and Modern Hacks to Stop Time and Find Success, Happiness, and Peace by Pedram Shojai
  • The Burn Pits: The Poisoning of America’s Soldiers by Joseph Hickman and Jesse Ventura
  • Sweet Dreams Are Made of This: A Life In Music by Dave Stewart and Mick Jagger
  • Cometh the Hour (Clifton Chronicles) by Jeffrey Archer
  • Elephant Complex: Travels in Sri Lanka by John Gimlette
  • Jane and the Waterloo Map (Being a Jane Austen Mystery) by Stephanie Barron
  • How To Be a Tudor: A Dawn-to-Dusk Guide to Tudor Life by Ruth Goodman
  • Land of Shadows: A Medieval Mystery (Medieval Mysteries Book 12) by Priscilla Royal
  • Baseball Prospectus 2016 by Sam Miller and Jason Wojciechowski
  • Calamity (The Reckoners) by Brandon Sanderson
  • Starflight by Melissa Landers
  • Dining at The Ravens: Over 150 Nourishing Vegan Recipes from the Stanford Inn by the Sea by Jeff Stanford and Joan Stanford
  • Breakdown: An Alex Delaware Novel by Jonathan Kellerman
  • Leonard: My Fifty-Year Friendship with a Remarkable Man by William Shatner and David Fisher
  • Blood In Her Veins: Nineteen Stories From the World of Jane Yellowrock by Faith Hunter
  • The Worry Trick: How Your Brain Tricks You into Expecting the Worst and What You Can Do About It by David A Carbonell and Sally M. Winston

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

** A Kindle/Fire with text-to-speech can read any text downloaded to it…unless that access is blocked by the publisher inserting code into the file to prevent it. That’s why you can have the device read personal documents to you (I’ve done that). I believe that this sort of access blocking disproportionately disadvantages the disabled, although I also believe it is legal (provided that there is at least one accessible version of each e-book available, however, that one can require a certification of disability). For that reason, I don’t deliberately link to books which block TTS access here (although it may happen accidentally, particularly if the access is blocked after I’ve linked it). I do believe this is a personal decision, and there  are legitimate arguments for purchasing those books.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

n thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

4 Responses to “February 2016 Kindle book releases”

  1. Edward Boyhan Says:

    None of the books on your list are ones that I would ever buy, let alone pre-order. I generally do not pre-order indie titles (unless it’s next in a series I’m really attached to).

    I do pre-order titles from mainstream authors — especially if the publication date is far in the future. It’s never a price thing with me, it’s just fire and forget, and I know that an especially favored author’s next book will appear when it’s ready. Some authors I do this with: Ian Rankin, Michael Connelly, Robert Crais, and Daniel Silva.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Edward!

      I do try to include a variety, but I’ll admit to having been shorter on time on that post than I would have liked.

      I did have some inexpensive and somewhat obscure ones, but I also included the Jeffrey Archer that should be a New York Times bestseller…

  2. Lady Galaxy Says:

    I’ll eventually read the William Shatner book, but I’m guessing it will be more Bill and less Leonard.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!
      🙂

      I never thought Shatner really understood Star Trek…or how people feel about Captain Kirk and Spock. Compare Star Trek V (Shatner directed) with Star Trek IV (Nimoy directed).

      That said, you gotta love the Shat! I’m not the only person who thinks one of the (intentionally) funniest things ever was William Shatner singing Rocket Man…

Leave a Reply

