eReaderIQ: the best resource for Kindleers on the web

eReaderIQ: the best resource for Kindleers on the web

Remember when Johnny 5, the artificially intelligent robot in

Short Circuit (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

wanted “more input”?

Well, nobody would ask for that now!

We all have almost endless amounts of data available to us.

What we want is to make sense of it.

For example, there are over four million titles in the USA Kindle store.

Every one of those titles has several pieces of data on its Amazon product page…just a few of those include: price; publisher; whether the text-to-speech access is available; and is it a book you can get as part of Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)?

Let’s say you wanted to know when a particular book became half off.

You’d have to check the website every day to see when the price went down.

What if you were trying to track one hundred books?

Wouldn’t it be nice if you could pay somebody to track all of them for you, and let you know when it got to where you wanted?

What if it was free?

Well, it is at

eReaderIQ.com

You can give them a list of books…even import an Amazon Wish List. You then set your alert point, and they’ll send you an e-mail when it is reached.

What’s the catch?

There really isn’t one.

Ideally, you buy the book from the link they send you….I assume they get a percentage as Amazon Associates.

They are additionally supported through advertising (on the website) and donations.

I also use their Price Drops page to see what has dropped which I’m not tracking…and what the most clicked offers are. I particularly like that you can choose to see ones which are also in paper, and set a price boundary…letting me find traditionally published books for people who aren’t as comfortable with indies (independently published book).

The Price Drop feature is just one of the services at eRI.

You can also see current freebies, and books under $1.

Another good one is to see which books have been recently Kindleized. Even with four million titles, there are many more published titles which are not yet available through the USA Kindle store.

If you want, you can even be notified when a book’s price drops for an author you choose.

The most tracked authors include:

  • James Patterson
  • Jim Butcher
  • Jeaniene Frost
  • George R.R. Martin
  • Stephen King

I think you’ll find the site easy to use and intuitive.

Oh, and you can choose between three different Amazon sites: .com, the UK one, and the Canadian one.

Before I mention the feature I use the most, I should mention that I have some correspondence with them, but am otherwise not associated with that site except as a user.

Okay, the one I use the most is the

Advanced Search

Sure, you search by title, author, and genre, but there is a whole more to it than that.

You can set a price range…including zero to zero for free.

You can use Amazon’s categories to search by age group or language.

You can choose to include or exclude public domain (not under copyright protection titles).

You can set a date range for release…during, before, or after a month and year.

You can choose if the books are in Kindle Unlimited, have Whispersync for Voice, and/or if they are Word Wise enabled.

I use quite a few of those options.

One more thing I really like: you can look at the history of prices for a title. On many pages, you’ll see a small price graph: click on that to get a larger version.

Over time, they have continued to improve the site, adding more features and a smoother interface.

Quite simply, you can get a lot more out of your Kindle experience by using eReaderIQ.

Do you have any comments? Questions? How do you use eReaderIQ? What’s the best thing you’ve gotten out of using the site? Feel free to tell me and my readers by commenting on this post.

Thanks to regular reader and commenter Lady Galaxy for suggesting this post!

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

6 Responses to “eReaderIQ: the best resource for Kindleers on the web”

  1. Jennifer Martin Says:

    I love ereaderIQ! A great site, very helpful.

  2. Lady Galaxy Says:

    You can also sign up to receive a daily list of free and low cost Kindle books. I am assuming that when I click their links and buy one of the low cost books, they receive something back from Amazon.

    When I get a notice that a book I’m tracking goes into my price range, I buy it quickly. Sometimes they are part of a special deal and go right back up again. I don’t know if Amazon gives feedback about daily sales, but I hope by buying when the price drops I’m sending a message to the publisher about the price.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      Your assumption is my assumption.😉

      You are right to snag a book at a price you like. When you look at graphs of prices over time at eReaderIQ, they generally don’t look like a slide…they often have a few sharp dips with an otherwise pretty even line.

  3. Man in the Middle Says:

    eReaderIQ is a wonderful resource, even for those of us who are already Kindle Unlimited subscribers. I use eReaderIQ almost daily to track books I’d like to either read or add to my permanent library but consider overpriced at the time. It allows me to enter a price I consider fair, and lets me know if the book is ever offered for that.

    eReaderIQ also lets me know what prices have previously been offered for that book, which helps in knowing whether I’m ever likely to get a book for what I’m willing to pay.

    In addition, it lets me know whenever favorite authors offer deals on their books.

    Whenever I am notified of a deal by eReaderIQ, I make sure I order the book from their link, so they get something out of the deal too.

    If authors and publishers were wise, I’m guessing they too could use the site, to see what customers are tracking, and what they are willing to pay.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Man!

      I don’t check it every day, but I’m more likely to use it for deep dives. However, I do have “watches” on a few books.

      Oh, I would hope publishers and authors look at eRI! It can help communicate to them where the future demand is, for one thing.

Leave a Reply

