Update your Kindle or lose access on it to your Cloud, the store, and other Kindle services

Update your Kindle or lose access on it to your Cloud, the store, and other Kindle services

Big thanks to regular reader and commenter Lady Galaxy for letting me know about an e-mail from Amazon about a looming deadline.

One of the other Kindle Forum Pros (we get that designation from Amazon for being helpful on the Amazon forums, but we aren’t employed by them) pointed me to this Amazon help page with the details:

Critical Software Update for Kindle E-Readers (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

The basics are this:

For many older Kindle EBRs (E-Book Readers), if you don’t update them by March 22, 2016, they will no longer be able to access the Kindle services. You would still be able to read e-books from the Kindle store you have already downloaded to your devices, but…

  • You would not have access on that device to your Cloud: the books (and other items) that you have purchased from the Kindle store and are being stored for you by Amazon
  • You would not be able to buy new items from the Kindle store on that device
  • “Other services” would likely include subscriptions (including blogs like this one), Send to Kindle, Whispersync between your device and other devices on your account, and backing up your annotations

First, I do want to say that this is going to be a pretty small group of people (which does include Lady Galaxy). Devices generally automatically update “over the air”. I would guess that not one percent of devices out there are not updated.

However, people do choose not to update. For example, I know of people who chose not to update a device after Amazon allowed publishers to block text-to-speech access. That meant that they didn’t get the books wirelessly on those devices, they downloaded them with a computer and transferred them via USB…which is what could happen after this deadline passes, I assume.

What I don’t like here is that was voluntary: this won’t be.

Second, it’s important to note that Amazon is not taking away people’s purchases. They can continue to read them and they could do it using Amazon’s free reading apps.

The “however” on this one is that if they want to read those books on an e-ink device, they would have to buy another one (or have another one registered to the account).

Third, and significantly, this could lose people access to active content (games and apps) unless they update. You can’t use those in the reading apps. They don’t work on the current devices.

So, this is a takeaway, although not for very many people in many situations.

Still, I don’t like that. We don’t commit to updating our devices to continue to have the access we have when we purchase a license from the Kindle store.

Now, this may be unavoidable in some way.

Since this is going to affect all devices back to the 2007 model, it clearly indicates a change in the Kindle network/server side, not on the devices.

They aren’t suggesting that you have to get a new update, just the current ones.

Personally, especially given how small this group is going to be, I think Amazon should compensate them in some way.

One smart thing to do would be to offer them a small discount on a current device and to promote the trade-in.

Amazon could give them a $20 discount on the purchase of a new device. They don’t have to do that; Amazon is, I believe, within their contractual obligations to require this update. It would be good Customer Service (and Amazon has great Customer Service), and help alleviate fears that this might inflame about eventually losing access to your Amazon purchases. It’s not my intent, but this post may spark a bit of a tweetstorm about Amazon taking away access. Of course, it might not: I don’t get quoted all that often.😉

I’m writing this to give you a heads-up so you can take some actions if you want.

You could download things to your current device. Downloaded e-books and active  content and such should continue to work (although features like Wikipedia look up and sharing quotes probably wouldn’t). You could then use them…until it died.

You could update it…while you might lose some things you like, it would be fully connected.

You could emotionally prepare yourself to switch to (or at least add) another device.🙂

Even if Amazon doesn’t offer a discount to those affected people, there is a trade-in program (probably won’t get you much, but could get you something):

Amazon Trade-In Program (at AmazonSmile*)

Also, and I don’t think there is any connection, but most of the current line up of EBRs and Fire tablets are on sale right now.

I had started to write a post about that, but this story is important to me…so I’ll paste what I was writing here:

It’s not just KU that’s on sale: so are many devices!

I wrote recently about

Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

 being on sale through this Sunday:

25% off Kindle Unlimited through Sunday

Many of the Fire tablets and Kindles are also on sale!

In terms of the EBRs (E-Book Readers), this is similar to a deal they did in November…$20 off, with the Voyage not on sale.

So, I’ll copy in what I said then:

Kindle, 6″ Glare-Free Touchscreen Display, Wi-Fi – Includes Special Offers (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*) $59.99 (down from $79.99)

The $20 off also means you could get it without the Special Offers ($79.99, down from $99.99) for the same price you would normally pay for an ad-supported model.

This is the entry level model, and it’s a good one. Here are some of the differences between this and the Paperwhite (which I’ll link below):

  • No frontlighting, so you read it like you would a p-book
  • Fewer pixels per inch (167 versus 300), so the image isn’t as sharp (but I would say sharp enough for most casual reading…you might notice it with images, like graphs)
  • Available only in wi-fi…no wi-fi and 3G option (for more money)
  • A bit less heavy, a bit thicker

Kindle for Kids Bundle with the latest Kindle, 2-Year Accident Protection, Kid-Friendly Blue Cover (at AmazonSmile*) $79.99 (down from $99.99)

This is like the above, but includes a ruggedized cover and an extended warranty…since each of those costs $20, this is a big savings, even without the discount.

Certainly something to consider for a gift.

All-New Kindle Paperwhite, 6″ High-Resolution Display (300 ppi) with Built-in Light, Wi-Fi – Includes Special Offers (at AmazonSmile*) $99.99 (down from $119.99)

The Paperwhite (this is the latest generation) is a great model Kindle! I’d say it may be my favorite (price and everything taken into account), with the Kindle 3 (Kindle Keyboard) being second…well, wait, lack of TTS makes that a tighter battle. For sight-reading, it’s my favorite. 🙂

Why would you literally pay $100 more (right now) for a top of the line

Kindle Voyage (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

?

You do get a few more things:

  • Adaptive light sensor
  • Page press buttons (in addition to touchscreen…these all have touchscreen)
  • Quite a bit less heavy and a tad smaller

Also on sale are the least and most expensive Fire tablets:

Note that all of these prices are for the USA, and are for a limited time…as always, check the price before you click or tap that “Buy button”.

Here is Amazon’s list of the devices affected by the deadline:

Device and Year Software Release Your Device Needs Update via wireless (3G) or Wi-Fi
Kindle 1st Generation (2007) 1.2.1 Use 3G
Kindle 2nd Generation (2009) 2.5.8* Use 3G
Kindle DX 2nd Generation (2009) 2.5.8* Use 3G
Kindle Keyboard 3rd Generation (2010) 3.4.2 or higher Use Wi-Fi
Kindle 4th Generation (2011) 4.1.3 or higher Use Wi-Fi
Kindle 5th Generation (2012) 4.1.3 or higher Use Wi-Fi
Kindle Touch 4th Generation (2011) 5.3.7.3 or higher Use Wi-Fi
Kindle Paperwhite 5th Generation (2012) 5.6.1.1 or higher Use Wi-Fi
Kindle Paperwhite 6th Generation (2013) 5.6.5 or higher Use Wi-Fi
Kindle 7th Generation (2014) No Update Needed No Update Needed
Kindle Voyage 7th Generation (2014) No Update Needed No Update Needed
Kindle Paperwhite 7th Generation (2015) No Update Needed No Update Needed

* For these devices, even if you are running software version 2.5.8, if you have not connected to wireless (3G) since October 5, 2015, please connect now.

Let me be really clear: I’m not mad at Amazon about this. It’s clearly part of Amazon improving services for the vast majority of their users. Inevitably, that can cause some losses to some people. Building something that’s great for cars may be bad for people who ride horses. Building something that’s great for electric cars may be a negative for people who use internal combustion engine cars. I do think it would make sense for Amazon to give something to the people who are losing something, but I don’t think it’s required…

What do you think? Do you have one of these “unupdated” EBRs? What do you plan to do about it? Had you gotten the e-mail? Whether you have one or not, do you think Amazon should compensate people in some way for the change? Do you think we as consumers will see changes to the Kindle service on all of our devices after March 22nd, or is this just a “behind the curtain” change? If you do think there will be visible changes, what do you think they will be? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

46 Responses to “Update your Kindle or lose access on it to your Cloud, the store, and other Kindle services”

  1. Zebras Says:

    Bufo:

    I had received the e-mail, and since there are so many types of Kindles on my account, I was unclear to which it applied, so your post is extremely helpful. I don’t think the e-mail is clear on what happens if you don’t do it by that date, say for the person who forgot where they left an old model and suddenly finds it in the closet. I think I know where all mine are! LOL

  2. Crystal Says:

    I have given my old 2nd gen Kindle to my in-laws who live several states away. The idea was for them to try it out and see if they like the Kindle experience before I spend money on a new device. I left the wireless turned off and am not in a position at the moment to get this upgrade to that device. It’s likely to remain un-upgraded well after the deadline.

  3. Tom Semple Says:

    The most annoying thing is that there is not information about which Kindle models are affected. I have 3 Kindle Touch devices linked to my account that are loaned to family members, and I don’t know if I need to bother them about the update. It’s a very small update, all it does is update security certificates and (I’m guessing) the address of the authentication server. And it will be something people can download from the Kindle updates page and ‘manually’ apply at some point, should they lose access.

    I have had my Kindle One plugged in with wireless turned on for several nights now, and I have no idea if the update has arrived or not. The letter makes it sound like it will happen as soon as those conditions are fulfilled, but it would be nice if they would send a message that ‘your kindle has been updated’. The version number has not (yet?) changed and I don’t know if it will.

  4. Lady Galaxy Says:

    I cannot get Amazon to understand that my reason for not updating all my K3’s to the latest version is because they made changes to that version in how text is displayed, and those changes make it very difficult for me to read text at larger font sizes. How is hour eye supposed to track when there are frequently lines where one word is lined up with the left margin, another word is lined up at the right margin, and there is a large space in between because the words were too large to fit three on a line? Uneven spacing between words might be barely noticeable with small font sizes, but with the three larger sizes, it is not only noticeable, it is hard to track.

    I had thought I was going to be able to keep my Kindle 3’s running 3.3 safe from the update because I do not connect through wi-fi. Unfortunately, when I fired up my DX today, I found that I had inadvertantly left 3G on, and it updated automatically even though it isn’t even capable of wi-fi. That means if I stick to my plan to download the unread and books I might want to reread to my two K3’s, I will leave myself open to an accidental upgrade.

    I guess Amazon has decided to force this downgraded upgrade on those of us who do not want it, who have actively avoided getting it are going to have it forced upon us.

  5. Lady Galaxy Says:

    OOps. I wish this site had an edit post function. I didn’t read carefully enough. Looks like the K1 and Dx upgrade via 3G but the K3 still updates via wi-fi. So far as I can tell, the DX text wasn’t affected by the upgrade. I’m going to go ahead and see what happens with the K1. I’ve been able to download from the cloud archive with it, but it won’t recognize me in the Kindle Store. It calls me “Guest” and won’t let me buy anything. It will be interesting to see if the “update” fixes that.

  6. Wendy Frazier Says:

    Yep. I received the Amazon e-mail as well. I’m SO glad Amazon gave us this alert and I really appreciate their candor. And as I dug out my older Kindle 2 and Kindle DX I discovered they were in the “off” mode. I compare this public relations effort to other certain companies (I’m talking to you Apple) where their recent updates wiped out all syncing capabilities between my old Mac mini computer and my newer iPhone with no heads up. That was not a pleasant Apple customer experience, and some warning would have been immensely helpful and appreciated. So thanks Amazon for taking the time to appreciate your “first edition” buyers.

  7. Lady Galaxy Says:

    If you hear a loud thumping noise, it’s just me banging my head against the wall. My most recent communication from Amazon trying to convince me that they heard me, they are working on a fix, got my hope up until they concluded with “To ensure the utmost attention, I’ve also passed your message on to the appropriate people in our company. We value our international customers and hope to make our Kindle and other services available in more locations in the future. We’ll be sure to let you know as soon as they are available internationally through our website.” I am not now nor have I ever been “international.”

    I give up!😦

  8. Edward Boyhan Says:

    I have 4 EBRs (KDX, KT, PW2, PW3). Just a couple of days ago I updated my PW3 to the latest release with the new home page. I had incorrectly thought that the PW3 was 6th generation (it’s 7th). I dutifully downloaded the 6th gen bin, and copied it onto my PW3. As soon as I disconnected the PW3 from my PC, the kindle displayed a message that an illegal DL had been made to the PW3, and it promptly deleted the erroneous bin. I finally figured out that PW3 is 7th gen; got the right bin, and all went swimmingly. It was nice to see that Amazon went the extra 6 inches to protect me from my folly, and a potentially bricked PaperWhite (:grin).

    At first I thought there was more to the update than there actually was. It’s basically a cosmetic refresh of the home page with a few other flourishes here & there (grid vs list views e.g.). Basically under the refreshed home page the functionality is identical to what was there before.

    The control bars at top & bottom of pages use more spidery graphics & fonts with some mild improvement in access to functionality. The new home page IS better (you can turn off the recommendations at the bottom, and then you get a bar with the latest special offer which I prefer. I like that my kindle wish list is on the home page. The 3 most recently accessed books, blogs delivered, or personal docs are displayed, and updated dynamically — so you can for example see the latest blog downloads.

    One thing I don’t like: it let’s you remove a cloud collection from the device. It removes the collection name from the device, but not the collection content. So if you think of a collection as a bag containing a list of books, removing the collection is like dumping those books out of the bag back onto the root of your device. IMO it would be more useful to be able to remove the collection and all its content from the device (this would in effect create a block removal of books from a device instead of the current book by book removal).

    I did finally get around to sending to kindle-feedback@amazon.com a request for block removal, and also a way to see what collections are on what devices and their contents from the manage my content page. I got a nice reply back & some colloquy — the request has been passed on to the dev team.

    I also contacted the Whispercast team to see if they could do any of this. The answer after a bit of back & forth is no. WC is basically oriented around 1 Amazon account/device with no ability to move titles around (as you might want to do as semesters end and students move on). You deregister devices after each term. If you are using BYOD’s that’s done by gifting titles to the BYOD & is permanent. It’s really geared towards bulk sales to organizations.

    Anyhow, I’ll have to go check my PW2, KDX, and KT to make sure they are all at the requisite level (sigh).

  9. Edward Boyhan Says:

    All those deals sound like inventory clearance — seems like a strange time of year to be doing that — unless they’ve got some new stuff on the way?

  10. Tom Semple Says:

    Can you clarify what is meant by ‘Software Release Your Device Needs’? If you have the release, you are ready for the update, or if you have the the release, you already have software that avoids the problem?

  11. jjhitt Says:

    This will kill the market for used devices on Ebay. If I want to get a first generation or a DX I’m going to have to move now.

    • Tom Semple Says:

      All anyone needs to do if it stops working is to apply the update, then it will work again. It is just that after the cutoff date, the update will not come automatically.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Tom!

        The issue is, I think, that there are people who don’t want to update. It’s understandable that if you don’t get an update, you don’t have access to new features. Removing access to existing features (not features being discontinued, by the way) feels different to me.

        You buy a 2013 car. When the 2016 comes out, it has Alexa. When you bought your 2013, you didn’t expect Alexa, and you don’t get it…that seems fair.

        If they tell you that here will paint your car for free to chartreuse…and if you don’t do it, you can’t put gas in it any more…well, that seems like an ex post facto change to the original purchase understanding.

    • Lady Galaxy Says:

      The Kindle 1 and DX automatically update when you turn on wireless. Unfortunately, this download doesn’t fix the mess that is the Kindle Storefront on those two devices. They still link to a New York Times bestseller list from back in the day when 50 Shades was topping the chart.

      If you have device that can only update via wi-fi or a computer download, you will eventually have a document download to your Kindle telling you to update or else. It scared me when it popped up last night while I was trying to archive books that are only readable to me on the K3 running 3.3 because that version displays books with left text justification. At first I thought I’d gotten a stealth download of the dreaded upgrade after spending the whole evening downloading books from the cloud to that device.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, jjhitt!

      Hmm…I think if I was going to sell one on eBay, I would update it first, so I’m not sure it will depress prices. In fact, there may be few unupdated ones around, so for people who prefer the old justification, for example, it may cause a rise in prices for unupdated models.

  12. michele hogan Says:

    I really don’t like this – or the coming update for the newer devices. I have two Kindles – one, for guests, from 2010, and the other a 2015 paperwhite that I use. For the older one, I don’t mind doing the update, but I do mind the threat that if I choose not to, I can no longer access my own paid-for books in my own account on it. Why should that be? It makes me distrust Amazon, as I don’t feel that was our deal when I bought the Kindle.

    I object to the coming update to the paperwhite for different reasons. In that case, the update seems entirely to Amazon’s advantage – aimed at selling more books – than to mine. I really don’t need “suggestions” on books to buy, or want anything about past, present and future purchases on my home page. It feels like the entire update enhances Amazon’s ability to sell things rather than my experience as a reader, which is why I own the Kindle in the first place.

    I really do like having a dedicated e-reader, but this experience is beginning to sour for me a little.

    • Lady Galaxy Says:

      One of the Kindles that I don’t want to update has special offers, which means I’ll no longer see any new offers. Worse, I’ll be stuck with the last special offer screen saver that downloads. I wish they would at least give me back the authors or the kid sitting under the tree.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Lady!

        Well, if I didn’t have Special Offers, I couldn’t have “rescued” our Paperwhite.🙂 Yeah, it may eventually become amusing at how outdated the product/offer is, depending on how long the device lasts…

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, michele!

      I can understand that feeling.

      You bought a Kindle. You bought a book. Amazon promised to store the book for you so you could download it again later if you wanted. It all worked at that point.

      As I understand it, there wasn’t a commitment that you had to upgrade your device from time to time…I’ll try to double-check it.

      Now, Amazon is saying, “You know how we said you could buy books from us, and that we would store those books for you? Well, if you don’t make this upgrade to your device, which will, by the way, change how the device you bought works for you, you aren’t going to be able to buy books from that device, or download ones we’ve stored for you.”

  13. Man in the Middle Says:

    After I manually installed the latest upgrade for Voyage, I was informed I would not see the new home screen because I previously turned off recommeded content. This is now set under Settings | Device Options | Personalize Your Kindle | Advanced Options | Home Screen View | Off, in case anyone else also prefers the former home screen after this upgrade.

  14. Insider Says:

    All, this is an update to push TLS/SSL SHA256 certificates to the device to ensure that each device can still talk to the server, which is being upgraded to the newest security standards.

    There should be no change in functionality of the previous software version. If you do not apply this, you will not be able to download books from the store. Whisper sync won’t work, etc.

    On most devices, it is a single or two file update.

    –Previous Kindle framework engineer who managed security updates for all Kindle devices

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Insider!

      I really appreciate that insight, Insider!

      The issue for some of my readers is that, while this update may not change the functionality of the immediately previous software version, they have older software versions which they prefer. What they are being told is that they can’t get this crucial small update without catching up first on the large updates.

  15. Kn Black Says:

    I will not update. I haven’t bought an E-book and it looks like I never will. If they want to bully me into do it or else. I will pick the latter. All the books I read are from Gutenburg, Free Books, etc. These services offer close to a million books that are the accumulated knowledge of the world. Not interested in the current “Shades of Gray” type books. The Wi-Fi is kept off to increase battery life, to stop the pushed down marketing, and other unknown software bloat ware that most likely is buggy and might intrude in my privacy. The reason I went with Kindle was it seemed to me to be less intrusive market driven then Apple and big brother types. Don’t like this demanding do it or else so we can manage you better. I might feel a little better about it if they would at least explain the specific changes that are being done to my machine.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Ian!

      Early on, there was a lot of talk about perhaps Amazon giving away a Kindle with a subscription plan for books, or something like that…or the opposite, buy a Kindle and get a certain number of books, and Jeff Bezos reportedly made the point that the purchase of the Kindle and of e-books were designed to be two different things. Bezos was making clear at the time that you could use Kindle books on other company’s hardware (which continues to be true), and use the Kindle for other content than Amazon’s (it has been compatible with text files from the beginning…not all EBRs…E-Book Readers…did that). That didn’t mean Barnes & Noble books, though.😉 It also didn’t mean EPUB, but there might have been licensing concerns there.

      Well, the marketing has perhaps become more intense over time, but I think Amazon is okay with your usage…not that you need their approval.🙂

  16. Vicki Says:

    My mother has a Kendle and did the upgrade. Now she cannot get access to her Kendle at all. It will not let her sign on to the device or anything. What can she do?

  17. Vicki Says:

    My mother has a kindle and has done the upgrade. Now she has no access to her kindle at all. It will not let her sign on or anything. What does she need to do?

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Vicki!

      When you say she can’t sign in, does she get to a place where she can try, or is it just a blank screen, or…?

      If it’s a blank screen, try restarting it. Unplug it and then hold in the power button for thirty seconds. Depending on your model, it will either restart or you can push the power button to start it again.

      If that doesn’t work, or if that’s not your situation, contact Kindle Support:

      http://www.amazon.com/kindlesupport

      I usually have them call me: my phone rings in seconds and I’m speaking with someone within a minute.

      If you need more help, let me know.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Vicki!

      When you say she can’t sign in, does she get to a place where she can try, or is it just a blank screen, or…?

      If it’s a blank screen, try restarting it. Unplug it and then hold in the power button for thirty seconds. Depending on your model, it will either restart or you can push the power button to start it again.

      If that doesn’t work, or if that’s not your situation, contact Kindle Support:

      http://www.amazon.com/kindlesupport

      I usually have them call me: my phone rings in seconds and I’m speaking with someone within a minute.

      If you need more help, let me know.

  18. Anon Wibble Says:

    Time to stop using Amazon. I got a kindle to avoid exactly these types of problems. Seems like Amazon can’t be trusted. Time to get all your ebooks off the amazon site, and crack the DRM and back them up before Amazon start deleting things.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Anon!

      Certainly up to you. It’s always a good idea to periodically weight the pluses and minuses of your relationships with companies.

      I’m curious, though…I don’t see any difference in the trust level with Amazon now. What problems were you having another company that you chose the Kindle to avoid?

      One other thing: you may not be in the USA, but here, my understanding is that it would generally be illegal to strip the DRM (Digital Rights Management) in a circumstance like this. There are exceptions, but I don’t see how this falls into one, particularly since Amazon is not preventing access to the books they store for you…with the readers, they give you a free way to read those you’ve already purchased. Your individual device may become unable to connect with Amazon if it doesn’t have the current software version, but that’s a different issue from access to the books.

      • michele hogan Says:

        You know, it is and it isn’t a different issue. In general, I appreciate your calm and reasoned approach, and I do think Anon is a little over the top in deciding to try to crack the DRM because, as you point out, this update does not affect access to content – only to content on the Kindle. But we don’t own only our content. We own our Kindles.

        It’s not like Amazon GAVE us our Kindles so that we could read our books on them. We paid for these. Many of us carefully researched the extent to which Amazon would retain control of our Kindles and content, and were satisfied with the arrangement. We also bought ad-free Kindles, expecting to be free of annoying intrusions and the ability to determine our own reading material, without outside ‘help’. Amazon is now changing all that.

        In these updates, Amazon is changing how they relate to us on our own machines. I have the update on my new Kindle now, and it’s not horribly intrusive – but the home page really is just one big Amazon ad. I junked my older one, and I shouldn’t have had to.

        I still like reading on Kindle. I avoid the home page as much as possible, won’t let it connect to Goodreads, won’t click on “What to read next” or any other silliness. I try to just keep moving from page to page, enjoying the reading experience. But that doesn’t mean I like the update, or think it is fair of Amazon to require it!

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, michele!

        I really appreciate your comment! I think you did a great job articulating how many intelligent and long-term Kindle users feel about this update.

        First, I may be able to make a suggestion which changes the “big Amazon ad”.🙂

        I’m not sure which model you have, but I think it should be this:

        Home – Menu – Settings – Device Options – Personalize Your Kindle – Advanced Options – Home Screen View – (turn off) Home Screen View: Display recommended content from store and enable learning lists

        Once you do that, it should look like it did before. Oh, you might need to tap the display down arrow (to your right of where it says ALL|DOWNLOADED) and choose either Grid View or List View. I always use List View, but I’m just not that visually oriented.

        So, although they don’t make it obvious, they aren’t mandating the “discovery help”.

        Hopefully, that helps.

        Second, I’m pretty sure it’s been in the Terms of Service all along that Amazon had the right to update the software. I think they are doing this one because they need to modernize how devices connect.

        There are really three elements here:

        * Your content (which, as we’ve both noted, hasn’t changed)
        * Your device
        * Amazon’s connection to your device

        Amazon is not changing your device…they are changing the way Amazon connects to it. There are, hypothetically, people who use Kindle and don’t use Amazon…they are unaffected by this, I think…not quite sure about the experimental browser. I don’t think they are trying to cut anybody out on purpose, and I don’t think they tried to deceive people about this…I think they probably could explain that better, though.

      • michele hogan Says:

        Thanks very much for the path – I knew about it before the update came in, but forgot after that! I have no problem with the security aspects of the update – after all, my Mac gets updated all the time too, as does my phone – it’s something we expect. It was the loudly self-serving aspects that bothered me – glad I can turn them off!

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Michele!

        Yay!🙂 I’m considering a post on what’s coming up this week (this isn’t the only one)…if I do, I’ll include that path.

  19. Edward Boyhan Says:

    Well today’s the day I finally decided to address this — prompted by an email in my inbox about my KDX. Haven’t had the KDX on in over a year, but it turned right on. The problem was immediately apparent: I had wireless turned off (keeping wireless on on those early kindles really impacts battery life). Followed the instructions in the email, and now I wait.

    Checked my kindle Touch — it had already updated automagically. Both my PW2 & PW3 don’t need updates, but I checked their S/W levels. As I was looking at the PW2, it automatically started an update to install the new UI (which I had manually installed on the PW3 several weeks ago). Still both the PW2&3 are one level behind the updates available on Amazon’s S/W update pages — probably bug fixes — I’ll let them come when they come.

    BTW, Amazon isn’t doing this to change their business relationship with us, or change how we interact with them over the internet. It’s not arbitrary, and it wasn’t really Amazon’s decision to do this.

    Rather the internet community has deprecated signing of security certificates with the SHA1 algorithm. After January 1, 2017, any certs signed with SHA1 will be rejected.

    This update from Amazon is merely to enable SHA2 signing so that access will not be impacted going forward. There have also been concerns as of 4Q 2015 that SHA1 may have already been hacked. So for your safety, this is a good thing to do sooner rather than later. Amazon will be updating their servers to only support SHA2 signing in the not too distant future.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thank for writing, Edward!

      Wow!

      Thanks for the specifics!

      It was my understanding that they were doing this out of necessity with some change in the connection, but I didn’t know what it was specifically.

      Love your insights!

  20. Upcoming deadlines | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] Update your Kindle or lose access on it to your Cloud, the store, and other Kindle services […]

  21. Tim Daly Says:

    My tablet device won’t update because I need the Amazon App
    which will not install.

    My DX won’t update. I downloaded the update and spent the day
    on the phone with tech support. I failed. They failed. They said my
    DX was out of warranty but they offered me a discount on a new
    device. This isn’t a warranty issue. This is malicious behavior.
    They are breaking my device.
    AND AMAZON WANTS ME TO PAY FOR BREAKING MY DEVICE

    I have been a loyal customer for 15 years. If I lose the ability to
    read the books I PAID FOR I will cancel my Amazon account.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tim!

      Let’s start with your last statement first. You won’t lose the ability to read the books on your account. This doesn’t affect the books. You could read them in a free Kindle reading app, as one option.

      http://amzn.to/1ZbqZWA

      Although I don’t have it 100% confirmed yet, you should be able to download them to a computer and then use a USB cable to transfer them to your Kindle DX.

      You could also read them on other devices registered to your account.

      You also have through March 21st to wirelessly download books to your device. Now, I have more books on my account than would fit on a Kindle DX, I think, but I also think that’s unusual.

      I don’t think I can help you with your Kindle DX. Just as the previous generation from that one (the original Kindle) wasn’t able to do some things that yours can do and couldn’t be update to do them (text-to-speech is one example), it’s possible that yours can’t be updated to the new version. However, the link I listed in the post does suggest that the KDX can be updated appropriately…but if Amazon couldn’t make it work, I probably can’t.😦

      The reason why it is a warranty issue is that, if something occurred during the warranty period that made your device unusable, they would owe your a remedy. They don’t contractually owe you a remedy now (not even the discount they offered you).

      It doesn’t seem likely to be malicious to me…my understanding is that a protocol (SHA1) is changing, and that is going to affect the ability of devices to connect to the Cloud (not just Amazon’s devices, and this isn’t Amazon’s doing). Arguably, it would be negligent for Amazon to not address the issue and have it that none of their customer’s devices could connect wirelessly.

      One other place I might be able to help you…do you mind sharing what kind of tablet you have?

      • Edward Boyhan Says:

        Amazon’s announcement for this update requirement explicitly mentions the KDX as needing the update, and they provide a link for that update.

        I even got two follow up emails from Amazon to turn wireless on on my KDX so they could do the update — that was a week or so ago. Since then no update has appeared.

        It is possible to manually do the update. Go to the link for the KDX update on Amazon’s site. Download the “.bin” file to be found at that location to a pc. Take your KDX and plug a USB cable from it to your PC. It should then appear as a disk drive on your PC. Copy the “.bin” file you downloaded to your PC to the root of the KDX disk drive.

        Disconnect the KDX from the PC. From home on the KDX push the Menu button; go to Settings. From the settings page on your KDX push the menu button again — a popup should appear with a normally greyed out item: “Update your Kindle” now not greyed out, select that, and the upgrade should then proceed.

        The only reason I can think of for this not working is if the KDX H/W is somehow “broken”. If everything else on the KDX is working, I would find this hard to believe. It would seem to me (since Amazon is forcing this update) that it behooves them to fix what seems to me to be a bug on their end.

        Mind you my KDX has not yet been updated, and if not done with the next few days, I will do it manually. If it does not work for me as well, then that would be strong evidence that Amazon has a bug in the KDX update package :grin.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Edward!

        I appreciate this detailed comment.

        Certainly, Amazon thinks you can update the KDX for this…but Tim reports spending a day with tech support. Assuming that was Kindle Support, it suggests that there was a genuine issue (I would think that, over the course of a day, Amazon would have suggested and talked Tim through a manual update). Yes, it’s possible that there is something particular to Tim’s device, especially if it was modified in some way, which some people do. I don’t think it has to be the hardware, and I don’t think that everything else working that Ti does means there isn’t an issue.🙂 Updating a device is a pretty different interaction with the device than what most people do.

      • Edward Boyhan Says:

        I got tired of waiting so I just did the manual update.

        I hadn’t realized that there were a few different KDX’s released. My serial number started with B005 — I almost downloaded the B004 version (as that was what I originally bought, but the H/W failed & Amazon sent me a replacement which was a serial B005 — if I recall they switched from Sprint to AT&T for wireless — so they could go international).

        Anyway, it worked fine — I’m now at version 2.5.8 — don’t seem to be any differences — though I wouldn’t expect there to be (:grin).

  22. Liz Says:

    Could someone tell me if my old Kindle Keyboard has updated? The current version on it is 3.4.2.

  23. Liz Says:

    Thanks Bufo, Amazon have not made things very clear. I’m 64 and not brilliant with technology but thanks for the info. I’m assuming that my Kindle Fire HD 7 will be ok! It’s current version is 7.5.1.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Liz!

      Yes, you are fine…they only list Kindle EBRs (E-Book Readers), not the Fire tablets.

Leave a Reply

