All seven Harry Potter books in one download for $14.99…and an 8th HP book in July!

All seven Harry Potter books in one download for $14.99…and an 8th HP book in July!

Update: it looks like my glitch hypothesis for this pricing may have been correct. The price is back up to $56.64. My guess is that they accidentally priced the seven-volume omnibus with the price for the eighth book (see below…especially for those of using screen readers, I’ll link it here, too: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Parts I & II (Special Rehearsal Edition): The Official Script Book of the Original West End Production (at AmazonSmile*)). Based on the reviews posted yesterday, some folks did get it a that price, which I consider to be legitimate (it’s the price that was posted…by accident, probably, but when you are buying the book, you don’t know that and shouldn’t be expected to evaluate it). Again, many thanks to jabag01 for tweeting me on this, so I could share it with you. Back to the original post…

Thanks to jbaga01 for the heads-up on this!

I don’t know why this is happening**, and I don’t know how long it will last, but it looks legitimate to me at first examination.

Harry Potter: The Complete Collection (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

for $14.99!

That’s all seven of the novels from Pottermore!

Is it a glitch? Is it price-matching? Is it introductory?**

I don’t know at this point, but I’m getting this out quickly so you have a chance to get it at this price.

Remember that you can give these as gifts and delay them for the proper gift-giving occassion…and they are going on our guest Kindle!

Check the price before you click or tap that Buy button…e-book prices can change at any time and this might be only in the USA.

Enjoy!

**Update: this is probably why…a new, official eighth book in the Harry Potter series is coming out this July!

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Parts I & II (Special Rehearsal Edition): The Official Script Book of the Original West End Production (at AmazonSmile*)

You can pre-order now for that same price point of $14.99.

We have to be clear about what this book is (besides a super bestseller, of course).😉

It will be a script, not a novel, and it won’t be the final script version of the play. It’s  so designated because the staged version will likely evolve. I’ve been in original scripted plays (I’ve written couple) and they can be like a TV show, where they keep handing you new pages (“Today we are using the green pages, we aren’t using the blue pages.”)

J.K. Rowling (the original Harry Potter author) is one of the writers credited on the story on which the script is based, but the script is by Jack Thorne.

None of that will matter much to the sales.😉

Reading a script is a different experience…I enjoy it, but not everybody will. It’s much more structured than a novel, and that can take some people out of it (you keep seeing the name of who is speaking, for example, and there may be stage directions rather than a narrative description of something).

I’m also sure some of you are wondering if Jim Dale will do an audiobook version…

Regardless, this is exciting!

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things. 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

11 Responses to “All seven Harry Potter books in one download for $14.99…and an 8th HP book in July!”

  1. Tom Semple Says:

    ‘The Complete Collection’ is selling at Google Play Books and Kobo for $56.64. So they are price matching, but only with each other. Apple iBookstore does not have such an edition, they have the slightly interactive editions (animated GIFs audio clips etc).

  2. Robert Anderson Says:

    Now priced at $56.64.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Robert!

      Yes, it looks like that was a glitch…that they put the $14.99 price for the 8th book on the seven-book collection by mistake. That’s just a hypothesis.

  3. Lady Galaxy Says:

    I bought the whole collection for $14.99 plus tax. Fortunately, I was able to download it to one of my Kindles that is running the outdated software, because it displays in full justification on my Voyage and on the Kindle that got the update.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      I’m glad! I do think they priced it at that by mistake, but that was the price when you bought it.

  4. tellthetruth1 Says:

    We’ve got it in England too, Bufo, but a heck of a lot more exPENsive than your dwnld. Typical England, haha. There’s also the complete DVD selection up for grabs. That’s very well priced here. Wish the books could have been there when I wanted them. I bought the paper boxed set. Very nice set of books, actually.

    Hope you’re well, by the way🙂

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, tellthetruth1!

      Oh, it was atypical in the USA.🙂 I would give you an eighty percent change that they put the price they intended to be on the eighth book on this omnibus…just a mistake. It changed pretty quickly to $56.64, which probably pretty close to the equivalent pricing.

  5. Phink Says:

    I bet it was a glitch because why run a super sale around midnight with no advertising on such a popular item? Of course, a marketing genius I am not so who knows.

    I have been putting off getting these in digital format for a long time and am now glad I did. Of course my favorite form of reading is immersion reading. I even did that some before the term immersion reading was invented. In the days of DTB’s if I could find a sale at these things we used to have called book stores, I’d buy both the CD and hardcover edition of a book. I’d almost always buy the Hardcover. I’d then play the CD while reading the book. I did this more often once I discovered used audio book CD’s at Amazon were quite reasonable at times.

    Immersion reading by Amazon for me is the best thing since sliced bread. Now, I can do this with Harry Potter but not officially. The page will not highlight, nor will it turn itself but I can have the Echo play the audible audio book while I read from the Voyage. Aaahhhh, great times.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      I think that a lot of people like immersion reading, as you do. I’d be more likely to read one book while listening to a different one…

      • Phink Says:

        Then I will have to start calling you Data. On one episode of TNG I think it was at least 4 pieces of music he was listening to at the same time.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Phink!

        I have been called many things.😉

        I also completely empathized with Thomas Jerome Newton (played by David Bowie) watching a bunch of TVs tuned to different programs at the same time in The Man Who Fell to Earth.

        There is a scene in Back to the Future II with Marty McFly, Jr., which makes it look as though in that future, watching multiple programs at the same time would be commonplace…

Leave a Reply

