Happy my birthday, 2016!

Happy my birthday, 2016!

February 12th is my birthday, and continuing a tradition, I’m giving you presents!

This is to thank you for making another year of my life richer. I have a lot of fun writing this blog, and I sometimes get to help people…and what could be better than that?

Part of KDP Select (the program through which users of Amazon’s Kindle Direct Publishing make books available for eligible Prime members to borrow through the KOLL…Kindle Owners’ Lending Library) is the ability to make books free for five days (they need not be consecutive) in a ninety-day period.

Please check that a title is free for you before buying it.

I have asked Amazon to make them free on February 12, but I can’t say exactly when it will happen. I think they may also only be free to customers in the USA.

Some might be fun to give as a little Valentine’s Day present…you can buy it today as a gift, and schedule delivery for the 14th.

So, you can click on the titles before, but please make sure it is free when you click the 1-click buy button.

The Mind Boggles: A Unique Book of Quotations (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

When this one was first published in December of 2012, it was the number one bestselling book of quotations at Amazon…including paper! That didn’t last long, but it was fun while it did. :)

Love Your First Generation Kindle Fire: The ILMK Guide to Amazon’s Entertablet (at AmazonSmile*)

This one has been a bestseller. It was written before the Kindle Fire HDs and HDXs, so it doesn’t match up exactly with those. If you do have the first generation Fire, though, I think you’ll find it useful.

The Kindle Kollection: Three Early Books about the Kindle (at AmazonSmile*)

This one combines the three below into one volume:

* ILMK! (I Love My Kindle): Being an Appreciation of Amazon’s E-Book Reader, with Tips, Explanations, and Humor
* Free Books for Your Kindle
* Frequently Asked Kindle Questions

ILMK! (I Love My Kindle!): Being an Appreciation of Amazon’s E-Book Reader, with Tips, Explanations, and Humor (Revised Edition)(at AmazonSmile*)

This has some fun stuff…and other things that are out of date. If you want The Happy Little Bookworm, this one has it. :)

The Collected I Love My Kindle Blog Volume 1 (at AmazonSmile*)

This is the first 101 posts in this blog. :) I did 101 posts so I wouldn’t cut off Doctor Watson’s Blog: A Kindle Abandoned (which is a four-part story). I’m still working, off and on, on a “best of” book. I’ll include posts that are less time-dependent…if you have any opinions on ones that you remember, feel free to let me know. I don’t know when that book will happen…as I mentioned recently on

My February 5th interview on The Kindle Chronicles

I am working on a different sort of project which should go live on February 29th. That is taking some of my focus (although this blog comes before that, of course). I’m guessing it might happen before it grows into the best of the first ten years, but we’ll see.😉
Remember, double-check that they are  free to make sure before buying.

Happy birthday! ;)

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

*When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

10 Responses to “Happy my birthday, 2016!”

  1. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Happy Birthday!

  2. Zebras Says:

    Happy happy birthday!

  3. Len Edgerly Says:

    Many happy returns, Bufo!

  4. Round up #137: Brick and mortar bookstore sales up, chance to win a $50 Amazon gift certificate | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] Happy my birthday, 2016! […]

  5. Lady Galaxy Says:

    As I’ve mentioned, I’m checking all the books I’d like to make sure I have in readable form so that the loss of access to Amazon won’t leave me with books I want to read but can’t because of formatting. Did you know that all of your books except for “Love Your Kindle Fire First Generation” appear with left justification on all my devices. Since I ended up not buying a Kindle Fire and definitely won’t be getting a first generation, I’m OK with leaving it in the cloud. But I’d be curious to know if you did something different with the formatting or content in that book that causes full justification.

    I’m also finding that about 80% of books on my Kindle 3 will the most recent update have full justification, but only 20% of the books have full justification on the Voyage, so apparently Amazon is working on it. And we’re talking a small sampling here. I’m checking all the books I want to archive on my soon to be orphaned Kindles, so I’m checking to see how the books justify on the Voyage. I got curious and decided to spot check on the updated K3 which will still be allowed to communicate with Mother Amazon. I checked all of the books in a series by the same author on both the Voyage and the updated K3. Nine out of ten of them had full justification on the K3 and only one on the Voyage. And no, the outlier wasn’t the same book;)

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      Hm…I don’t remember, but I doubt I did something different. We submit files, and Amazon formats them. I did The Mind Boggles after that one…it doesn’t look left justified to me.

      • Lady Galaxy Says:

        Interesting that it was an Amazon choice. Back when I first started complaining about the problem, they told me it was the publisher’s choice.

        Try using the second largest font size. That’s the one I use on Voyage. I use the third largest font on the K3. They size out differently.

        On the most recent Voyage update, text that appears to be justified using smaller font sizes appears with left justification on the larger font sizes. It doesn’t work all the time That’s why I have to check books one at a time to see how they appear. On the K3 with the most up to date software, it is left justified. I suppose not enough of us are still using K3’s for them to give it the full update in text handling that Voyage and apparently Paperwhite got.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Lady!

        I’m quite confident that I didn’t do anything consciously to cause a change to full justification.🙂 I prefer the ragged look myself.

        There may be some reason Amazon changed it…but I don’t know what it is.

Leave a Reply

