Upcoming deadlines

Upcoming  deadlines

“Turn and face the strange ch-ch-changes…”
–Changes by David Bowie

There are a few dates happening soon that mark changes around Kindles and e-books, so I thought I would round them up here and what (if anything) you need to do about it.

Tuesday, March 15th: B&N shuts down the NOOK bookstore

Barnes & Noble is shutting down the UK (I have readers around the world) NOOK bookstore.

After that, you won’t be able to buy NOOK books in the UK through their store, or through the Android app, or through your devices.

You’ll have until the end of May 2016  to migrate the books you’ve already bought.

For more information:

Meanwhile, at Barnes & Noble: NOOK books out of UK, financials are “in the groove” (of vinyl records)

Wednesday, March 16th: Shelfari transitions to Goodreads

If you’ve been a Shelfari user, Amazon has decided to merge it with Goodreads (Amazon owns both).

If you do have a Shelfari account, and you want to keep the data, you need to sign in and then chose to transition to Goodreads and/or download your information in a CSV (Comma Separated Values) file, which can be imported into Excel and other spreadsheets.

For more information, see

Amazon shutters Shelfari

Tuesday, March 22nd: update needed to older Kindles to access Amazon wirelessly

Amazon has announced a

Critical Software Update for Kindle E-Readers (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

This only affects some older Kindle EBRs (E-Book Readers…not the Fire tablets) which have not been updated.

If you don’t update your device, you won’t be able to get to Amazon wirelessly on that Kindle: no shopping in the store; no downloading from your Cloud/archives; I assume no blog/magazine/newspaper delivery.

One of my regular readers and commenters, Edward Boyhan, suggested that this is in preparation for the obsoleting of the SHA1 (Secure Hash Algorithm) algorithm in 2017…that’s the techie stuff, but that makes sense to me, also based on what Amazon has said.

An important note: when you do the update which my best guess is technically necessary, you’ll get all the rest of the update, too.🙂 That includes a new homescreen, which has a lot of recommendations on it…not everybody likes that.

Fortunately, although it’s pretty buried, you can go back to the old look:

Home – Menu – Settings – Device Options – Personalize Your Kindle – Advanced Options – Home Screen View – (turn off) Home Screen View: Display recommended content from store and enable learning lists

I’m waiting for confirmation from Amazon, but I would expect that you could still buy books for the device or download from the Cloud/archives…by downloading to your computer, and then transferring using a USB cable.

For more information, including a link to which devices are affected, see

Update your Kindle or lose access on it to your Cloud, the store, and other Kindle services

Have any questions? Any other deadlines (Kindle/e-book/Amazon related…I know there are others)😉 for my readers and me? Feel free to let us know by commenting on this post.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard our new The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help!  

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

10 Responses to “Upcoming deadlines”

  1. Zebras Says:

    Bufo:

    Speaking of changes, I play my music, both purchased and Prime, from the music library option on line, and I’ve noticed they’ve added a button for the song that is currently playing “Lyrics.” I pressed it and it and it gives you the lyrics to the current lines of the song. Not all songs have that option, but its a nice thing when you want to clear up those crazy misheard lyrics. My favorite is Pat Benatar’s “Hit Me With Your Pet Shark.”

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Zebras!

      There’s actually a word for misheard lyrics:”Mondegreens”.

      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mondegreen

      I think my favorite one is, “Oh Mama dear, we’re not the four chicken buns”.

      Recognize it?😉

      In my case, I’ve remembered a couple of things wrong…but I think my version was better than the original.🙂

      For example, I remembered a line from the mid-1960s Spider-Man cartoon as

      “In the cool of the night, in the heat of a crime”

      The actual line is, “In the chill of the night, at the scene of a crime”. Actually, I’m not sure the word “the” is in the first half, but I like the contrast of “cool/heat” more.😉

  2. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Interesting coincidence. Yesterday I contacted Amazon to see if I would still be able to download books to my “outdated” K3 [software version 3.3] via my computer. The reply said: “I would like to inform you that you can certainly download books from your computer and transfer them your your Kindles.” The use of present tense has me a bit concerned. I know I CAN do it now. I want to know if I WILL BE able to continue to do it after the deadline. I’m hoping you will get a more definitive answer. I’m also thinking I should do a practice run to make sure I can figure it out before it’s too late. I’ve never downloaded from cloud to computer to Kindle before.

    In addition, the person who responded to my e-mail question added: “Please note that we are aware of the bugs and the issues our customers are facing/having and these issues are already being worked upon. ” I don’t know if this was just part of the standard form, or if they are finally starting to work on it. I’m wondering if now that more people are converting to version 3.4.2 they are getting more complaints about the horrible kerning of fonts at larger sizing. I would be surprised to see a major update to software for discontinued models, but hope on, hope ever as they say!

    I checked 375 books on my Voyage for readability because they were the books I wanted to make sure I kept in readable form. Of those 375, 78 were full justification on my Voyage. The kerning has greatly improved on the most recent Voyage update, but it’s still harder to read than books with left justification. I didn’t check all 375 books on the K3 running up to date software, but of those I checked, close to 80% were full justification with irregular kerning. Only one book had full justification on the K3 running out dated software. It was a former “free” book that had been self published and presumably formatted by the author. It also used a “funky font” that couldn’t be changed and was very hard to read. I’ll probably use the “updated” K3 mainly for active content games and applications.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      Interesting! I appreciate you sharing your experiences and what Amazon told you.

      I’ve done the download and transfer…I thought it was pretty straightforward. The only trick was putting it in the right folder…I think it’s right on the Kindle folder, not inside of it, but Amazon’s directions have been good on this.

      • Lady Galaxy Says:

        Amazon is relentless in their attempts to make sure I upgrade. Today I got a snail mail post card from Amazon about the need to upgrade.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Lady!

        Wow! I would never have imagined Amazon doing a postcard for that! =:o

  3. Zebras Says:

    I have never heard the term Mondegreen before, but reading the article explains so much, including some lyrics that never made sense. You will have to explain your favorite, as without a tune to go with it, I’m at a loss. I loves things like this, even the line that a panda eats shoots and leaves. Add two commas, and your panda’s actions are different!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Zebras!

      It’s from Cyndi Lauper’s Girls Just Want to Have Fun. The original line is, “Oh mama dear, we’re not the fortunate ones. ” 😄

  4. Zebras Says:

    That’s fun. I love song parodies, too. I made up one as a teenager based on our family car. “Little Beige Chevette, baby you move so slow.” Unfortunately Prince never gave Weird Al permission to make parodies of his songs. While its legal to make a parody, Weird Al didn’t like doing it without permission.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Zebras!

      That one wasn’t actually a parody…it was a mondegreen, where someone misheard the lyrics to Girls Just Want to Have Fun.🙂

      In terms of song parodies, the legal issue often has to do with the music rather than the words. Mad Magazine used to say, “Sung to the tune of XYZ”, and that was fine. Actually using the music, as Weird Al does, would be a different story.

Leave a Reply

