A perfect storm for writing

A perfect storm for writing

I’d better keep my fingers limber this week!🙂

Actually, before I tell you why, I’ll tell you about a hand limbering exercise. I was never a magician myself, but I knew somebody who was in the Society of American Magicians.

Take a rubber band. Put your thumb through it, and make sure it gets down past the ball of your thumb. Now stretch it behind your fingers (you are hooking it over your pinkie…so pinkie, behind your hand, and over your thumb), and move that below your knuckles. You’ll figure it out: it should have some tension on it.

Now, take it off…but only by using that hand.🙂 You can’t use your other hand, and you can’t rub your hand on anything. You do it just by flexing your hand.

Okay, so why do I need to be limber?

The end of this week is a perfect storm for writing for me!

On Thursday, the 31st, our

Echo Dot (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

and

Amazon Tap (at AmazonSmile*)

devices are set to arrive.

I’m going to want to test them and write something up pretty quickly (certainly, within a few days). I think the Dot is going to be a big hit, more popular than the original Echo. I expect the Tap to be less so…not to do poorly, but I see it as more of a gadget while the Dot is more practical.

CNN is also starting its series The Eighties on the 31st. When they did the Seventies, I did two pieces…one for this blog, and one for The Measured Circle (which more generally covered geeky culture):

I Love My Kindle: Books in the 1970s

The Geeky Seventies

I like to do that again. The Eighties had some very interesting trends in literature, and general geek pop culture was fascinating as well.

Then, it’s the first of the month.

I do my Snapshots on the first of the month, and that takes, oh, an hour and a half or so. It’s one of the most labor intensive posts I do, and not the most popular…but it’s one of my favorite parts of the blog.🙂

Snapshots

I’ll also be following my regular posting routine throughout this time.

Finally, I’ve set April 2nd as the day I promote

 The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project

outside of my own circle (which includes you).

I’ve been making real progress on “retrofitting” existing entries, so you can get something out of them. I’m happy with how many of them work now: you can click on a book and read it right in the browser in many cases, if it’s in the public domain. If it’s under copyright, I’ve been linking to a search at Worldcat, so you can find the book in a public library.

For authors, I’ve been pleased with adding YouTube searches and Twitter searches. I’ve found some really cool videos by using the YouTube search (author interviews, for example), and the Twitter search gets much more diverse results than I would have expected (pictures of collectibles, for one).

It’s going to keep getting better, especially when I get some collaborators (I won’t do that before April 2nd, but if you are interested, let me know).

When I started it, I focused too much on quantity (although that is a goal), and not enough on quality…I’m fixing tht and that includes how I put entries into TMCGTT.

Oh, and every Saturday, I do a box office thing on The Measured Circle…that takes, oh, 45 minutes to an hour.

All of that doesn’t mean we won’t do our normal two hours at the dog park…unless it is raining. We did see Batman v Superman ^\/^v\S/ yesterday…and that’s  a long movie!😉

Should be a fun week!

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard our new The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things. 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

2 Responses to “A perfect storm for writing”

  1. Phink Says:

    Books from the 70’s. I know some will say Comic Books don’t count. Well, I’m going to mention one anyway. First, this reminds me of an episode of Andy Griffith. Goober was filling out a questionnaire for a dating service. Opie was helping him. (Paraphrase) Opie said “Next question. How many books do you read a month?” Goober said “I don’t know. Thirty or forty I reckon. I just love comic books you know.” Opie tried to explain that didn’t count but Goober insisted it did and that’s what he had Opie write down.

    There was a first in literature in the 70’s. Surely it was a first. KISS actually put blood in the red ink of their comic book. It was more of a gimmick as the entire batch of red paint only had 4 small viles of blood but even before 24 hour news or instant media this was huge news and a great publicity stunt. I hope nobody minds me mentioning comic books this one time. I understand why most would not include comic books in these types of list but I do appreciate thinking outside the box, even in marketing. I wonder what other grand marketing schemes others have done in the world of literature that I know nothing about.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      Love the reference!

      I do consider comic books different from text-based books, although that doesn’t mean I think they are lesser. It’s simply a very different medium.

      I didn’t remember that specific KISS stunt, but they were undeniably important in the 1970s. There have been gimmicky things in book marketing, for sure!

Leave a Reply

