Recent price drops…and do you still care as much?

Recent price drops…and do you still care as much?

Note: my apologies, but I inadvertently left off listing some recent price drops, which I intended to do from the start of this post! You’ll find them towards the end of it.

My Significant Other is a big fan of Fannie Flagg’s writing…although when you say “Fannie Flagg” to me, I still think first of The Match Game.šŸ˜‰

It was interesting to get an e-mail from AmazonĀ announcing a new Fannie Flagg novel:

The Whole Town’s Talking (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

Interesting…and then exciting!

Why that progression?

I had to go to Amazon to see if text-to-speech (TTS) access was blocked.

We don’t buy books where the publisher has chosen to insert code into it to block TTS access, as regular readers know. It’s not so much for us, although I typically use it for hours a week. It’s more because I think it disproportionately disadvantages those with print challenges and disabilities.

In fact, my SO wouldn’t have wanted me to mention the book to themĀ if the access was blocked…but it wasn’t!

Others had been, but in writing this post, I see that at least one of them which was blocked no longer is…more good news!

Still, we didn’t pre-order it (it comes out October 25, 2016 in the USA).

What was the issue now?šŸ˜‰

It’s more expensive than we usually pay for an e-book now: $14.99.

That’s not out of range for New York Times hardback-equivalent bestsellers, which this is very likely to be. This was what I recorded in my April 1st Snapshot:

Price Point Analysis of New York Times Hardback Fiction Equivalents

April 1, 2016

14.99 14.99 13.99 9.99 13.99 12.99 13.99 14.99 13.99 14.99
13.99 12.99 12.99 12.99 12.99 13.99 10.99 12.99 14.74 11.99

Average: $13.48 (+0.04) 1 title under $10

Three of those were $14.99…and by October, there may be more.

We just don’t usually buy currentĀ Big 5 bestsellers for ourselves any more.

As happy members of

Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

we pay $9.99 a month (well, we took advantage of being able to get it on sale, when that was possible). That, and gifts, are how we tend to read current books from tradpubs (traditional publishers).

This is a book we’d especially like to read, though…actually, my SO will really want to read it, and I like to read what my SO reads.šŸ™‚

What’s the answer?

Listing the book at

eReaderIQ

That way, I’ll get a free e-mail if the price drops an amount I specify. I expect this one may have price drops, because retailers will compete on the price (as much as they can under the current agreements with publishers).

How much would we pay for it?

When a book is more than $2.99, it feels like a luxury.šŸ™‚ I think we might pay $9.99 for this one, so I’ll set that as the level.

Well, actually, what I ended up doing, since it looks like more of the books may not have TTS blocked, is tracked Fannie Flagg the author…so I’ll find out if any of the books go down in price. You do that here:

http://www.ereaderiq.com/track/authors/

Again, though, I used to do this much more often. We just aren’t that emoionallyĀ tied up in currentĀ tradpubs any more.

There are so many more options that cost less and can be equally satisfying, at least for us. I don’t mind reading older books in KU, orĀ  new indies (independently published books).

How about you? Do you still care as much about when a tradpub books goes on sale as you used to care?

Let’s do a quick poll. If you can’t find a good choice between the options, you can always comment on this post:

The e-book is price considerably lower than the hardback, by the way. The hard-covered is list priced at $28, and Amazon has the pre-order discounted to $22.21.

Huh, that’s interesting! The trade (larger size) paperback is the same price as the hardback…and not discounted. So, you can pre-order it this (from cheapest to most expensive):

  • E-book $14.99
  • Hardback $22.21
  • Trade paperback $28.00
  • Audiobook on CDs $40.00

These prices may (and likely will) change before it is released, and they are just the prices I see now for the USA.

I see that they do have a “Pre-Order Price Guarantee”. When the publisher sells the book, they don’t technically have to do that, but they generally do.

Update: here are some recent price drops…(prices can change at any time and may not apply in your country)

  • The Lords of Discipline by Pat Conroy from $9.60 to $2.99
  • The Left Behind Collection by Tim LaHaye from $47.39 to $21.99
  • Dragonbane:Ā A Dark-Hunter Novel by Sherrilyn Kenyon from $14.99 to $8.99
  • Animals Make Us Human by Temple Grandin (I strongly recommend it) from $10.99 to $2.99
  • How to Succeed in Business without Really Crying by Carol Leifer from $18.99 to $2.99

What do you think? Do you care less aboutĀ  Big 5 books being discounted? Do you think that will be increasingly true? What are the factors which effect that? Will we see popular tradpubbed books go up farther in price? Alternatively, will begin to lower the prices if the sales go down (they’ve generally been having good sales on hardbacks, but it could happen)? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

Join thousandsĀ of readers and try the freeĀ ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboardĀ our newĀ The Measured Circleā€™s Geek TimeĀ TripĀ at The History Project!

*When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: youā€™ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)ā€¦and the good feeling youā€™ll get.Ā :)Ā Shop ā€™til you help!Ā :)Ā 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in theĀ I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buyĀ Ā Amazon Gift CardsĀ from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

7 Responses to “Recent price drops…and do you still care as much?”

  1. Deanna's World (@langshipley) Says:

    The price of an ebook is a bit of a strange thing for me. For my favorite authors I’ve paid as high as $14.99 in the past but not anymore. I’m not part of KU but even without KU, if you follow authors you like, very often they offer their books on sale, at 99c or free. I tend to pick them up then. 99c is much of a no brainer for me these days. 2.99 is probably the upper limit. 3.99 I have to stop and think and decide if I want it now or wait till it goes on sale depending on how soon I’ll get to reading it. I use eReaderIQ too. Great service and I’ve picked up a few books I’ve wanted from price drops they’ve notified me of. I have a lot of trad pub authors I enjoy but most of them come out of Berkeley and Simon & Schuster and those tend to average about $13.99. Very steep. I find it hard to justify when I can find so many books to read these days between free and 2.99. I’m also a keen follower of the top 100 free on Amazon in the genre I read in. That’s a great way to pick up a lot of decent books, and if they are not good? Well, they were free, I will not complain.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing Deanna’s!

      I think a lot of people follow your strategy.šŸ™‚

      The one thing I’d clarify is that it isn’t the authors that would price the books at ninety-nine cents…it’s the publisher. However, in the case of indies (independently published books), that might be one and the same.šŸ™‚

  2. pollymetallic Says:

    The biggest name authors’ books always show up at the local thrift stores like Salvation Army and Goodwill for $.75 -$1.99 paperback and hardcover. I only buy ebooks of popular but less common authors, and even then, rarely spend over $4.99. I have a huge list I track on eReaderIQ. I already have more books than I’ll read in years, so I tend to be fussy about quality and price.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, pollymetallic!

      Used books can be a great value. I don’t tend to buy them any more myself, but if you do, that can work well.

  3. Phink Says:

    Off topic and I know you are not an audio book fan but perhaps, just perhaps, some would like to know about this. Audible now has listening stations for free for their listeners. Some caught my eye such as ‘history’ and another for sure that could possibly open a political discussion which I do not want to do here. I think I’ll listen to a few today. The video makes it sound like they wanted to give us something short to listen to when we only have a few minutes. Here is the channel page if interested.

    http://www.audible.com/channels/ref=a_hp_c2_2?ie=UTF8&pf_rd_r=0EH71S83REVZS6GR2DZW&pf_rd_m=A2ZO8JX97D5MN9&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_i=5000&pf_rd_p=2465894262&pf_rd_s=center-2

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      I really appreciate you posting that! While, as you note, I don’t listen to a lot of audiobooks, I like my readers who do to get good news.

  4. Today’s KDD: “popular best sellers” | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] Recent price dropsā€¦and do you still care asĀ much? […]

Leave a Reply

