Amazon’s most well-read cities get ready for summer reading

Amazon’s most well-read cities get ready for summer reading

…and so does everyone else.😉

Amazon e-mailed me about two features they have right now:

Amazon.com Announces the Most Well-Read Cities in America

and

http://www.amazon.com/summerreading (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

The first one is an annual list. and Seattle  (where Amazon is headquartered) is again number one…which might make a suspicious person question the algorithm.😉

Amazon says, “The ranking is determined by a compilation of sales data from cities with more than 500,000 residents on a per capita basis and includes purchases of all books, magazines and newspapers in both Kindle and print format from April 2015 to April 2016.”

It’s interesting that there are some definite trends. Out of the top 20, four of them are in Texas, three of them are in California (and two of those are in my area, the greater San Francisco Bay Area ((San Francisco and San Diego))). Actually, the Western half of the country seems to dominate, with Texas, California, Washington State, Colorado, New Mexico, Nevada…lots of states.

Not very many on the East Coast, interestingly.

Does that mean we read more out here?

It might mean we use Amazon more.🙂 The East Coast might have older, bigger, brick-and-mortar bookstores (I’m a former manager of a brick-and-mortar bookstore…but that was here on the West Coast). We could be techier out here, and therefore more comfortable with both internet shopping and e-books.

Amazon also mentions some specific books for specific cities…so geography does seem to matter to some extent.

As to summer reading…

Summer is a time that more people read, I think. Obviously, for the school age, summer can give more opportunity to read for leisure. For others, vacation may be the one time of year they actually read books for entertainment…on planes, cruise ships, and beaches.

Personally, I don’t think I see much difference. I read all year round. I might read more, actually, during the winter holidays…I’ll get books as gifts then, and do tend to have a few days off.

Amazon  has 2,562 books listed in their summer reading…and big names are right at the top of the listing: a new Harry Potter (script for a play), a new series from Rick Riordan, a book by Anderson Cooper and Gloria Vanderbilt…these are those  “People Magazine books” which will appeal to casual readers.

Oh, interesting! The filters indicate  only 138 in Kindle format! Hm…could be because so many of these haven’t been released yet….they will likely get Kindle editions when they are released.

They do have a special section for “beach reads”. What’s a beach read? I’d define it as a “page turner” that transports you to a different place (and attitude).

That’s one of the great dichotomies of life: do you take a vacation to go to somewhere or to get away from somewhere?

I used to travel  a lot when I was a kid, and to some pretty exotic locales. Now, I’m not that into traveling…I love having vacations were I can stay home and read and/or  write.

Sure, I love going leash-free places with our dogs…but that’s not the same thing.🙂

Do you find that you read differently in the summer? Do you get to read more? Do you plan it out? Does the style of book you read change? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting  on this post.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard our new The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :)

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

 

2 Responses to “Amazon’s most well-read cities get ready for summer reading”

  1. Edward Boyhan Says:

    These days, my reading pace is pretty constant all year long — about 4-5 books/week.

    Back in the day my job was all consuming so I only had an hour or two at night to read in bed (I often fell asleep with the lights on all night — that still happens today :grin).

    Back then every summer, I would rent a house on Fire Island (along with some friends), but I don’t recall any great focus on reading. I wasn’t much of a beach person either — I spent most of my time visiting other houses to talk about this & that. I’m sure I did some “summer” reading, but I don’t recall any specifics. I’m pretty sure I wasn’t at all cognizant what the hot summer titles might be.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Edward!

      Reading close to a book a day is a great thing! I don’t read anywhere near as much as I used to read…unless you count reading what I’ve written.😉 My record is 3 1/2 books in a day (The Expendables series by “Richard Avery”…not connected to the recent movie series). Now, though, I probably don’t usually finish a book in a week. It’s hard to judge that well, though, because I’m typically reading several books…before e-books, that was a lot more difficult. I read every day, I can say that.🙂

      I was a competitive swimmer, but not really an outdoors person. Summer reading for me (after I wasn’t in school any more) might increase due to travel on planes and such…and we might be on vacation and I’d stay in the room and read for a day.🙂

Leave a Reply

