Today’s KDD: 17 popular books rated 4 stars or more, $2.99 each

Today’s KDD: 17 popular books rated 4 stars or more, $2.99 each

Today’s

Kindle Daily Deal (at AmazonSmile…benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

has some great choices in it!

I have to say, weirdly, Amazon says “Over 15 popular books…”. Well, I guess that shows the power of 5s and 10s…I shouldn’t say it is “weird”, but I think “17” is easier to write.😉

The books on sale today (note that the sale may not be in your country…check the price before you click or tap that “Buy button”) include:

  • The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah | 4.8 stars out of 5 | 24,556 customer reviews: you will rarely find a book with this high an average rating with this many reviews
  • The 14th Colony by Steve Berry | 4.4 stars | 548 reviews
  • Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson  | 4.5 stars | 1,122 reviews
  • Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles Book 2) by Marissa Meyer | 4.7 stars | 1,597 reviews
  • Mightier than the Sword by Jeffrey Archer | 4.3 stars | 2,390 reviews
  • A Darker Shade of Magic  by V.E. Schwab | 4.4 stars | 328 reviews
  • How the Light Gets In (Inspector Gamache) by Louise Penny | 4.7 stars | 2,023 reviews
  • Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire | 4.4 stars | 117 reviews
  • Ladies Night by Mary Kay Andrews | 4.3 stars | 808 reviews
  • Don’t Go by Lisa Scottoline | 4.3 stars |  862 reviews
  • First Grave on the Right (Charley Davidson) by Darynda Jones | 4.5 stars | 1,060 reviews
  • Independence Day (Dewey Andeas) by Ben Coes | 4.6 stars | 402 reviews
  • Born of Night (The League) by Sherrilyn Kenyon | 4.3 stars | 337 reviews
  • Sworn to Silence  by Linda Castillo (Kate Burkholder) | 4.4 stars | 652 reviews
  • A Kim Jung-Il Production by Paul Fischer  | 4.6 stars | 129 reviews
  • The Boy Who Drew Monsters by Keith Donohue | 3.9 stars | 100 reviews
  • Home Is Burning by Dan Marshall | 4.5 stars | 94 reviews

There are some mainstream popular authors and titles here! Nightingale, in particular, would have been in the window of brick-and-mortar bookstores (I’m a former manager of one). New York Times bestselling authors include Jeffrey Archer, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Louise Penny, and Lisa Scottoline.

Less well-known books are also still part of the

McFarland books for $3.99 (at AmazonSmile*)

sale about which I’ve written a couple of times. I have not bought so many books for myself in years as I’ve bought because of this sale!

I got myself:

  • Keep Watching the Skies! American Science Fiction Movies of the Fifties by Bill Warren (I’m 7% through it…and so far, I’ve seen and remember every one of them except for one which had very limited release in the USA…for years, people thought it hadn’t appeared here at all)
  • Forry: The Life of Forrest Ackerman by Deborah Painter (I had a moving interaction with one of the originators of fandom…an extremely important figure. It’s not unreasonable to argue that you might not have had Star Wars without Forry’s Famous Monsters of Filmland. This one had been on my Wish List for some time)
  • Broadway Musicals, 1943-2004 by John Stewart (I’ve done a few musicals myself, and love big reference books. My guess is that this will help inform The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip by helping me do dates for those shows…did you know there was a musical about Superman years ago? D*mn Yankees, Brigadoon…lots of musicals fit)
  • Encyclopedia of Television Shows, 1925 through 2010 by Vincent Terrace (Terrace’s books are amazing, and I have some in paper! So much better to have reference books as e-books! Easier to search…and to lift😉 )
  • The 1957 San Francisco Seals by P.J. Dragseth (my Significant Other’s father was offered a pitching contract with the Seals, although he wasn’t listed in the index.🙂 No surprise since he didn’t take the contract…he became a plumber at the same time, and it was the same money back then)
  • A History of the Doc Savage Adventures in Pulps, Paperbacks, Comics, Fanzines, Radio, and Film by Robert Michael “Bobb” Cotter (I’m a real Doc Savage fan…I can say that Doc has shaped my personality and behaviors for the better)
  • Universal Horrors by Tom Weaver (this had also been on my Wish List for years…I’m about 10% into it)

That’s a lot to buy for me, since we are happy members of

Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

and I like to leave books for family and friends to buy me for gifts.🙂 I don’t know how long this sale will last, though, and I didn’t want to miss them at these prices. It’s worth noting that the number of books in the sale has fluctuated…from 800-900 initially to over 1400 to now a few hundred less than that.

I did also buy some books for other people…I don’t want to name them, because at least one family member does read this blog.😉 We don’t do big birthday parties for each at this point in our lives, but I do like to send a book sometimes. So, I have bought a couple and delayed the delivery for the appropriate occasion (which you can do). At $3.99, I also bought one for a former coworker…just a way to say, “Hi!”🙂

I added others to my Wish List:

  • Internet Horror, Science Fiction and Fantasy Television Series, 1998-2013 by Vincent Terrace (tempted for right now, but I think I can wait)
  • Astro Boy ad Anime Come to the Americas by Fred Ladd
  • The Universe of Oz by Kevin K. Durand (I do like reading essay collections, but they seem less urgent to own than reference books, which I might need at any time)
  • Science Fiction and the Prediction of the Future by Gary Westfahl
  • Science Fiction Television Series 1990-2004 by Frank Garcia
  • Sid and Marty Krofft by Hal Erickson (loved these series, including Lidsville!)
  • Classic Home Video Games 1985-1988 by Bret Weiss
  • The Kaiju Film by Jason Barr (giant monsters)
  • The Batman Filmography by Mark S. Reinhart
  • Science Fiction Television Series by Mark Phillips
  • Regional Horror Films 1958-1990 by Brian Albright (in my area, that would include The Milpitas Monster)
  • Television Horror Movie Hosts by Elena M. Watson (I met John Stanley, a Bay Area host, and was a fan of Bob Wilkins…who did appear in The Milpitas Monster)
  • Television Specials by Vincent Terrace (sorely tempted)
  • Irwin Allen Television Productions, 1964-1970 by Jon Abbott
  • America Toons In by David Perlmutter (I have some good reference books on animated series already)
  • Horror Films of the 1970s by John Kenneth Muir
  • The Evolution of Fantasy Role-Playing Game by Michael J. Tresca
  • Encyclopedia of Television Pilots 1937-2012 by Vincent Terrace
  • War over Lemuria by Richard Toronto (no longer in the sale)
  • Inside Gilligan’s Island by Sherwood Schwartz (no longer in the sale)
  • Hammer Films by Tom Johnson (no longer in the sale)
  • Mass Hysteria in Schools by Robert E. Bartholomew and Bob Rickard

While I have mentioned above some books that have gone back up in price, I might not have noted them all…and again, the sale could end at any time.

Enjoy!

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard our new The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

Leave a Reply

