How to save almost $100 on Kindle Unlimited today…and it’s not obvious

How to save almost $100 on Kindle Unlimited today…and it’s not obvious

Hello,

Here’s a copy of the chat transcript you requested:

Initial Question: How do I get the 40% off on Kindle Unlimited as part of Prime Day (being a Prime member)?

10:15 AM PDT Chinmay(Amazon): Hello, my name is Chinmay. I’m here to help you today.
Firstly, I’d like to thank you for being a Prime member.

10:16 AM PDT Chinmay: As I understand that you want to purchase the kindle unlimited subscription with discount. Right?
<snip>
10:18 AM PDT Bufo Calvin: Correct.
<snip>
10:19 AM PDT Bufo Calvin: Yes, that’s right. An Amazon press release said KU would be 40% for Prime members today, but I’m not seeing that reflected online.
Sorry, for 40% off, not 40%.🙂
10:21 AM PDT Chinmay: Thanks for waiting.
10:21 AM PDT Bufo Calvin: Sure!
10:22 AM PDT Chinmay: Please click on the link below to purchase the subscription with discount https://www.amazon.com/gp/kindle/ku/gift_landing (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*) [NOTE: I’m using a different link than they sent me]
10:23 AM PDT Bufo Calvin: That doesn’t show the discount, though…24 months shows as $239.76, which is still $9.99 per month.
10:23 AM PDT Chinmay: The discount will automatically get applied to 24 months of subscription.
10:24 AM PDT Bufo Calvin: Oh…that will show up at checkout? May I share that link with other people? Is that good for all day today (through midnight Pacific)?
10:24 AM PDT Chinmay: Yes, sure.
it will apply to check out.
10:24 AM PDT Bufo Calvin: Perfect, thanks!
10:24 AM PDT Chinmay: You’re welcome. Is there anything else I can do for you?

10:25 AM PDT Bufo Calvin: Nope, that’s it!
10:25 AM PDT Chinmay: My pleasure helping you today. We are always here to help you.

To close this window, please click the “end chat” link.

Have a great day!!
10:25 AM PDT Bufo Calvin: Love Amazon, Prime, and the customer service!🙂
10:25 AM PDT Chinmay: Please do not forget to click on END CHAT.
Bye!!
Thank you.

Note that this was set up as buying it as a gift, but I put in the e-mail address under which we currently are KU members, and it worked just fine.

The discount did not show until the very final step, just before payment. It had offered me another discount before that with a new credit card, but that was irrelevant and I ignored it.

At checkout, it showed a “Prime Savings” of $95.90, making two months of KU $143.86…about $5.99 a month instead of the normal $9.99 a month. We did this during last year’s Prime Day, so  that works.🙂

Check the price before you finalize the order…this may be only for the USA, and I think it’s only for 24 months.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard our new The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project! Do you have what it takes to be a Timeblazer?

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

 

10 Responses to “How to save almost $100 on Kindle Unlimited today…and it’s not obvious”

  1. alipet813 Says:

    It is for all levels 6, 12 and 24 mo. After tweeting you and Amazon (who by the way told me there was not a deal) I happened to receive an ad for it on my Kindle app on my phone.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, alipet813!

      I appreciate that!

      It’s disappointing that they would tell you there was no deal, as opposed to saying something like, “Since I’m here primarily to provide technical support, I don’t know about all of the deals Amazon has. Let me have someone check, and we’ll get back to you.”

  2. alipet813 Says:

    Also, can you tell me about KU and audible? It says you can use it, but is it more limited than the books?

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, alipet813!

      The idea is that you are actually getting an e-book with audible narration, although you can listen to the audiobook separately. It is much more limited…very roughly one percent of the KU books have the Audible narration: 15,849 at time of writing out of 1,329,237. Still, it takes most people more time to listen to a book than to sight read one…the first one I checked, which I think I relatively short, was about 10 hours. Listening 24 hours a day, it would take you the better part of two decades to listen to them all…assuming no more were being added.😉

  3. Zebras Says:

    Bufo:

    I am confused, thought you couldn’t get a discount again if you already had used the KU discount in the past. But I see here and on someone’s post in the forum, if someone gifts it to you, that doesn’t apply? I got the discounted 2 years last year, so I wouldn’t want to claim a discount until next year, anyhow, but it would be good to know how the system works.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Zebras!

      I think their point was that it wouldn’t automatically renew at the discount (my subscription said it was going to go to monthly). I was never asked if I already was a subscriber…and they should be able to tell.

  4. booksfan Says:

    Thank you for the heads up! I looked but couldn’t find KU discounted so I appreciated the link!

  5. Elizabeth Says:

    The Prime Day discount plus the remainder of my Apple settlement credit brought it down to $3.75 per month for the 24 month option. So decided to give Kindle Unlimited a try.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Elizabeth!

      I think you’ll find it’s worthwhile! One big point is to realize that you are not now constrained to only reading KU…it can be a supplement, rather than a replacement, and still be worth it.

Leave a Reply

