New Kindle Unlimited benefit (available to others to purchase): Singles Classics

New Kindle Unlimited benefit (available to others to purchase): Singles Classics

One of my favorite things I own is a rustic “magazinecase”. It holds a lot of my old issues of magazines. As I recall, I bought it for $5 from some place going out of business decades ago.

20160719_063332

As you can see, it isn’t fancy…but it’s a place for me to organize my magazines.

That’s a problem with magazines: organization.

Some times, I just want to find one particular story I remember reading a long time ago. There was a great interview with David Bowie that I recall. I don’t even remember which magazine it was in for sure.

It’s even a thing in the cryptozoology world. Many of us who are interested in that subject, including me, remember seeing a 19th Century (?) photo of a dead thunderbird (basically, a giant raptor)…but no one can find it. It’s possible it didn’t exist and we are remembering something else. I thought I was going to solve that mystery by going through my old Argosy magazines…literally flipping through them page by page.  I didn’t find it.🙂

There are books that collect old magazine stories and articles…and it’s like archaeologists uncovering a lost tomb.

I include links (so you can read them) to some public domain magazines in

 The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project

and I’m trying to tag them in such a way that people can find stories…but that’s going to be imperfect.

That’s why I’m really excited about a new Amazon feature announced in this

press release

about

www.amazon.com/singlesclassics (Single Classics) (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

I never much got into Kindle Singles, which were sort  of meant to parallel music 45s from the old days…shorter, self-contained content. I just couldn’t see paying ninety-nine cents for one, most of the time, when that

can get you a full-sized book so easily.

Well, with this new Single Classics, it brings us two things.

One is that it is resurrecting older articles…and making them easy to find. Some categories include:

  • TIME Magazine Classic Coverage
  • The Playboy Interviews
  • Classics by Popular and Best-Selling Authors

I recognize some of the articles.

These are going to be great when you are waiting for something, or at lunch, or with text-to-speech in the car (I checked, and what I checked was not blocked…of course, you might miss some pictures that way).

The other thing is that although these are generally ninety-nine cents to purchase, they are included in

Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

at no additional cost.

Yay!

That’s  yet another reason to consider KU, Amazon’s subser (subscription service). You can read books (including well-known ones), listen to audiobooks, and now read these articles and stories.

I don’t know what Amazon is paying for this, but it’s also going to help them by providing that enticement for KU (which I think will make people more loyal Amazon customers…if that’s possible)😉 and will count as the ten you can have out at a time. It may mean that Amazon pays less in royalties, while customers still feel they are getting a benefit.

I’m also not surprised that rightsholders got on board! It’s a new revenue stream for something which I’m sure is hard to monetize.

What do you think? Does this interest you at all? Will you pay ninety-nine cents for one of these? Would you use it to write school papers? Is it going to get you to try the free trial of KU? How much of your reading is short form which didn’t originate on the internet? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard our new The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project! Do you have what it takes to be a Timeblazer?

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

4 Responses to “New Kindle Unlimited benefit (available to others to purchase): Singles Classics”

  1. Harold Delk Says:

    My spouse and I love to cook and try to do some experimenting with “fancier” (whatever that means) recipes. We have a vast collection of, the now defunct, Gourmet magazines, but trying to find a recipe in them was a tough chore. Years ago I contacted one of the employees who was losing his job there and he sent me a large PDF … the internal index to every recipe from every issue. Click on a recipe from the searchable file and up pops the date of issue and page number within the magazine. Of course many of these recipes are available online now, but having the paper copy in hand is personal. Friends were over for a visit one night recently and mentioned an old recipe she remembered liking; she was stunned when I walked into another room and returned with the magazine, handed it to her, and told her it was on page 47. She thought I was joking… until she turned to page 47. Some magazine indexers will share the internal document, some guard it like state secrets. I got lucky!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Harold!

      Indexes can be great!

      I have an edition of the books Charles Fort (the four main ones) with a thorough index, and it’s a terrific value add! I also have at least one publication which is a “third party” index to a periodical. You having an official inside one is a great!

  2. Man in the Middle Says:

    You nailed my reason for avoiding Kindle Singles. Why clutter up my already-too-large Kindle library with stuff that isn’t even a full book, and why pay as much for less than a book than I would for a full book?

    Making Kindle Singles available via Kindle Unlimited solves both problems: I’m just reading them, not adding them to my permanent library (unless I like them enough to pay extra for them), and I’m not paying anything extra for them, so why not give them a try. Thanks for the info about this.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Man!

      I’m glad that helped! I can see some situations where a KU borrow of a Single Classic is going to be perfect!

Leave a Reply

