Today’s KDD: Up to 75% off over 20 top-rated Kindle books

Today’s KDD: Up to 75% off over 20 top-rated Kindle books

Today’s

Kindle Daily Deal (at AmazonSmile…benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

has many well-known authors and some well-known books.🙂

This is a one day sale, and as usual, do check the price before tap that Buy button…the prices may not apply in your country, for one thing.

Today’s books include:

  • Freakonomics by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner
  • What We Find by Robyn Carr
  • Unfinished Business by Nora Roberts
  • Afterburn & Aftershock by Sylvia Day
  • Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreigtt
  • The  Darkest Torment by Gena Showalter
  • The Empty Throne by Bernard Cornwell
  • The Wedding Dress by Rachel Hauck
  • Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty
  • The Fireman by Joe HIll

Enjoy!

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard our new The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project! Do you have what it takes to be a Timeblazer?

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

 

5 Responses to “Today’s KDD: Up to 75% off over 20 top-rated Kindle books”

  1. alanchurch Says:

    Re freakonomics : I have decided not to buy this book after reading the criticism section at https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Freakonomics.
    Too much of what they write appears to be questionable. I will subscribe to their blog.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, alanchurch!

      I enjoyed the book, myself. I never expect someone writing a non-fiction book to be 100% accurate. It’s like movie reviews or the news…I take the source into account, and have a reasonable sense of what resonates with me…and what I’ll want to research further.

  2. alanchurch Says:

    I might have enjoyed the book if I hadn’t known what I know now-that some of the conclusions in the first book were just plain wrong. I hate to waste my time reading stuff that is wrong and there is no way to know that until someone corrects it. As was done with their data that showed that after abortions were banned crime went down because of that. Also they prove stuff that is obvious. I always read something about non-fiction books before I read them. It helps me find ones I like better. I read whatever I can find, wikipedia the 5 star and the 1 star and critic reviews. Always looking for the best book for me on the subject.

  3. Phink Says:

    I wanted you to see this. Very cool idea indeed. Copyright infringement? I’m not sure but I really doubt JK Rowling would really care.

    https://www.buzzfeed.com/alannabennett/first-chapter-wall?utm_term=.bjVB8Ya87#.tb1VMDAMq

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      Well, in this case the copyright infringement issue isn’t cut and dried…I could see this falling under Fair Use. It’s certainly transformative, it’s a small portion of the work, it isn’t being distributed, and the intent is not commercial. That’s not the actual Fair Use provisions, but I think you are right that Rowling would not object. JK allows fan fiction, for example, with certain guidelines.

Leave a Reply

