One Murder More nominated for three awards

One Murder More nominated for three awards

My readers have been following the progress of my sibling’s first book:

One Murder More (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

I write about it in part because I support my family, sure, but I also think it’s informative about the publishing industry.

OMM has had  a number of milestones, including appearing in Amazon’s tightly curated physical bookstore.

It has an average of 4.7 stars out of 5 with 89 customer reviews, which is very high.

An early enthusiastic blurb was from New York Times bestselling author, John Lescroart.

It’s currently ranked 459,158 in the USA Kindle store. That’s out of 4,717,502, which puts it ahead of about 90% of the titles.

Now, it’s been nominated for three (!) awards at the major mystery writers’ conference:

Killer Nashville

To give you a sense of the conference (which runs this Thursday, 8/18, through Sunday), the Guests of Honor include Janet Evanovich.

You can see the nominees for the 2016 “Silver Falchion” (a falchion is a type of sword) awards here:

http://www.killernashville.com/2016-killer-nashville-silver-falchion-finalists/

The three categories in which One Murder More is nominated are:

  • Best Fiction First Novel
  • Best Mystery/Crime
  • The Judges’ Choice

That’s impressive to me…especially the Judges’ Choice which has a different selection process.

Kris will also be part of Session 59, Turning Headline News into Fiction, on Sunday at 12:45 in the Sycamore room.

To celebrate these honors, I’m going to give away the Kindle edition of One Murder More (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*) to the first three (for the three awards) of my readers who comment on this post asking for one. You’ll need to be somewhere you can get a Kindle gift from the USA, and I’ll use the e-mail address you use when you post (which is not visible to the public) to send you your gift. As you may know, if you get a Kindle gift and already have that book, you can contact Amazon to change to a store credit instead.

If One Murder More does win any awards at the Killer Nashville conference this weekend (virtual fingers crossed), it will be interesting to see how that impacts the book’s progress. I think that “award-winning” can be an influential statement to make on a book’s product page, but if it happens, we’ll be able to see if the sales ranking changes (although we won’t know for sure that the award mattered, of course).

Congratulations, Kris!

What do you think? Does it matter to you if a book is “award-winning”? Does it matter if you haven’t heard of the award before? Do you pay more attention to judge-selected or peer-nominated awards? What about reader-voted? Are you going to Killer Nashville, or have you been in the past? Feel free to let me and my readers know what you think by commenting on this post (and ask for a copy of OMM, if you like).

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard our new The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project! Do you have what it takes to be a Timeblazer?

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

Note: other of my family members have published books, including another sibling. You can see more information at I know these authors!

 

44 Responses to “One Murder More nominated for three awards”

  1. alison Says:

    I would love a copy!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, alison!

      You were the first, so you’ll get one…thanks for asking! Look for an e-mail…

  2. Zebras Says:

    I would love a copy. I have enjoyed hearing about Kris’s book, and haven’t yet got around to purchasing a copy.

  3. doubledlarsen Says:

    Congrats to your family member.

  4. doubledlarsen Says:

    I forgot to ask for a copy of his book.

  5. Lynn Pietig Says:

    I would love a copy of One Murder More!!

  6. Barbara Berry Says:

    I’d love to have a copy of One Murder More for my Kindle.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Barbara!

      You’ll get a copy that Kris is giving (the e-mail will still mention me, I think)!

  7. Susan Says:

    I would like the book. Congratulations on the awards.

  8. dsmallc Says:

    I would love to read this book, and congrats to your talented sibling!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, dsmallc!

      Kris will see your kind words…and you’ll see an e-mail for the gift!

  9. Steve Says:

    Before I asked for a copy of “One Murder More” I checked it’s Amazon reviews. I’m impressed, no negative reviews. Looks like a fun book. If still available I’ll take one.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Steve!

      Yes, I expect even “free money” would get some negative reviews on Amazon.😉

      Kris extended the availability, so you’ll get one!

  10. alanchurch Says:

    I would like a copy. I like crime novels. Thanks.

  11. Joan Huston Says:

    I’d love a copy of this book to read and review. it sounds interesting and I would like to read it.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Joan!
      iThat’s great, and thanks to Kris, you’ll get one! I think reviews are especially helpful at Amazon…I’m glad you are thinking about doing one. I believe that you will be expected to disclose that you got it free from the author in this case.

  12. Wendy Frazier Says:

    Thanks for the heads up. I just bought the book and wish your sister good luck!

  13. KRIS CALVIN Says:

    Bufo, Thanks for sharing this exciting news! The encouragement and the time folks are taking to comment is inspiring to me as I sit down for my daily writing session on my second book. As a result, I would like to follow your example and provide a free Kindle copy to each of your ILMK readers who comment on this blog post by NOON today Pacific Time, Tues August 16, 2016 (after the first 3 that you are covering). I will cap the offer at 100 books🙂 I’m a bit tech-challenged & not sure how this works, but if you can provide me with an email for each one I can send the ebook through Amazon. Also, to be clear, the recipients will not be added to any “list” of mine and will not receive any emails from me other than the book, this is a no-strings thank you for their interest! Kris

  14. Edward Boyhan Says:

    I used to follow Hugo’s and Nebula’s, but not so much lately as none of the winners deal with themes that I enjoy reading (I’m so over the post apocalypse e.g. :grin)

    I have never paid any attention to the mystery awards although I have noticed from time to time that some of my favorite authors do win them (:grin)

    Congrats to Kris BTW

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Edward!

      I do pay some attention to literary awards (the Hugos are being awarded tonight), and a lot more to cinematic awards.🙂 I think you’d find that post-apocalyptic doesn’t nominate the awards right now….although I don’t see that much social science fiction lately, which I do find interesting.

  15. Ann Von Hagel Says:

    😦 Unfortunately I read the blog in digest form so didn’t even see this until the morning of the 17th.😦 Most of what I read are mysteries and I have the book on my wishlist at the ‘Zon.

  16. Zebras Says:

    Bufo:

    Before requesting a copy of Kris’ book from you, I checked to see whether I owned it, and I was probably reading my computer screen asleep yet again.So when I clicked to redeem your generous gift, the system told me I owned it already, and I was thinking I should take the credit, and then send you a gift card balance, but I can’t find your e-mail address on your website. I understand why for privacy issues, but I want to repay you.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Zebras!

      That’s nice of you! What I’d like best is if you just gift a copy of One Murder More to somebody else…

  17. Denise Small Kelley Says:

    thank you so much for the book!

    On Tue, Aug 16, 2016 at 8:31 AM, I Love My Kindle wrote:

    > Bufo Calvin posted: “One Murder More nominated for three awards My readers > have been following the progress of my sibling’s first book: One Murder > More (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*) I > write about it in part because I support my family, s” >

  18. Barbara Berry Says:

    Bufo, thank you and your sister Kris. I received my link to Amazon, downloaded “One Murder More” and have been eagerly devouring it. As I read, I find myself trying to “figure it out” which to me indicates a high degree of involvement. The book is very enjoyable and I look forward to many more in this series and/or written by Kris. In addition to the plot, characters and descriptive language, I really appreciate the quality of the writing. A book with language errors really annoys me. This one is very well written, extra enjoyable. [Okay, yes, I confess. I was a teacher. But mostly French. Writing and lit my last six years.]

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Barbara!

      I’ll make sure Kris sees your comment…I’m sure it will be appreciated!
      I do notice errors…and I’ve almost never read a book without them (for example, one of the books I’m reading now referred to a character getting their “just deserts” instead of “just desserts”. When I’m sight-reading (as opposed to text-to-speech), I typically highlight them, and sometimes send the to the publisher afterwards. I’ve gotten thank yous for doing that…and a suggestion that they would use it to correct them in future editions.

      • Barbara Berry Says:

        I believe the correct term is “just deserts” with one s. It is related to the word “deserve” not the word “desert” as in an arid place with a lot of sand or (obviously) “dessert” as in the part of a meal. I used to send in corrections to Amazon, but I’ve given it up. I never seem to check for responses so it seems futile.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Barbara!

        Thanks so much for that! I would have researched it before I sent it, but I’ve definitely seen it as “just desserts”. Researching it, your version is technically and originally accurate, but it has now changed over time so that having the two “s” version is not considered incorrect. It’s like “decimate”, which has come to mean “nearly destroy”, but originally meant reducing by only ten percent (that’s the “deci” part). If you have 1,000 soldiers and 100 are eliminated, your forces have been decimated.

        Another one I see is being using “one fell swoop” when more than one good thing happens at once…when it actually specifically refers to two bad things (“fell” meaning basically “evil”)…it has to do with a bird of prey catching two prey animals (think field mice) in one dive (which is a “swoop”).

        I really appreciate it! Love learning new things…

      • alanchurch Says:

        One fell swoop.very interesting. Thanks .Here is a good piece on that phrase
        And a good site: http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/at-one-fell-swoop.html

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, alanchurch!

        Interesting reference…

  19. Zebras Says:

    Bufo:

    I will do that.

Leave a Reply

