New Prime benefit: Audible Channels for Prime

New Prime benefit: Audible Channels for Prime

While I typically listen to text-to-speech for hours every week, regular readers know I’m not a big fan of audiobooks…unless I’ve already read the book. I don’t like the narrator (be it actor or author) interpreting the characters for me.

However, that doesn’t mean I don’t like audio entertainment…I do. I really like Old Time Radio…I tend to bring a couple of shows with me (on my now discontinued Kindle Fire HDX) when I travel by plane.

Well, in this

press release

Amazon announces a new benefit for Prime members: Audible Channels for Prime. This is quite a range of audio entertainment. Amazon says:

“…Audible Channels features a consistently refreshed, thoughtfully organized selection of original programs, distinctive comedy, lectures, and audio editions of standout articles and news from The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, Harvard Business Review, Foreign Affairs, Charlie Rose, McSweeney’s, The Onion, and other leading periodicals. Audible Channels also showcases 20 hand-selected Audible Playlists, from essential stories of the day, meditation and commute-sized comedy to compilations on science, history, technology and more.”

This is really quite impressive! There are no additional cost Prime available audiobooks, but streaming only (not for download).

Here are some of the Prime Exclusive audiobooks right now (again, for streaming only):

  • Jaws by Peter Benchley (narrated by Erik Steele)
  • The Descendants by Kaui Hart Hemmings (narrated by Jonathan Davis)
  • The War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells (narrated by Simon Vance)
  • Ringworld by Larry Niven (narrated by Tom Parker)
  • Dracula by Bram Stoker (cast includes Alan Cummings and Tim Curry)
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (narrated by Rosamund Pike)
  • Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng (narrated by Cassandra Campbell)

The categories of Prime Exclusive audiobooks include:

  • Better than the Movie
  • You & Improved
  • For All Generations
  • Celebrity Voices Classic Stories
  • Truly Criminal
  • Get Hooked Series Starters
  • Dramatic History
  • Worlds Away Sci-Fi Classics
  • Editors’ Choice

The “Channels” have lots of choices, too!

  • Audible Originals
  • Shows & Series
  • Popular Publications
  • Trending
  • Business
  • Comedy
  • Culture & Human Interest
  • Learning
  • Fiction
  • News & Politics
  • Science & Tech
  • Wellness & Meditation

You can download a lot of those items.

Here are a few of those…I went to the fiction channel:

  • Masters of Fiction: Yachts and Things by Truman Capote (narrated by Victor Bevine), 12 minutes
  • Masters of Fiction: The Model Millionaire by Oscar Wilde (narrated by David Ian Davies), 11 minutes
  • Alternate Reality: The Sunken Land by Fritz Leiber (narrated by Jonathan Davis), 48 minutes

You do all this in an app…for more information, see

Amazon info page (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

Seriously, this seems like a major additional benefit to Prime! If you aren’t a member yet, check it out here:

Amazon Prime (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

Enjoy!

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard our new The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project! Do you have what it takes to be a Timeblazer?

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

13 Responses to “New Prime benefit: Audible Channels for Prime”

  1. Phyllis Simpson Says:

    As a longtime blog subscriber I really enjoy all your insight on the products that we can benefit by. I do need some help with how to change the charity that benefit by my amazon smile donation. I have spent a lot of time trying to figure out how to change it and could not find a clue on how to do it. Perhaps you could tell me or if I need to contact a real person at Amazon. If that is what I need to do would you include a phone number. Thank you so much for your help.

    Phyllis Simpson

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phyllis!

      Thanks for the kind words!

      I see you got it going. I actually switch pretty often and don’t find it particularly cumbersome myself. When I’m on any Smile.Amazon page, there is a statement at the top right below the searchbox saying who I am supporting. You used to be able to just click there and change the charity, but it does now take two steps.

      First, click or tap Your AmazonSmile Impact (which has some cool information…how much in donations you’ve generated, how much all charities have received…which is over $32 million at time of writing).

      Then, click or tap “Change charity”.

  2. Phyllis Simpson Says:

    I finally kept working at it until I finally got the smile charity choice changed. They sure make it difficult to do it though. I think they need to make that feature easier to do.
    Thank you,

    Phyllis Simpson

  3. BG Says:

    Has anybody figured out why it doesn’t seem to work on Amazon’s own tablets? I haven’t been able to access it and judging by the forums neither has anybody else. It works fine on my android tablet but not on either of my Kindle Fires.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, BG!

      Well, the short answer is that Amazon “forked” their version of Android to create Fire OS…and they really went down the road less traveled.

      I totally understand why it is frustrating. I had that feeling a lot with my Fire Phone, until it broke. I was able to get some things from 1Mobile…but I tested the Audible app there on my now discontinued Fire HDX 7, and it didn’t work there.

      While Amazon owns Audible, that doesn’t mean that they will prioritize Amazon device development.

      In this case, I’m not sure how much this is going to be seen as a tablet function. I certainly would tend to do it on my phone, instead of on my tablet…and how many people who have tablets don’t have SmartPhones? On the other hand, I’d love to have it on my Alexa devices!

      • BG Says:

        I had to smile when you said “and how many people who have tablets don’t have SmartPhones?” because I see a person like that every day when I look in the mirror! In fact, if my wife happens to be looking over my shoulder then that makes two of us just in this house. We’re retired seniors who are pretty conversant in most things digital — we have five tablets, three e-readers, and a couple of good desktops — but our lifestyle just doesn’t require smartphones. (Basic cellphones for emergencies, yes.)

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, BG!

        Well, you have enlightened me, which I appreciate! Clearly, the answer to my rhetorical question is “quite a few”.😉 My life would be far more difficult without a SmartPhone, and that’s true for most people I know. One difference between us is that I’m not retired, and I suspect that’s significant. One use for my SmartPhone, for example, is the GPS. I had a separate GPS in the car before I had a SmartPhone, and there must be people who still have multiple devices like that. I use texting and e-mail on the go a lot…and that’s probably more for my non-work life than work life. That could be done with a tablet…with Wi-Fi, generally.

        Tablets also cost a fraction of the amount of SmartPhones, so it makes sense that there is a lower entry barrier for people wanting to get into tech.

    • Robert Poss Says:

      BG! I, too, smiled at the “how many people…don’t have SmartPhones.” My life, house, car, um, years, are FULL of tech. This is why I don’t have a SmartPhone. I will when I need to replace my old Samsung, but I don’t break things and all functionality (besides phone) has been covered and re-covered by other things. I carry a Fire HD 6 around the house. My HDX 7 and/or my Tap is on the desk or table or wherever I’m working. Echo in the main room… Fire TV stick, laptop, smart TV, gaming computer, office computer… All connected, (wi-fi or hard wired) and quite Amazon embracing. This is why it’s frustrating that the company that has worked so hard to become such a large part of my digital life, very admirably and satisfyingly for the most part, offers me this awesome sounding resource, that they own, but it doesn;t work (yet?) on their hardware. It’ll sort itself out in time, but still disappointing. I’m off to dig up a working, old, non-mutant android tablet. Cheers, brother.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Robert!

        You two were right, for sure. That’s one reason I love thoughtful comments like yours! It’s so easy to overlap one’s own reality on to the neutral world’s. I have a lot of the same things you have…I’m curious: is your office computer at home or in another location? I’m trying to separate out in my head when my SmartPhone makes a difference, since Wi-Fi is commonly available to me. At this point, it’s not in my car or walking along the street (at least, the latter part of the time…I sometimes have Wi-Fi on the street). If I had Wi-Fi in the car, that would be a different kettle of data.

      • Robert Poss Says:

        Greetings! My office is at home as, almost always, am I.

        Sorta inverting your thought, I was simultaneously considering how much habit and ritual (two of my favorite tools) coupled with the idea of already having a phone that’s “just fine,” influenced my decisions. In other words, when I bought the HD 6 for “carry around” would it have been more sensible to update my phone? And… yes, I think it would have been. The Google android running, Amazon set up, discounted SmartPhones seem like interesting hybrids: Smaller, more powerful, way better camera, microSD slot, and Amazon apps/Prime access running on 6.0 Marshmallow? Cool. So I ordered one.

        Thanks for your work. And the conversation.

  4. Robert Poss Says:

    This is a great disappointment. Original Amazon e-mail sends me to Google store where I have “no devices.” Prime “Welcome” page offers to e-mail me URL for app but does not. Audible for Android app page on Amazon reports app is incompatible with anything in my multi-generational stack of Amazon tablets. (Comment section is full of similar confusion and frustration.)
    As BG asks: Who has this running and on what?
    Please and thank you.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Robert!

      I have it running on a Galaxy S7 Edge…which doesn’t help you with your Fire tablets, of course. Google Play has never recognized Fire OS devices, as far as I know. My guess is that they will eventually make it available for the Fire tablets, but I’m just guessing.

  5. Round up #147: | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] New Prime benefit: Audible Channels for Prime […]

Leave a Reply

