In which format do you read the most books?

In which format do you read the most books?

Recently, I wrote about an annual Pew study on reading habits:

Did Pew just find that nearly twice as many paperbooks are read as e-books?

My concern, as well as that of some of my commenters, is that the interpretation that p-books (paperbooks) were about twice as popular as e-books wasn’t really borne out by the data.

The key thing was that each reader was treated as a data point…which is a disconnect with the number of books read in each medium (since many readers read more than one book a year).

So, I thought I’d ask you.

Now, I know my readers aren’t typical…thank goodness.😉 I would expect the readers of a blog called “I Love My Kindle” to skew more towards e-books, of course.

However, I would also expect them to buy and read a disproportionately high number of books as well, compared to the average person.

That’s the point…if what we are looking at is number of books, “serious readers” read a lot more…but there are also a lot fewer of them than “casual readers”.

I think the results here will be interesting, even if they aren’t typical of the country (or the world) as a whole.

Let’s get started:

Obviously, I haven’t asked every possible question.🙂 Feel free to make additional points by commenting on this post.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard our new The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project! Do you have what it takes to be a Timeblazer?

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

 

13 Responses to “In which format do you read the most books?”

  1. EJC Says:

    You captured all of the ways I read books. I only read news online (rss or broswer on phone, laptop or desktop) or listen to npr (live radio or streaming). I also read magazines as paper or electronic (tablet or e-reader).

    Did I mention that I love to read and am really not fussy about medium? E-reader is easier due to capacity and portability. Audio books are better for commuting or during work.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, EJC!

      I’m with you, in that books are books. The more you love books, the more you love e-books, I like to say.🙂 I don’t use audiobooks for that…I use text-to-speech. I think I’m in the minority in that preference, though.

  2. Phink Says:

    I’ve said it before that my favorite way to intake literature is immersion reading. Also, like I’ve said I did that, when I could afford it, before there was a name for it and before the Kindle was even invented with audio CD’s and a DTB. Amazon and Audible have made this, in many cases, super cheap and easy to do.

    Bufo has said before that he does not care for audiobooks because he does not want the narrator interpreting the characters for him. I am the opposite. I think the narrator can add so much to the story. I like a narrator’s interpretation myself.

    Even going back to the Kindle 1 I was hooked instantly and knew within days that I could possibly go the rest of my life without reading a DTB. I actually have read two since then however and one was this year. They were both Christmas presents.

    My favorite way to immersion read is with my Echo Tap. Yes, that means I have to turn Voyager’s pages myself but I still prefer it because the speaker on my Galaxy Note tablet is just a little weak and to hook it to a bluetooth speaker is fine but just something else that has to be done. I even installed a single coat hook on the wall next to my recliner in the home office that my Tap (in a sling) hangs from. That makes it easy to hit the pause button or tell it to rewind.

    There is a new feature on the Echo that I noticed in the last couple of weeks. Now, when you tell it to read a book (audible) it’ll tell you how many minutes are left in the chapter and how many are left in the book. It seems to only do this once, maybe twice a day even if I stop and resume multiple times in a day. I love that myself.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      You’ve got me right.🙂 The one clarification I’d make is that not liking the audiobook is true…unless I’ve read the book already. Then it is like a movie, and I enjoy those.🙂

      They have added elements to audiobooks and Alexa, although I haven’t seen information about what you are mentioning (sounds nice, though). You can set a sleep timer, skip backwards and forwards, and go to next or previous chapter. I believe some of that is fairly new.🙂

  3. Shari Says:

    I like to listen to audio books on my kindle keyboard as well.

    • Phink Says:

      I did this when the Keyboard was new but have not done so in years it seems.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Phink!

        Exactly. I used audio quite a bit on my Kindle Keyboard back in the day, but that transitioned to my tablet. That’s worth noting, especially to myself: I listen to TTS (text-to-speech) on my Kindle Fire HDX most of the time, so I suppose if I listened frequently to audiobooks, it would also be on my tablet.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Shari!

      Great point! I did accidentally omit that. It’s been some time since Amazon sold (new) an EBR which did audio, and it just slipped my mind. I don’t want to add it now, because it would skew the existing numbers, but you are quite right. There are a lot of devices probably still in use that are Kindle EBRs which are used for audiobooks.

    • Phink Says:

      I can’t see this happening but would love for Amazon to develop a Paperwhite Keyboard model with bluetooth and immersion reading capabilities. So long as it were around $199 or less I’d probably get one. Higher, I’d pass on it. Cheaper without a doubt I’d get it. Right at $199 is the boarder line and I’m not sure.

      • Lady Galaxy Says:

        I don’t care one way or the other about bluetooth, but I would immediately buy a Paperwhite with a physical keyboard and text to speech. It would be nice if they restored the numbers row. I hate the touch screen keyboard. I can quickly type on the physical keyboard without having to look at the keys.

  4. Lady Galaxy Says:

    For the most part, I prefer to read books on my K3 using an outdated system because it’s the most comfortable to hold, the font is slightly thicker, and most books appear with left justification. About 80% of books download to my Voyage are also left justified, so I keep those books on the Voyage and download the full page justification ones to the K3.

    Occasionally I will encounter a book that has what I call “funky font,” one of those fonts chosen by the publisher that cannot be changed on any of my Kindles. Those are among the ones I read on the Kindle Cloud Reader on my laptop. My eyes tire more quickly when reading on the laptop, so unless the “funky font” book is something that can be read in short batches, I will return it to Amazon. The most recent example of a “funky font” book was “Tower Stories,” an oral history of 9/11. I had been waiting for a long time for a price drop, so when I got the notification from eReaderiQ that the price had dropped into my range, I finally bought it. I was disappointed to discover that the publisher had chosen full justification with a font that was difficult to read on both the Voyage and K3, so I tried it on the cloud reader and discovered it would appear in my default browser font. Since it consists of a series of self contained stories, I will keep it and read it a chapter at a time on the cloud reader.

    The other books I read using Kindle Cloud Reader are children’s picture books.

    One of the paperback books I read was a collection of web cartoons called “Breaking Cat News,” which though not exactly a graphic novel made me wonder if you considered graphic novel as a genre rather than a book type when you chose your categories. The other kinds of books that are sometimes easier to read in print editions are cook books. I can recall at least two occasions where I first bought the Kindle edition of a cookbook and discovered I couldn’t read it on my Kindle because the ingredient portion of recipes was on a chart that had such teeny tiny lettering that it was unreadable on the Kindle. In those cases, I returned the Kindle edition and purchased the print edition.

  5. Crystal Says:

    This poll was a challenge but that would be because I’m a minority. I’m a homeschool mom to 4 kids ages 2-11. I use literature as a basis for our studies. In a day I’m reading board books, picture books, paperbacks, hadcovers, a few textbooks, and kindle ebooks. Occasionally PDFs too on a tablet. The reading never ends here. I’m the weird mom reading aloud to my kids at the beach as they eat lunch or on a blanket at the park or in the waiting room at the doctor’s office.

    They read too! Voraciously. They read a mix of ebooks and pbooks. I’d say more pbooks because they can take stacks from the library. But I strive to keep their kindle ebook readers fed!

    We do many audiobooks as well. Some I download to my phone from audible and the play through a speaker. Others are on CD. The CD option I didn’t see. We love a good audio. Audios are the background to our lives as we crisscross New England on field trip adventures.

    Then there are the books I read for me. Lots and lots of those. If given a choice I want an ebook. They are just so much easier to hold and take with me.

  6. Round up #147: | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] In which format do you read the most books? […]

Leave a Reply

